Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 376

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


City Christian Schools 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
I'm an old student. I left because the teachers put a lot of pressure onto the kids that seemed unfair and wrong. I also left because the students were very two-faced. Either you're a Christian and you act like it or you aren't and you don't. One minute they are cussing and talking about drugs, the next they are in chapel praising God and talking about how great God is. They say they are non-denominational, but they are crazy charismatic and press it on you if you're not. One time, the worship leader said, "if you're not sweating you aren't worshipping." if you want your kid to be in a good atmosphere and want to learn and feel unashamed to Ask questions, DO NOT send them to City Christian.

City Christian Schools 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
My school is a place where learning is made is easy and fun, but keeps a strict line of conduct to ensure good education.


City Christian Schools 3

Posted June 18, 2011
- a community member
Academics are useful and practical. The dynamics of the classroom environment has changed over time as computer technology has found greater inroads in curriculum. Teachers are fundamentalist in their worldview. Protestant Christian theology and ethics are apparent and promoted in many aspects of classroom life. Bible and theology classes are part of the curriculum, K-12. Promote sound foundations for any academic life: Critical reading, creative writing, and mathematics (including geometry, trig and calc, but not statistics). Public school students transferring into equivalent grades at City Christian tend to discover that they need to adjust to higher academic standards and need to fill in concepts they did not receive elsewhere (e.g., long division or, for lower grades, phonetics). Student body is very diverse including students from families of varying household incomes (some poor, some wealthy) as well as students from overseas (particularly Korea). Direction of the school is tied to the direction of its adjoining church as it was initially intended to serve the needs of church members. Future is financially uncertain and has required subsidies by local businessmen.

City Christian Schools 4

Posted April 29, 2011
- a community member
Can anyone tell us if the school teaches acceptance of different lifestyles and the like or is it closer to a fundamentalist type of atmosphere?

City Christian Schools 5

Posted February 14, 2011
- a parent
This school exudes a genuine warmth and enthusiasm among its' staff and students. The muti-cultural student body reflects a sense of global responsibility to its community in the most positive way. If you choose this school, you will appreciate its strong academics, moral character development in its' student body and most importantly a caring community made up of staff, students and parents.


City Christian Schools 4

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
City Christian School has been a blessing for us. I love how the staff is so connected and that they do really care about the children. It has a family feel. I also love how if a child needs prayer the teacher will pray for them at school. The classroom size is smaller than public schools. This is just a all around good place for children to learn.

City Christian Schools 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
This school is amazing! My daughter is a kindergartner, and she's never been in a school setting before. She adapted really fast, and loves her teacher! She has many friends. The teachers in this school really do, love these kids. I cant beleive shes learned how to read in the first 2 months of being there.

City Christian Schools 4

Posted July 26, 2008
- a student
I go to this school. I don't really know that much about PAA but most of the people at my church love PAA. I want to go to CCS for Jr. High and Highschool, but my sis wants to go to PAA. I love CCS. Its a great school and I have learned so much.


City Christian Schools 2

Posted April 19, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

City Christian Schools 5

Posted July 01, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

City Christian Schools
9200 Northeast Fremont Street, Portland, OR  97220
(503) 252-5207
Last modified City Christian Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
City Christian Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top