Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
We have been at this school for 3 years and couldn't be happier with the curriculum, teachers, staff and other families at the school. Both of my children are happy to go to school everyday and often ask me if we can go early so they can be the first ones there. My older child was extremely shy and never wanted to participate in any activities we used to take him to. After being at MSB, he has developed a confidence in himself and a curiosity for learning new things. We had originally planned on sending our children for the primary level (age 3 - 5) only but will be keeping them here for the elementary program as well (age 6-12). We can't imagine them anywhere else.

Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted December 16, 2011
- a parent
My child first attended as a pre-schooler and had such a positive experience that we decided to keep her here for elementary. The Montessori philosophy is such a wonderful way to learn and the teachers are excellent. We also enjoy the community and have strong relationships with a number of other families. There's no place we'd rather be.


Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted December 14, 2011
- a parent
My child has been attending MSB since she was a three year old....she is now twelve. Because of the environment in this school my child is now a very mature young woman who is capable and ready to go onto middle school. She is kind, curious, independent, interested in learning and a role model for her community. This is in great part due to the nurturing and loving environment of this school and it's staff. They have worked hand in hand with us to make her the person that she is today and for that we are very grateful and very proud. Thank you MSB!

Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
I can't imagine a more loving and nurturing enviornment for children and families. The teachers and administration are supportive and wonderful role models. The academics and child development curriculum are wonderful. We have been parents at this school for 6 years and could not be happier.

Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
We are so happy that our sons (ages 9 & 11) have been part of the Montessori School of Beaverton for the past eight years. Montessori schools provide children with an amazing environment and fantastic materials. MSB students develop a keen interest in learning. We have watched children leave MSB as 6th graders and continue to achieve academic accolades and awards. Many schools claim to be Montessori based, MSB goes to great lengths to provide an AMI based education. Parent support for this excellent school began more than 30 years ago with financial support to expand onto a campus their children would not have had an opportunity to attend, having matriculated out of the school. We feel as those dedicated parents did, convinced that MSB is an exceptional school and will continue our support long after our children have left. Practicing peace based education and providing limitless opportunities for students is rare, MSB is a beautiful school able to do both for our sons. The teachers are exceptional, the Head of School and management are exceptional, the education of children is exceptional.


Montessori School Of Beaverton 1

Posted September 19, 2011
- a parent
MSB has Relational Aggression (bullying in girls) problems. Our daughter (1st gr) was bullied by a group of 2nd gr. girls for the entire year, resulting in her being hit at the school picnic.The incident was reported & MSB did nothing.The teacher was ineffective in her dealings w/ the problems, & the principal denied the bullying & that the "hitting" event ever took place even tho it was witnessed & corroborated by other children.MSB seems more concerned with protecting its reputation as a highbrow private school & protecting its core families, & big donors than providing that safe & nurturing Montessori environment that we (along with many other families) pay substantial amounts of money to provide for our kids. Bullying is a real problem; MSB has it, & the administrators & staff prefer to bury their heads in the sand. Many of the other parents at the school feel bullying is a private issue - if it's not their child, they aren't concerned. While I cannot speak for every classroom and/or teacher - I can only say from personal experience the school administration was negligent in helping my daughter. I'd recommend finding another school for your child to attend.

Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
We love Montessori, and we love MSB. Great atmosphere, true montessori education, wonderful teachers and staff. Our child's teacher has always given very thorough progress updates at our conferences. Observations are excellent. School community is welcoming and open. I feel that the school administration has always been thoughtful, caring, forthcoming and professional. Take every review with a grain of salt (see below).

Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been going to MSB for several years and we plan to continue her education there. It's a great learning environment where children learn to understand math, science, nature, geography, and all the subjects to help them have a lifetime of learning and building on their education. It's a beautiful and amazing process. The school is AMI certified and the teachers are excellent. Reading a lot about Montessori prior to enrollment really helped us understand the process (eg. "The Secret of Childhood" by Maria Montessori). Our daughter is excited to go to school each day and she's very happy and secure there, which makes us very happy. It's a great fit for our family and really works for her. The parent and community-involvement is very good, too.


Montessori School Of Beaverton 2

Posted June 30, 2010
- a parent
School was a good school but standard has gone down tremendously in the last 3 years. Principal and teacher turnover are contributing factors. This used to be the only good montessori school in the area and that is no longer the case. No aftercare so not working parent friendly. Kids in public schools in the area are just as smart and do just as well. The curriculum and environment is very good.

Montessori School Of Beaverton 5

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
My son attended Montessori School of Beaverton for 3rd, 4th and 5th grade. After that, he was accepted into Summa Academy, a public middle school that serves only children who test in the 99th percentile in reading and math. Sure, he's smart, and MSB gave him a great education. Teachers challenge the child, teaching lessons at the child's pace. The mood is warm and peaceful. Many students are advanced, and all appear to come from households that deeply value education. What happens after MSB? Anecdotally: Another of my child's classmates, who also was accepted to Summa Academy, won the top award at Oregon's state science fair (the Northwest Science Expo) in 7th grade. That same year, my son won a couple of awards there for his engineering project. It's fair to say that MSB teaches kids to think -- never to just do busy work!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori School Of Beaverton
11065 Northwest Crystal Creek Lane, Portland, OR  97229
(503) 439-1597
Last modified Montessori School Of Beaverton is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Montessori School Of Beaverton Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top