Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Mill Elementary School 1

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
The worst school experience ever! The teachers and faculty are very rude and disrespectful. If you don't like the small town mentality and classless people, this school is not for you! They don't care what your child's needs are. They are more focused in on what's best for the child than on what's convenient or what works out best for the school and the teachers!

Cedar Mill Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
They only care about their convenience. They always assume and determine based on no measurements as well. 1 teacher per 30 students in kindergarten at this school.


Cedar Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
I still haven't met a single person at this school who really cares of children.

Cedar Mill Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter, who has a learning disability, recently began her fourth year at Cedar Mill. She absolutely loves it. The Principal (Mr. Horne) has gone out of his way to help guide our daughter through her challenging times. The Counselor (Ms. Blakeslee) is also fantastic and has provided our child with much needed support. All of the teachers she has had have been exceptional. I have seen my daughter grow exponentially academically and socially and credit the caring and knowledgeable Cedar Mill staff. This school is charming and community-centric - with carnivals, pancake breakfasts, and barbeques - and the families and kids are welcoming.

Cedar Mill Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
It all starts at the top and the Principal here is strongly devoted to the development of each child there. My Son's teacher really knows ho to push him beyond his age and do things more suited to his learning abilities.


Cedar Mill Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 25, 2009
- a parent
Cedar Mill is a small community which is exactly what we were looking for. The administration is extremely helpful and approachable. We have had a hard time adjusting to some of the curriculum but that seems to be more of a result of No Child Left Behind than the particular school. The principal is excellent and works hard to preserve the tradition of Cedar Mill despite district and nationwide emphasis on testing.

Cedar Mill Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2009
- a parent
We moved here from another country, and my daughter started 3rd grade in this school. It's a great school. Admin is very helpful. Great community. My daughter is very happy there.

Cedar Mill Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
We cannot say enough wonderful things about Cedar Mill elementary. We have two girls the same age and one is going to Findley Elementary and one to Cedar Mill. The two schools are as different as night and day. If you want a well rounded child with academics, social skills, PE, Art, Music, kindness/empathy, a WONDERFUL Principal and teachers then send them to Cedar Mill. Maybe the school is not new, but that makes no difference. My kids can attest to that.


Cedar Mill Elementary School 3

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
Many things about the school have been really nice, the specialties teachers (PE, art, music, library) seem to do as much as possible given the time they consistently use great language to communicate expectations. The teachers (mostly) are doing a great job at nuturing a learning environment. One place where there can be a great deal of improvement is in communication with the parents. Each teacher uses their own approach, quantity and quality. For example, in the 1st/2nd split classes, the students are separated by grade levels for math. If your child goes to another teacher for math, you may never even meet this teacher nor get any valuable feedback on their math progress (report card yes, but not even a single sentence over the course of the year). Could this approach be improved upon? Oh, yes. We have been very happy with the reading curriculum, support and followup.

Cedar Mill Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2005
- a parent
My third child just entered Cedar Mill, and the experience has been positive. The teachers all seem to really care about the children and their success. The only semi-negative would be the class sizes. They are a little too high. When a class does hit a lower number, the school has been known for letting a teacher go. Then the students are put in other classes making the numbers go higher. This isn't the school's fault, it's more of a budget issue. Overall the quality is excellent.

Nearby schools

Cedar Mill Elementary School
10265 NW Cornell Rd, Portland, OR  97229
(503) 259-6685
Last modified Cedar Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top