Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stoller Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1208 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

This school seemingly has a lot of great things going for it, but the number of students (1,400), the large class sizes (80 kids in one 6th grade band class) and the lack of choices for electives will leave you wanting for more. The students also have advisory class and enrichment...both are huge wastes of time. The students aren't graded in these classes and it's just a way to save money since the district doesn't have enough money to have the students take real classes and not these filler classes with no set curriculum or direction. Also, this school splits for high school. Some of the kids go to Sunset and some go to Westview, which can be really hard on kids who may have been friends since kindy and are then split for high school. All that being said, this is probably the best comprehensive middle school in the Beaverton School District. I have found the teachers (for the most part) to be very caring and professional. The principal does a great job of leading such a large school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2014

Stoller has a serious bullying problem that no one wants to talk about and the administration isn't committed to making a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

I am a parent of a student that goes to stoller!. Unless your child is gifted or extremely polite, curious and are liked by the the staff, I would not recommend enrolling he or her at this school. I am amazed how the staff fails to recognize the needs that other than gifted kids need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

I've had at least one memorable teacher from a core class every year in here. For eighth grade, all three! I think the kids are great. There are a few in every hall and grade who consistently disrupt class but I believe there's those kids in every school. I think it's easy to get after school help, too. I like the counselors. Overall, I had a great middle school experience.


Posted September 4, 2011

I have never liked this school for numerous reasons. First, some good points are that it's clean, usually has decent teachers, and a great technology center. Bad points, are that this school has horrible students. I don't know why, but the kids here are nastier than any other school I've ever attended. I hated my entire experience here.


Posted May 22, 2011

I attended Stoller Middle school from 6th grade to 8th grade, and I have to admit, it is a really nice school. The architecture is beautiful, with tons of skylights and bright colors. The principal enforces the rules strictly, the teachers are mostly good, and the counselors are kind and helpful. The only complaint I have is, for some reason everyone agrees that Stoller has really tight cliques, and trouble respecting others.


Posted March 28, 2009

There isn't much fuss here, people are friendly. Teachers are nice and the learning environment is nice. Great school overall, but good use better counselors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

An absolutely amazing school! I just graduated eight grade after three years in Orange hall. The school, and even the bathrooms, were always exceptional clean and tidy. Stoller Middle School was very well designed and has a lot of architectural interest, an excellent example would be the large skylit atrium found in the front of the school. The learning environment found at Stoller promotes academic success and achievement for all it s students, there seemed to be very few confrontational problems among the students. My three years of attending Stoller I have never seen one person lift a fist to another student, let alone get in a serious fight. Stoller seems to be immune to any of the serious problems you hear about at other public middle schools. Stoller is also far superior than other middle schools in the area of academics(the most important part of school).
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2007

Very bad school....I go here and there is no challenging stuff for 'smarter' kids! :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

I am currently in the 8th grade and in Orange hall. I love most of the teachers and the school is clean, bright and is put together really well. The many skylights add to the fluresent lighting for an amazing effect. The staff is great and I have something to look forward to in every class! ~Sarah W
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2006

I have just finished my three years at Stoller Middle School. Stoller is a great school! It is separated into 'neigborhoods', and the downside is that if you had friends in a different neighborhood, you wouldn't have any classes with them. You really don't get to meet many new people; you're in the same hall with the same kids all three years. But the staff are fun and different and seem to really care about what they're teaching. The school is clean, safe and easy to get around.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2006

I can't say enough great things about this school. The support staff, students, administration, and teachers at Stoller are wonderful. It is a friendly, warm, caring environment that my middle schoolers enjoy and I enjoy volunteering in. It is a large school but it is arranged in such a way that it seems much smaller. My children are stimulated and challenged. They have fun while they learn. A great place to be during those roller coaster years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

I have twin daughters that just finished 6th grade. Stoller was a great experience for us and for them. The teachers were great, and we felt that the girls were excited to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2004

My son is a 7th grade student at Stoller. He's been there since 6th grade. Stoller has conscientious, caring, knowledgeable teachers, a concerned support staff, an incredible principal and vice principal who give their time and experience freely. Stoller also has polite, responsible students who work at their education. I am completely satisfied with the incredible education my son is getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2003

I use to be a student here. This was a good school, although classes were a little big (approx. 32 per class for main classes) The staff was great.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
African American>=95%
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learners75%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
African American63%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial94%
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
African American91%
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learners56%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female87%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial76%
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learners56%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 4%
Hispanic 9% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14141 NW Laidlaw Rd
Portland, OR 97229
Phone: (503) 533-1910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Pius X School
Portland, OR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT