Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westview High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

This is a fantastic school. The teachers, and students are great and I believe is the best highschool in Oregon. It has the highest number of AP graduates and great career tracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

This is the best school ever. It's clean, friendly, open, and has amazing teachers. I have a mouthful of positive things to say about this school, but to keep it short, I've never been to a better high school. What I like best is Westview's school spirit and athletics, but Westview also gave me some of the best teachers I've ever had in my school life.


Posted May 19, 2011

I'm sorry to say that I do have the same good experience as many of the reviewers here, and it's probably because I have one very different factor from the average student. I suffer from aspergers syndrome; when I lost a close family member, I started having depression and trouble in school. So, what did my school do? They sent me to a well-hidden school for students with mental instability. Now, there's nothing wrong with transferring a student to a place more compatible with their special needs, but Beaverton School District's special education program receives minimal funding and patronizes its students. Students with special needs are given no chance to excel, even though they may be just as intelligent as the next student underneath their problems. Beware BSD's mental health stigma!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2008

great school with a beautiful campus. the kids here are great and always very friendly and they push themselves to reach there goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

this year has been a tough year for me. my grades have been falling down. all of my teachers have noticed and tried to talk with me. i appreciate the staff here and they all care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2006

I went to this school and am now in high school, now I think I wish Westview had better teachers than sprots palyers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 14, 2006

This school is overall 'above average'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I personally think westview is a great school. The staff is amazing and they really care for you if you aren't yourself. If you haven't realized it yet, most of the teachers have hundreds of students so it is kind of impossible for them to get back to you immediately by email. Just email them! Its not that hard! I have had a great first year at this school and I could tell I was in a great environment. All the staff cared for me and they were encouraging me to take more challenging course work. It may be easy to fall into the cracks of this school but it is definitely not that hard to get out if you try to get the help you need. The new principle this year was great and tried to meet each of the students. Overall, Westview is THE BEST school here in Oregon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2006

As one parent stated before the teachers are very overloaded and do not e-mail or contact you immediately. My son's couselor has not been effective at communicating, which surprises me. My son went from almost a 4 point to no grade at all over the course of the year. Classes are not challenging and they do not see a need to change his courses. Too many kids, not enough teachers and not enough concern for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

Having 2 kids graduate from WHS over the past three years I have advise to parents that have issues. After an email, go in or pick up the phone. Get involved with your child and teacher at the point of conflict. It's a wonderful school with tons of opportunities. Definatly would recomend it for academics, sports and activities. Great prep school for college which both my kids are in. They will not baby you and if you think it's cold hearted in high school, wait until college. They're preparing the kids for their future. Stay involved but don't hover. It's a highly competitive school and your child should really flourish. Principal is new so I don't know about that situation but the teachers for the most part are excellent. If you have issues and you get no response, physically go in! Emails don't do it in any business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

My daughter is a freshman this year at Westview and I have not had an satisfaction with the teachers at this school. My daughter went from a 3.7 to a 2.1 in one semester and I did not get one phone call nor a letter or anything implying there was a problem. I have sent numerous e-mails after getting her progress report with no responce. I have asked that she get a book for one of her classes which both the counsler and the principal assured me she would get right away and still no book after 3 months! Her counsler did get back to me, but with no resolution to the problem. Her coach was the only one to show any interest or concern! VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE STAFF AT WESTVIEW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

I'm a parent who went to Westview and from first hand experience I would have to say that this is a school that definetly has it's problems. The teachers are so overloaded with students not any one get's their fair share of attention. It's easy to fall through the cracks and if your child doesn't ask for help chances are they won't get it. I did however have a wonderful counselor and a few of my teachers were great. Music and extracurricular activities are very easy to become involved in, the school is very focused on them. The teachers are good about calling home if there's a change in the performance of your child and are willing to meet with you and discuss their performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

As a parent graduating the second child now from Westview, I find the need to not only thank everyone in this school, but commend them. Were it not for the efforts of Susan Harvey and the teachers she interacted with on behalf of my son, I believe he would not have graduated,and would not be graduating from college this December. As for my daughter, who is on a far different level, I have found the challenges, compassion, interactions, pushes when needed (thank you MrP-APLang) have created a student ready to take on the challenges of college. The interaction of her counselor, was on target, caring and helpful (thank you Sue!), her teachers have all had profound effects on her. With sadness, we graduate, but the works, thoughts, efforts and lessons of the teachers, counselors, coaches of Westview will last a life time. Nanci Feltner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

My son is a Junior and has been doing consistently very well. I find the overall quality very good in terms of the wide range of programs being offered and ability to challenge the student to the best of their individual abilities. The AP classes are a good example; at the same time, the teachers give very sound advice on the choices, based on their reading of the student's abilities. One piece that the school can definitely improve on is to introduce planning concepts for the students that can help them make better use of their time. Schools have a better way of influencing the students' opinions and counselors can take the lead by organizing a monthly planning forum to impress the value of time management and pre-planning activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Westview has an incredible AP program, one of if not the best in the nation. Its teachers are exemplary. If I could find one con academically it would be simply that rigorous and challenging schedules are not encouraged or enforced. It is up to the student to plan and create a schedule that will prepare him for the college years. With the courses available, however this is not a difficult task. Unfortunately with the new principal, the school's administrative structure has definitely been weakened. There is no real authoritative figure as the principal has failed to gain the true respect of both teachers and students yet. He has not meshed well with what was once a very open and democratic administration. Nonetheless the school is incredible and I would recommend it over any private institution. My opinions come from first hand experience as a student there last year who graduated valedictorian. I attribute my enrollment in my current university to the outstanding education I received at Westview High School.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Science

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

585 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

585 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

577 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learners26%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial93%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities66%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
African American47%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial69%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners19%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female82%
Male67%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial82%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 4%
Hispanic 16% 21%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (503) 259-5230

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 NW 185th Ave
Portland, OR 97229
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 259-5218

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Liberty High School
Hillsboro, OR


Sunset High School
Portland, OR



Community School
Beaverton, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT