Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

My daughter attends Rock Creek elementary, right now she is in 2nd grade, she really loves it, the academics are really great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

My three kids range in age 27, 18, 11...they all have attended Rock Creek. We've been there since 1991, in this neighborhood for all those years. The elementary school is the best. All the teachers and office ladies have been some of the most caring and loving people you'll ever come across. They all love [our] their "kids" and their jobs. The kids come out of the school with a great foundation for the coming years. They care and will go out of their way to help each and ever student! Everyone is family and I've never seen so many parents wanting to volunteer for a school. I couldn't have chosen a better school. Rock Creek is my school and I'm proud to have been a part of it all theses years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

My children have gone to this school for the past two years and they will be attending this upcoming year as well. I wish more schools were like this one. Rock Creek's parents and volunteers did an outstanding job last year in making sure that the budget cuts did not affect the children tremendously. Rock Creek's principal is a superb individual and he should be applauded for all his hard work and dedication in this school. Some of the office ladies are not so friendly but with all the good work of the teachers, volunteers, parents and principal. you hardly notice them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

My son has been attending Rock Creek since April 2010 and has thrived ever since he started here. The teachers, staff and new principal are very interested in the kids and their development. They truly have the kids' best interests at heart and want to see them succeed. I am so thankful that he is learning life long lessons here to help him become the best that he can be. I cannot emphasize how much I truly appreciate everyone at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

this is the best school ever! I only went here for k-4th grade because I had to move, but in all the time I went here it was amazing! It was a shame to se Mr. Horne Leave, but the school was still great! This was by far the best elementary school I ever went to! Send your kids here!


Posted November 5, 2008

I love this school! Like every parent I had many concerns sending my little girl off to a new school. She came back from school the very first day with many new things she had learned! Ms. Hesson is amazing and a very caring teacher indeed! My little girl jsut loves her and we are thrilled with the progress she has made in less than 3 months!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

Rock Creek rocks! At least that is how my daughters would say it. We love the teachers and are pleased with the quality of care and instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

My daughter just started here this year and so far we have been very impressed with this school. There is a lot of parent involvement, they have attended a couple of field trips already this year and my daughter loves her teacher. I would recommend this school to anyone new to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

Rock Creek is a wonderful school. My son was in Ms. Pizzuto's class (first grade) last year and she is an excellent teacher and has made a world of difference. He has learned so much and enjoys going to school each and every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

This school is a great one. They include every one and in addition exept all races and religion. This school is great at keeping there students happy and well taught. They have many fun events that all students are welcome to join and have some terrific programs like D.A.R.E.. They also make sure the students are at there level or above. If your child is not quit at standerd they make you and your child feal as if you are still perfect. My daughter loved it there from the events, the teachers and all the wonderful programs. There is also a very educated program called science camp for 5th grade students and my daughter had a ball! She came back wishing to go again, and with all her new facts she felt like she could be a scientist! The academic program is super! I recomend very strongly! great schools= great students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

Rock creek is truly a wonderful school. With extra after school activities through tualitin hills. Mr.Porter , a teacher there is truly amazing. After I was in his class I was a whole new person. Not only did I learn about academics, I learned common sense and how to be a good person. He is the greatest teacher on the face of the earth. The principal, Mr.Horne is also great. He is friendly and helps out alot in the community. Rock creek is a very magnificent school. If anyone is moving to Portland I would definately reccommend rock creek for there young children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 21, 2004

We have over five years experience with this school and rate it excellent - the principal is great - knows all the kids & families & all teachers are very supportive/caring. Parent involvement is amazing - support staff is wonderful too!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learners43%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Reading

All Students84%
Female90%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female78%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learners71%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%

Reading

All Students89%
Female86%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learners57%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female88%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Reading

All Students87%
Female93%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Science

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Hispanic 11% 21%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4125 NW 185th Ave
Portland, OR 97229
Phone: (503) 533-1875

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT