Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cedarwood Waldorf School

Private | PK-8 | 241 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $281,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

Cedarwood has a beautiful facility and appeals to parents who want a meaningful alternative education. Our child attended Cedarwood for 9 years. There were many amazing experiences that children in public school would never get. The sense of community, the field trips, and the exposure to art are fantastic. However, our child was in tutoring from grades 5 to 8 to round out what was missing academically and ultimately left unprepared for school beyond. We have been disappointed for many reasons. 1. Despite 8 years of language our child could not speak either Japanese or Spanish and had to enter first year language in HS. 2. The math program was atrocious and again, our child was behind by HS. 3. The school is not accommodating to students with any kind of special needs. Our own child struggled and consequently found HS challenging. 4. There is a vast difference between teachers, some are great and others weaker. Remember your child will be with that teacher for 8 years. When we look at our child's experience and other students from that class there is a trend. Many are behind. Unless your child is fairly gifted and independent, it may not be the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Come to Cedarwood's open house on January 23rd from 10am-1pm and meet our faculty, students and staff and see what makes Cedarwood one of the best kept secrets in Portland.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2012

There are many good things about Cedarwood, though regrettably, they are not enough to counterbalance the reality that the student body and faculty are overwhelmingly caucasian, and students are overwhelmingly from affluent families. I can't see how students can emerge from nine years at Cedarwood well- prepared for the world outside the cocoon of their campus, the world they will live in the rest of their lives.


Posted October 15, 2012

My older child attended from kindergarten through 8th grade, my younger is in the grades now. Cedarwood strives to develop the whole child, by delivering the best education for the mental, physical and emotional life of the child. If you are a Waldorf parent, this needs little explanation. For those who are new to Waldorf, Cedarwood is different from other private schools because they do not focus on academics over other aspects of child development. The academics are excellent-- but the school also teaches emotional well-being, social skills and physical health. For Waldorf parents, the distinction here is that Cedarwood is trying to adapt the core Waldorf principles to 21st century education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I recommend this school highly. My daughter attended 5th through 8th grade, transferring from another Waldorf School. She left as a confident, inquisitive and eager student. She excelled in her freshman year with outstanding skills to manage the HS work load, social dynamics and remain an enthusiastic learner. Cedarwood is young, fast growing school. They bring innovation and depth to an established philosophy and curriculum. They have high standards for their teachers and staff with clear expectations and accountability. My daughter excelled in the beautiful team work of the faculty and administration which is visible in every class. The parent community is wonderful and you feel the warmth of the whole school in every event.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

This is an amazing group of dedicated teachers and staff. I feel blessed to have three children at this fine institution of learning. We recently moved from CA and a more conservative Waldorf School and felt instantly welcomed and accepted in this community. The festival life is heartfelt and the parent council leadership is dynamic. Anyone interested in helping their child become a life long learner and steward of our earth, should check out Cedarwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

The school lacks soul and direction. I attended for several years and though the early education was good most of the teachers seem ill equipped later to deal with children at various stages of development. You become merely a number overall. If you pay full tuition and have several children enrolled, raise your paddle at auction night, donate for the many school fundraisers, you will receive warm embraces from the admin. If you stood with the in crowd in high school and vacationed at all the appropriate times, this is the school for you. There is a large teacher turnover here, no one has lasted through the 8 year journey in years. in the last four years there have been teacher changes in mid year in multiple grades. More than half of the current grades have undergone multiple teacher changes. The eight year journey with child and teacher is one of the most unique and simple aspects of waldorf education yet this school cannot get even that right. This school is ill equipped to deal with children with special needs, would not recommend it, Portland Waldorf has a much more comprehensive program and Portland Village School is free and a great waldorf alternative!


Posted July 2, 2012

In the early childhood programs at Cedarwood Waldorf School we embrace the individual needs that each child brings to our classrooms. The Cedarwood Kindergarten is a therapeutic learning environment, employing the head heart and hands, we therefore always look at the whole child and how the child is developing, rather than just one aspect. Most learning challenges appear with clarity in the early grades, which is where academic learning begins in Waldorf education. For more questions regarding our early childhood program we encourage families to visit and speak with our faculty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 29, 2012

My children are thriving at Cedarwood Waldorf School. They are receiving a beautiful well-rounded education and are surrounded by people who truly know them and care about them. My seventh-grader reads well above grade level and is an enthusiastic math and science student. Her written work is well beyond anything I expect in middle school -- all this and art, music, and movement as well. They love to go to school and have developed a passion for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

Very disappointed at the unprofessional nature of the kindergarten staff- if you have a child that has learning disabilities, I'd urge you to look elsewhere. They have little to no knowledge of special education needs and group all kids with difficulties into one insulting bucket. If you sense they are not genuine, trust your instinct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

As a parent and teacher at Cedarwood, I feel incredibly grateful to be part of such a caring and joyful school. The faculty, students and parents inspire me and teach me new things daily. Learning is happening on so many different levels and unfolding through the years, creating young people who are engaged in the world and interesting to be with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2012

The teachers don't take bullying seriously enough. The primary concern of the school is money. The people in charge are rigid, taking themselves very seriously. There is no real warmth at this school. Very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

The strengths of Cedarwood are a rich and wide curriculum including music, languages and art. The building is beautiful and the work of the students displayed throughout the school is at times breathtaking.The festivals and rituals are so special especially because they contrast so greatly with our overly busy, materialistic society. Where we have found Cedarwood seriously lacking is in a true sense of warmth and nurturing. It took us a while to name what didn't feel right as on the surface everything seems so wonderful. There is a lot of talk about warmth but overall doesn't genuinely feel that way. Instead there is an air of pretentiousness and that is the last thing we want for our children. I wonder about the primary concern of the school-whether it is to retain families or get slots filled. We know half a dozen families who have made the decision not to return next year-the administration has not reached out to any of them about why they are not coming back, something I think they would and should be curious about. Lastly, there is a rigidity about Waldorf education I wasnt aware of before. Our child's class is very behaviorally focused with time outs, loss of playtime etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

We found Cedarwood when we were looking for an alternative to public education for our highly intelligent daughter who was diagnosed with ADD. We looked carefully at all of our options and went with Cedarwood, though we were not familiar with Waldorf Education going in. That was 5 years ago. We now have two children there and have NOT been disappointed. The teachers are amazing. Staying with the class year after year gives them great insights into each child and class dynamics. The children study Japanese AND Spanish from First grade on, simple flutes and all sizes of recorders, string orchestra, Marimba, clarinet and trumpet... Art, drama, handwork, and the study of a variety of ancient cultures permeates the curriculum. The 6th graders LOVE the new math curriculum. Our daughter loves the hands on science studies. Both of our children are happy, challenged, and engaged. Best yet, both of them have thrived and you sure wouldn't know that our daughter had struggled with academic issues!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

Cedarwood will let you down. The administration seems to be more concerned with money and politics than what is best for the children. In my opinion pandering to families with deep pockets is a major problem. Especially if the children from those families are disruptive and or violent. For 1,000 dollars a month I expect more. More support for classes with special needs children. Training so that teachers are better able to support them and their non special needs students. Support so that teachers aren't spending their whole days trying to manage the behavior of two or three students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

I can't say enough wonderful things about the early childhood program at Cedarwood. Amazing. Teachers are loving and wonderful with the children. The grades are another story. And while the school is still going through some growing pains, there are some definite concerns. Cedarwood Waldorf School has some major flaws in it's media policy-- there isn't one. And their bullying policy (and the way teachers deal with bullying-- some not taking it seriously). Again, there isn't a policy for this that is actually enforced consistenlty by all teachers and staff. It has major flaws with treating situations with consistency as well. While some teachers are wonderful, there are some teachers that are just getting by. Some teachers engage a lot with their parents having monthly meetings, while other teachers only have a few meeting a year. Again, inconsistency. While Cedarwood might seem full of fairies and gnomes from the outside-- I'd do some real research into the class you join and really 'interview' the teacher. Talk with some other parents about bullying issues before you sign up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Cedarwood Waldorf School teaches the whole child: head, heart, and hands. In addition to great reading, math, and science programs, children are taught 2 foreign languages beginning in 1st grade, choir, orchestra, movement, drama, and sense of caring about others and the world as a whole. Cedarwood is a lively and caring community of teachers, adults, and students! I recommend visiting the school: you just might fall in love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Wow, this school sets a new standard for early childhood education! A balanced education that includes nurturing the child. Our child is thriving here. He feels at home here and the transition from home to school is wonderful. He is happy when we pick him up and seems energized not exhausted like at past schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

This is a vibrant, happy community where children thrive. The tuition rates are low for a private school, but the amount of attention give to each child and family is amazing. The early childhood program is such a gentle introduction to the school years, I feel that my child was very lucky to have been part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Cedarwood is an amazing school. The Kindergarten classes are magical. The grades, in addition to main lessons offer Japanese, Spanish, Handwork, Eurythmy, Music, and Games. The children are present and joyful in thier work. When visiting the school one can hear the children singing as they work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 73%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (503) 245-5405

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3030 SW 2nd Ave
Portland, OR 97201
Phone: (503) 245-1477

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summa Academy
Portland, OR




Village Free School
Portland, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT