Advertisement
Advertisement

Grace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 119 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2010

Dedicated staff who view teaching as a vocation! Christ centered education. Kids love the teachers and vice versa. Everything that's missing in the public education sytem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Grace is a really great school. Although the technology is slightly out dated, the schools philosophy is fantastic and their teachers really do care. They love their jobs and they show it. The parent volunteers are great and their is even a couple grandmothers that volunteer regularly. There is no shortage of love for god and one another. If you send your children to this school you won't be disappointed.


Posted January 20, 2007

I love this school. The teachers/staff are great and caring. By the second week of school, the staff knew the names of all the students in the entire school, the principal greets everyone at the front door in the morning and all staff see them off at days end. There is plenty of music and sports. The curriculum is very good. The class sizes are small, I believe there were a total of 80-95 students enrolled 2006/07 (grades K-8). Parents are invited to participate at all levels, lots of volunteer opportunities, they also encourage the older students to help out in various ways as well. I especially appreciate the dress code, as opposed to public schools, it is stricter, but, it is not overly so, still allowing for individuality in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

Our daughter just loves Preschool through the Precious Lambs of Grace Lutheran School. She has nothing but great interaction with the other students and I enjoy the fact that I don't have to worry about the curricula taught at school. I am excited to send my other children there and on to Grace for their Kindergarten through Eighth grade experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

Grace Lutheran School has transormed our kids in countless ways. The academics are of the highest quality and the staff cares about the kids as if they were their own. Sports (Go Eagles!) are administered perfectly--not overwhelming and time consuming. There are also many choir opportunities throughout the year, including a Christmas program. All of their days include singing, devotion and prayer. Incorporating God's Word into their daily life produces an amazing child. GLS has been a tremendous blessing to our entire family. At home they recite scripture from memory, know Bible history and even sing hymns in the shower! Our kids are safe. They know their Savior, Jesus, and without a doubt will be in Heaven one day. What better thing can we as parents provide?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

This is one of the greatest schools. The teachers are caring and the academics are exceptional. They definitely excel in areas such as math, english, and science. Most importantly they give you a Christ-centered education so your children are in the word every minute of every day.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 73%
Black 11% 3%
Asian 2% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin evangelical lutheran synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2252 SE 92nd Ave
Portland, OR 97216
Phone: (503) 777-8628

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT