Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset High School 4

Posted April 11, 2012
- a student
Sunset High School is an amazing school. All in all, Beaverton School District is great! There are many opportunities there, and the curriculum is great too (many AP, IB classes, etc). Compare to many other school which I have attended, the teachers, the students, and just about everything are exceptional. The students will learn and they will enjoy it, as the teachers will teach with a great attitude and make the learning process fun. Sports are fantastic and are one of the greatest in which I have seen and participated in. *It actually al depends on the students, because many people disagree with the above average rating on this school, but it is never the school or the teachers. If a student wants to learn and excell, they will do so -I would know. My freshman year I was terrible towards the end, but that is only because I gave up on myself. This school is AWESOME!

Sunset High School 5

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sunset High School 4

Posted January 08, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Sunset High School 3

Posted December 28, 2009
- a student
It's a pretty good school. lots of advanced learning opportunities and interesting clubs (IB, honors, amnesty international, iron chef, etc.), and you're bound to make friends from different groups among the students. only problem is a small percentage of the students who routinely slack off, swear and tease to make themselves look big, and only bring their grade up so they can compete in sports rather than succeed in life. the 'smart' kids are often teased for just putting in more effort than the rest. AND students are allowed to listen to their iPods IN CLASS! how could they possibly listen to what the teacher is saying, when rap is blaring into their eardrums?! it's easy... they can't. Sunset has awesome teachers, fascinating classes, and a wonderfully diverse student body. It's just those few slackers who dampen the experience

Sunset High School 0
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
Sunset is a great school. It is great because of the teachers, staff, parents, students and curriculum. I have had two children attend Sunset. They have benefited from sports, choir, music, AB courses, and Model United Nations. One is now attending a top 20 US college and the other will be graduating this year. The teachers at Sunset care about their students, they go extra the mile they want their students to make a contribution to society, to achieve, to follow their dreams and passion. The school has my highest recommendation.


Sunset High School 3

Posted July 12, 2009
- a student
K well I just need to say that Sunset is by ALL means NOT the best school in the district, but better then a LOT. I would rate a 5/10 - Average. Theres nothing too special about this school. But the schools in the area aren't really too great either. There are basic good things like hey there's no gang violence, drug usage, or vulgar behavior (thank goodness) but again its a school that isn't really memorable, it doesn't stand OUT. _ It just blends in. there's better schools out there.(period)

Sunset High School 3

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
Obviously it's been awhile since Sunset has had a review. But a lot of changes have been made and not for the good. Over exessive punishments are handed out to some but not the ones who really need it. Teachers are spending less time helping students and kids are stuggling to gradutate. i think Sunset needs to find a way to get themselves back on track.

Sunset High School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sunset High School 4

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
Having children attend SHS, I can verify what a great school that it is! The teachers are friendly and helpful, and really care about the students. The IB program is outstand, and the school facilities are lovely. One concern I have is about the level of discipline-- I believe that the students recieve more freedom than they should be recieving.

Sunset High School 5

Posted September 29, 2005
- a parent
Great school! They set high standards, and work to make sure the students are successful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset High School
13840 NW Cornell Rd, Portland, OR  97229
(503) 259-5050
Last modified Sunset High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top