Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
116 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity Lutheran Christian School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
The small class sizes and rigorous curriculum make this school special. I know my child is receiving a great education from teachers and staff that know his name and care about his well-being. The partnership with Concordia University is also something I value. There are student teachers and student nurses available for the students. They present to the students. I have been especially impressed by the health curriculum. Teaching the students to read food labels.

Trinity Lutheran Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
The children learn the teachings of the bible. They also use bible verses to help understand life.


Trinity Lutheran Christian School 5

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
Trinity Lutheran Christian School is an amazing school. They offer programs that my 2 children cannot get in the Public school setting. They have an actual Art Teacher who is able to give the students a well rounded art education, not just arts and crafts in the classroom. They have an accomplished music and band program. As well as Garden classes that each student attends during the day on property as well as after school garden club. Before and after school care available as well as after school clubs available to K-age 12. Summer camps all summer as well. It's a wonderful place to send a child, especially if you're looking for small class sizes with plenty of individual attention that a student can thrive in. Not only do my children attend but they are actually the 3rd generation of my family to attend and I expect them to be as successful, if not more, as the first 2 generations that attended.

Trinity Lutheran Christian School 2

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
The inappropriateness of placing inexperienced teachers in classes at various levels is bad policy, bad for students, and does not support holistic education.

Trinity Lutheran Christian School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
We have two high-needs boys that we adopted from foster care that we enrolled at Trinity. We have seen them grow and flourish in ways we could not have imagined. Their academics are getting better as are their interpersonal skills. The structured environment has been great for them and the compassion they are shown as they learn social skills and what it means to be a successful student are translating into our home life as well! Trinity is also incredibly diverse. Both of my kids' classes are 65% children of color. It has impacted my kids in such a positive way to be around a lot of other children of color as they try to navigate who they are and how they feel about themselves! The school and church have been intentional about their desire to grow and influence even more of our city. Our family has chosen to roll up our sleeves and join in their efforts as the school has been such a blessing to us!


Trinity Lutheran Christian School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Trinity Lutheran School has given my son the foundation he needs to continue excelling as he moves into high school and college, as well as life. The children ahead of him now in high school and college comment that Trinity gave them the same leg up; not only do the student's test scores average 2 grade levels above the local and national averages, but they report that their experience at this school more than prepared them to excel as they continued their studies. Trinity has parent alumni with their children enrolled; no wonder, as the entire staff is as loving, caring and professional--and the parents' involvement is supportive.

Trinity Lutheran Christian School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a parent
All 5 of my children went to school at Trinity. teachers are good teachers and prepared my children for College Prepatory schools where they were well prepared. This is definitely a Christian school with good Christian teaching, I also became a member of the Church because I love being among people who truly live biblical principles. Jean Tarver

Trinity Lutheran Christian School 3

Posted January 26, 2008
- a student
The teacher's aren't that strict...they are great teachers and want the students to strive for their best. Not a good school for students with opinions on certain issues that conflict with Lutheran teachings. The academics are great, environment is great.


Trinity Lutheran Christian School 2

Posted August 13, 2006
- a student
The academics are ok and there is only extracurricular activities for grades fifth and up so it makes it harder to get your kids involved in activities.The level of parent involvement is great but there isn't enough of openings to get involved. Te teacheers are very strict and sometimes a little too strict.But other than that it's great because the kids get to learn about God everyday nomatter what and they pray regularly.

Nearby schools

Trinity Lutheran Christian School
5520 Northeast Killingsworth Street, Portland, OR  97218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (503) 288-6403
Last modified Trinity Lutheran Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top