Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Walker Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 571 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2011

I went to this school in 4th grade and the beginning was rough. I was teased on my first day by a 5th grader who asked what happened to my other ponytail. (I was wearing a side ponytail and it was supposed to be that way.) Then a couple days later I developed an infection in a zit on my face which made it look discolored and a girl called me a witch. So we can say that this school wasn't great in the beginning.. BUT, I'm so glad I stuck around. I ended up making tons of friends and developed an amazing best friend who I hung out with everyday. And eventually those bullies envied the fact that I was so likable. One thing to remember though is, this school has a lot of hispanic's who live in poverty/gangs.. So just watch out. Also they used to have an after school program! It was awesome. They even gave us bus rides home at night when it ended. Not sure if that's still around but it was a blast. Bottom line: Great school. just takes time to adjust.


Posted April 28, 2011

the new Principal Joann Hulquist is not like the old Principal who bild everything and made the school top of the line this new Principal has no open door policy she if not friendly she dont even say hello when she walks by you with you kids she always hide and i dont think many of us even know her well i asked to see her once and she refused and told her staff to tell us what we need if its for teacher go talk to the teacher if its for me you have to make an appointment to see me.i am pllaning to take my child out of this school this year i wish the old Principal was here to see all her hard work to get this school nominated is done in the drain.i hope before its to late she gets replace by some one who cares for the kids and the school and parants voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

We love William Walker. Excellent teachers, and a population that is mostly ESL offers culturally enriched friendships for my children. TAG program as well as awesome after school programs. Lots of parental involvement, and a joyful atmosphere. We feel so lucky that this is our neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I loved this school when I was in 4th there, I'm in 8th now. I had the best teacher and the free after school program was awesome! I also made a best friend there, we never talk anymore but just having that best friend made my school time and summer unforgettable. You should definitely send your son/daughter here for great friends that last a life time and excellent teachers.


Posted April 5, 2010

I am so glad I sent my son to William Walker. Having a TAG student, I was concerned he would not be challenged due to the high ESL population. I found this has not been the case. The teachers and curriculum are great and my son really enjoys every day there. Each child is challenged at their level so they continue to achieve and learn and no one is stuck waiting for slower learners to catch up. I am proud to say my children go to William Walker, a truly exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

William Walker use to be a great school. Their idea of the thinking room is very outdated and does not seem to work for most of the kids. I believe there is a better way to handle the kids. The kids leaving their home room to go to other classes. I believe they are still in grade school not high school. Some of these things should be reviewed by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

The culture of the school is rigid; their approach to discipline is overly punitive. My kids did not feel supported, they felt scared and uncomfortable. Their needs were subordinate to the needs of the large ESL population. It's a numbers thing - if 70% of your students need one type of support, then you're going to put your resources into that and any other student with different needs loses out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

William Walker is a school with a diversified student population. I had some trepidation regarding the large amount of ESL students but the systems they've set up convince me my child is receiving an outstanding education.I feel and have observed some outstanding qualities and committment of the teachers and administration. I believe the school strives to foster a safe, encouraging place for my child to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

I love the great patience and passion that all of the school staff has for the wonderful job they do each day. The school is wonderful the programs and activities are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

This is a wonderful school dedicated to educational excellence. Every child is given the opportunity to reach their full potential. The teachers and administrators are changing the world and we are fortunate to be part of their vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners35%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female68%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners42%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female38%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners27%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female38%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female54%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners30%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female56%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander25%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners19%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students40%
Female47%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander13%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 21%
White 23% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11940 SW Lynnfield Ln
Portland, OR 97225
Phone: (503) 672-3605

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chiquitos School
Portland, OR





Living Wisdom
Beaverton, OR


St Cecilia School
Beaverton, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT