Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stoller Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I want to say thank you to Mrs. Mccarty because she has been there for me for 3 years and she knows me really well and she knows when i am really sad or need a hug and she is a great teacher as well. She can be fun and make jokes and have personal connections with her students and she can be serious and get things done but in a nice way. She is a great teacher.

Stoller Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Some teachers are mean and just want money but some are super sweet and love the kids and they love to teach.


Stoller Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I would say this school gives good amount of homework but sometimes it can become to much and it can get stressful. But know matter how much homework you get there is no excuse to not do it.

Stoller Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
This school treats everyone with respect they make sure there is little bullying as possible.

Stoller Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Sometimes there is a little bullying and from experience I had a problem with bullying and the administration was not really helpful so I had to deal with it on my own but it all worked out and the administration is getting a lot better with helping


Stoller Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Some of the students are left out and some teachers do pick favorites but Stoller is a fun school. You just have to be on your best behavior and you will do fine.

Stoller Middle School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
This school is a great school, yes there may be some problems but not huge ones and the staff at the school are super sweet.

Stoller Middle School 4

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
This school seemingly has a lot of great things going for it, but the number of students (1,400), the large class sizes (80 kids in one 6th grade band class) and the lack of choices for electives will leave you wanting for more. The students also have advisory class and enrichment...both are huge wastes of time. The students aren't graded in these classes and it's just a way to save money since the district doesn't have enough money to have the students take real classes and not these filler classes with no set curriculum or direction. Also, this school splits for high school. Some of the kids go to Sunset and some go to Westview, which can be really hard on kids who may have been friends since kindy and are then split for high school. All that being said, this is probably the best comprehensive middle school in the Beaverton School District. I have found the teachers (for the most part) to be very caring and professional. The principal does a great job of leading such a large school.


Stoller Middle School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
Stoller has a serious bullying problem that no one wants to talk about and the administration isn't committed to making a change.

Stoller Middle School 2

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of a student that goes to stoller!. Unless your child is gifted or extremely polite, curious and are liked by the the staff, I would not recommend enrolling he or her at this school. I am amazed how the staff fails to recognize the needs that other than gifted kids need.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stoller Middle School
14141 NW Laidlaw Rd, Portland, OR  97229
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (503) 533-1910
Last modified Stoller Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top