Advertisement
Advertisement

Prince of Peace Lutheran School

Private | PK-1 | 277 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2012

My 5 year old son is flourishing at POPLS. They begin to learn to read in K, are doing some simple math, learning Spanish, and of course learning Bible stories. His teacher is absolutely wonderful, and each day he has a story to tell about what they did in class, or on the playground. I cannot recommend this school enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Both of my children attend Prince of Peace, and we have been there for 5 years. The individual attention and small class size (max 16/18)- make this school AWESOME! The teachers and staff are so friendly and caring. I never want to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

My son attended full-day kindergarten here and is now in first grade. The principal, staff and teachers here are excellent. His level in math, reading & science far exceeds that of his public school peers. The environment is warm & friendly. My son literally skips into school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

By far one of the best preschools in the area. My first son left the school reading and so ready for kindergarden . I am so thankful for the teachers and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

My child attended kindergarten classes at Prince of Peace and also a local public school. I cannot praise Prince of Peace enough for the education that my child received compare to other children who only attended the local public school. My child is doing 1st grade work and beyond in math and reading. I only wish that Prince of Peace would be able to continue to grow into a full elementary level. Especially since the public schools are so over-crowded. There was a change with the director however, the majority of the staff has remained the same. Where is there a company that has kept 100% of their employees from the begining with no changes? Prince of Peace is the best school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

This is a great school! Most of the teachers have been teaching here for 8 years or longer. (There was never a big turn-over in staff). The program is an excellent Christian based curriculum. The children have fun while learning. The teachers all seem to love their jobs and enjoying the children. The school is clean and the people are friendly. My children loved attending school at Prince of Peace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

This school once had a spotless reputation, but unfortunately this is no longer the case. Most of the previous staff left and the quailty slipped.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 73%
Asian 15% N/A
Black 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14175 NW Cornell Rd
Portland, OR 97229
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 645-1211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Pius X School
Portland, OR


Agia Sophia Academy
Beaverton, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT