Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Portland Christian Elementary School

Private | PK-5 | 365 students

We are best known for our quality program in a Christ-centered environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

Portland Christian elementary has a great combination of diverse offerings including music, art, and computer science in addition to math, reading, writing, science and social studies. In addition, children learn from the word of God through stories, scripture memory, prayer and teachers that model their Christian walk. The Principal is an amazing leader and example. There is also a wide offering of sports and extra-curricular activities in addition to a before and after school care program and care options for summer/holidays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

My daughter is in her 3rd year, having spent 2 years in the pre-school and is now in kindergarten and she is thriving. This school is amazing: safe, friendly and caring staff who are willing to help and go the extra mile for you and your child(children). It may not be free like public school, but it's more than worth the cost for a school that is accredited and goes above and beyond what the public schools do. All because they love what they do and your children. I love not worrying about unions and if there'll be a strike, or if there will be a bad teacher or large classes. Great before and after school care, safety is amazing, the lunches are great with often local and organic items and always fruit and vegetables, and so much more. I can't say enough good about this school, especially knowing the Portland Public Schools and other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

I love PCS. I wish my son could of started there in Kindergarden. I believe PCS provides children every thing they need to succeed in this world. Spirtualy,academically, They will graduate with a healthy self esteem knowing they can succeed.The principle,teachers and staff communicate on regular basis about your childs progress. I can not say enough good things about the highly qualified staff you are leaving your children with. I wish I could of attended this school growing up. The money you spend here is well worth it. I give PCS 5 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

We love, love our school. Can't say enough about the wonderfullly Christ-centered environment provided for our children at PCES. My children wake up excited to go to school every morning. They adore their teachers. The faculty and staff are absolute, genuine hearts of gold! The teachers truly nuture and instill a love of learning . The students are a terrific bunch of respectful, joyful, and intelligent kids. Love the company my kids will keep for many years to come. So blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

This school has been great for our family. We have two children enrolled and we are impressed with the level of education they receive from the staff. They are ahead of their peers that are in public school. Addtionally, the school is secure and safe so you can be assured peace of mind while they are in PCS care. Our kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

My son is thriving and learning so much at this school. He loves his peers and especially his teachers. The principle is amazing and has great vision for this school. My son is academically advanced for his age so the teachers challenge him and create a lesson plan especially made for him to learn at his high level. The teachers really care and encourage him to be the best that he can be. It such a warm safe learning environment. I feel thankful to have found this school for my son. I highly recommend this school to any parent. It is pricey, but worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

A decent school. My kids like it. I would recommend it to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Academics excellent in Christ centered environment. Music and art teachers on staff along with computer lab. Many after school programs that include Mad Science, Spanish, chess, 'Roller Coaster' science design and sports. Football program through CYO league for 3rd through 6th grade level. Excellent program with God centered coaching. Service block hours required of 30 hours per year. May choose to make payment to cover hours. Overall extremely pleased with dedicated staff and school. Leaving only due to moving from area. Blessings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

I agree with you as my child has also been at this school for a year and has gained knowledge about Christ and is now more respectful than ever, I also like the way that classes average 15 to mid-low 20's so the attention and help level is greater than public school. They are also safer phsically at private school and emotionally by having other Christian friends to encourage them all throughout the year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 25, 2005

PC is a great school that offers PreK through 6th on one campus, and Jr/Sr High school at a separate campus 2 miles away. The Elementary campus offers an exceptional Christ centered academic education, with seasoned professional Teachers and Administration. The extra-curriculars are also fantastic with club Football, Drama, Band, and Basketball. Very involved parents (parent committees and parent school board) participate in the inner workings of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Black 8% 3%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Dance club: folk

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Rhonda Rogers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (503) 253-2666

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Multnomah County Early Intervention
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: folk
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Call today for a tour! 503-256-5455. We would love to see you!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11845 SE Market St
Portland, OR 97216
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 256-5455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT