Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Belmont Academy

Private | PK-1

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $335,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2013

My daughter has went to preschool, pre-k and is now in kindergarten at Belmont Academy. Every person that works there is kind and obviously dedicated to children. The pre k teachers are exceptional! The kindergarten class is special. The new teacher is a gem. The comfort and security this place has to offer is worth every penny. The director, Claudia, is a really great person and has made a beautiful place for children to be children and learn in a home like environment that is not intimidating. They are flexible and are willing to work with individual needs. My 3 year hadn't taken naps since she was 2 and has the energy of 20 monkeys all day long, so they let her come to the office and sit with Claudia and draw or look at books while the other kids had nap time. That is one example of how much they really do care about the children's feelings and individual needs. To my girl, daytime was time to be awake, and they made an exception for her. They have shown my child and I respect and kindness for the past 3 years and I really appreciate everything they have done. My 5 year old loves school with a passion and is reading well into a 1st grade level. Our experience had been wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

We have been so happy with our experience at Belmont Academy. Our son loves his teacher, his friends, and is excited everyday to go to school. We couldn't be happier with our choice. We highly recommend Belmont Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

Awful awful awful. Food is substandard. They do not care about the children. Do Not send your children here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

My daughter currently attends Belmont and loves it! There is a very small student to teacher ratio, which has helped tremendously in her reading, writing skills. There is definitely a family feeling there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Great School - My son and daughter attended from infants through kindergarten and are now in the before and after school program. They were loved, nurtured and thrived throughout their preschool years. The teachers are great many with their BA's and others working towards theirs. My children were more than ready to enter public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

My son attended Belmont Academy and loved it. We were very happy with the staff. We felt they were very engaged and caring with our son. He learned so much. The teachers show individual attention to all their students. We felt the program was great and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Both my daughters went to Belmont up to kindergarten and the loved it. They were nurtured and schooled wonderfully. They are ahead of most other students in their current grade school class and I believe much of that is because of their time at Belmont.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Belmont Academy is not a good place! The staff is unprofessional and not well trained. The children are not able to engage in developmentally appropriate activities and there is little regard for individual needs and learning styles. With so many other options out there, avoid Belmont academy and send your child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 65%
Two or more races 17% 5%
Black 8% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3841 Southeast Belmont Street
Portland, OR 97214
Phone: (503) 232-8985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT