Advertisement
Advertisement

Class Academy

Private | PK-6 | 150 students

Our school is best known for age blended classes and small class sizes
 
 

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $380,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 13, 2013

I have had the pleasure of serving as the Principal / Executive Director of CLASS Academy since 2011. I am so proud to collaborate with such an enthusiastic, energetic, and dedicated group of educators. Over half of our teachers have been teaching at CLASS Academy for over five years! CLASS Academy is a community of families and teachers dedicated to the social, emotional, and academic education of our spectacular students. We welcome your inquiries and feedback. If you are interested in learning more about our school please call us to schedule a tour!

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

Our son has gone to CLASS Academy for grades 3-5. Kids are generally grouped by age and move around for math. My son's classes had fantastic student to teacher ratios of <12:1. With the small class sizes, each child gets a good amount of teacher attention. Teachers are patient and diligent in coaching appropriate behavior. They work closely with parents on any issues and are happy to set up regular communication with parents. The school focuses on building solid fundamentals - reading, writing, and math. In addition, there is a focus on public speaking and presentations at an early age - something I wish I had as a kid. Mr. Dabbs, the art teacher is fantastic and the kids bring home amazing work, as well as contributing wonderful keepsakes for the annual silent auction. Awesome annual school musicals. The school grounds are small, but the teachers leverage the surrounding community with field trips to the neighborhood parks, community center, library and further with field trips and ice skating, swimming, and tennis lessons throughout the year. We really appreciate our time at CLASS Academy and the excellent curriculum that the teachers, Ms. Dodge, and Ms. Cantlon have created.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Academically oriented, truly spectacular school. I especially appreciate the well organized homework system, open communication about the children's progress. The parents are kept informed and involved in the activities and in fact greatly encouraged. A well-rounded education system in a fun-filled environment that kids look forward to going to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Class Academy is a strong school that not only focuses on academics but also on helping its students become caring and productive citizens. Our child thrives in this school and never wants to leave when it is time to go home. The staff is 100% supportive of all the kids and they know everyone by name as well as their families. The classes are blended and it is not uncommon for students to move up to a diffferent class throughout the year as their academic and social skills advance. The classrooom size is amazing, my child's class has 13 students, and is a key to the school's success. My only worry, what to do after 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

We have been incredibly happy with CLASS Academy for all of our children, each of whom has benefited in very different ways. For our oldest, CLASS has given him exactly the consistent structure he needs and the small class sizes have enabled him to catch up in all the agrees in which he was lagging. Our daughter has thrived in the mixed-age, ability-grouped classrooms and is academically performing far above her chronological age. We have been happy that so many teachers have stayed at the school for many years and are clearly devoted to the students and the school as a whole. My only hesitation is wondering if the preschool classrooms could incorporate more play-based learning, though my kids who've done preschool there have loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

CLASS Academy is the most wonderful school! My daughter has been there since a week after she turned three years old. She's has skipped a grade already and is doing 4th grade work. They have half the class size of a public school and DESIGN THE CURRICULUM AROUND THE LEVEL OF THE STUDENTS IN THE CLASS! The teachers and staff are so kind and caring. They offer wonderful opportunities to all students like swimming and ice skating lessons for a week each as well as trips to the zoo, and the theater to all, and Outdoor school, pioneer museum. OMSI and Children's museum to age appropriate levels. The older kids get Smart boards, IT classes daily and alternating days of Spanish and music. Every day all kids get art with a designated art teacher and science. Included in the price is before and after school care, and the school operates year round, while still offering significant spring, early summer summer and pre-fall breaks. I intend to keep my child there through 8th grade where I know she will be well prepared for high school and beyond! CLASS Academy has been such a blessing for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My son has been going to this school since this August and absolutely loves it. The teachers and the staff are incredible! The teaching methods and the quality of education is awesome. Students get a lot of one-one attention from their teachers. I have been recommending this school to many of my friends since my son started at this school. We are very glad we found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Our son has been going to this school for the last 5 months and he absolutely loves it. Their teach methods generate real interest and enthusiasm in our son. The teaches give students individual attention and are also great at imparting good social and behavioral skills. Their volunteering program as well as regular updates via their blog or notes sent home keeps as us parents in the know of all the activities at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Love this school. I put both my boys here because the school was academic oriented. Teachers make sure the kids are independent and disciplined. I would have rated this school with 5 stars only if it had a bigger playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

It's a great school with good teachers and the curriculum is excellent too. Just wish it had a bigger playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

We have been so happy at Class Academy for the last four years. We love the the small class sizes, incredibly dedicated teachers, total inclusion policy, and cheerful well-organized programs. Our two sons, different as could be, both blossomed here in their own particular ways. We are grateful for the school's ability and determination to see the unique strengths of each child, and build on those, instead of trying to make each kid as much like the average as they can. The year-round program is wonderful, and the approach and curriculum is very different over the summer but the kids stay engaged and close to their peers and never drift into a summertime funk. This school might not be the right fit for every family (or every teacher apparently) but it has been great for us and for the many families we know that keep their kids there all the way through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

I worked on and off at CLASS for about 5+ years. I believe in the curriculum at CLASS and the freedom it allows its teachers. The curriculum is given to the teacher as a curriculum map and the teachers are able to put their own ideas into it. The new principal is amazingly organized and prepared. She listens to her teachers needs and tries to work with them so they feel supported. The new principal gives the teachers freedom to speak with the administration about other ideas they may have to add and / or replace within the curriculum map. I will not lie and say that's easy but it s what allows the teachers to enjoy their work. Teachers at CLASS are given some prep time but of course every teacher in every community would like more. If I felt I needed more time for lessons my team teachers worked with me, if I needed a bit of extra time to prepare for something I would discuss it with the administration and my team so I could get supported in my goal. As for the student community, I find it to be a very welcoming and friendly environment for all kids. Teachers there work really hard to create a place where kids feel safe to be themselves and in my opinion it is accomplished!


Posted May 9, 2013

Love what you do, and do what you love . That is the best way to describe being a teacher at CLASS. I have been a CLASS teacher for five years. In those five years, I have had the pleasure of teaching with amazing people, learning from creative minds, cooperating with devoted parents, and encouraging eager students. The community that has been created at CLASS is one of respect, unity, and fun. Our curriculum is developed based on the most effective and creative parts of multiple curriculum designs, to touch on all learning styles. The first way people describe CLASS Academy is the way a school, SHOULD, be. Advanced curriculum, small class sizes, passion for the arts, respect, and community. CLASS Academy is a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2013

I am confused by some of the negative comments by a former teacher. We haven t seen any teacher turnover in the school in the past year and all the teachers profess to love it there. My son has been at CLASS Academy for a year now and we chose it for the curriculum. At three years old, my son is reading and doing math problems and he is so proud of himself. Kindergarteners are doing geometry. They have a very structured program which we appreciate but the after-school program allows for free play and other activities. The kids wear uniforms and are rewarded for helping out and mentoring other kids. Public speaking is part of the curriculum as well. CLASS Academy has a very diverse student body and a high number of Indian-American children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

My older daughter has been at CLASS for 5 years and my younger one for 2 years. They both have had a wonderful experience with the teachers they have had over the years. As a parent I really think that the teachers at CLASS do an amazing job with the students in educating them and having fun at the same time. They do have a limited playing space but make up in many ways by taking the kids Ice skating in winter, swimming in spring and to the park (almost everyday) during the summer.T
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

My daughter has been at Class Academy for almost four years now. We moved her there because we felt she needed a small classroom size and more attention from her teachers. Class Academy has proved to be all we had hoped for. They are able to tailor her work to her level of academic achievement while still keeping her in a classroom of her peers. Her nightly homework keeps me up to date on her progress and her teachers and the school principal have always made themselves available to provide me with progress reports and to discuss concerns. I love it that they go outside daily for exercise in addition to visiting nearby gym for basket ball, volleyball and other games. All in all, she is receiving an outstanding education in an environment where she feels safe and well care for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

My kids have been at Class Academy for four years. It has been a life changing place for both of them. The school encourages independence, creative thought and kindness. Every teachers knows each and every student, and there is a real community feel to the school. Rather than sitting at a desk all day, movement and activity is incorporated into learning at all age levels. Older kids mentor pre-K kids, and every child is truly included at Class. The year round program sounds very rigorous, but the teachers make summer a time of fun and review so kids aren't burned out when they start new material in September. I can't say enough good things about our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

There is a comment by the "principal" - whom was hired in the last few years- as a teacher there- she was not truthful about staff having "competitive wages and are on salary". Everyone gets a different payment and I was on a hourly payment. I was also only given one hour of prep per week. Teachers are treated very differently depending on how the owner or principal feel that day. Working there was the worst work experience I have ever had- chaotic, negative..etc. I work at a school now that is amazing- there are much better choices for schools out there!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2011

I was a teacher at CLASS for two years, and I found it to be a very negative experience. The Principal runs the school like a business with complete disregard for the educational experience of the teachers and the students. Teachers are not evaluated based on their teaching skills or effort, but rather on their personal relationship with the principal at that given moment. The learning environment is chaotic for the teachers and the students for many reasons, but mostly because the daily schedule of curriculum is inconsistent and fragmented. The year that I left the school, a third of the staff quit. I think that this says quite a bit about the quality of the educational environment.


Posted October 26, 2011

My daughter has been attending Class Academy for over six years and it has been a wonderful environment for her. Although the school bills itself as having an "advanced" curriculum, the thing that really makes the school stand out is the way they teach. Instead of reading textbooks and taking numerous tests, the students are immersed in projects that make learning fun. Some examples are building a r model of the Great Wall of China inside their classroom, churning their own butter, conducting pretend archaeological digs, re-enacting pioneer life, etc. Students also learn public speaking at an early age and by middle school can give very effective presentations. They also have art instruction every day, receive personal attention in small classes, and are taught to be respectful and kind to their teachers and peers. In our experience most of the teachers have been outstanding and some are just "okay," but you'll find that in any school. Many of them have been on staff for five years or more. The only downsides to the school are the small outside play area for the kids and no electives for the older students. The school is probably best for 4-10 year olds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

Pretty sad when one of the school's administrators has to respond to the less than positive concerns shared by former parents and teachers to try and set the record straight. Also, gives the school an opportunity to have that administrator give the school five stars. Their feedback should be weighted as less important because they are a current administrator. Feedback from those who have experienced the school, either positively or negatively, should be weighted more. Those who have shared their concerns have some very valid insights. Our personal association with the school was not positive at all for either of our children. I would never recommend the school to anyone. There are so many more schooling options in the Portland area that provide a much more positive and nurturing environment. A different top administrator at the school is what needs to change, the owner. It is a for profit school so remember that when looking at it as a potential place for your child(ren). The "owner" makes a lot of money while the staff live on low salaries. Or, the "owner" begs for parents to contribute money for school repairs, painting, and the bonuses that the staff receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 73%
Asian 45% N/A
Two or more races 5% N/A
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 18%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Heidi Dodge
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • At CLASS Academy we place students based on their social, emotional, and academic levels NOT simply by their age. We understand that children develop and different rates and that one size does not fit all when it comes to education. We provide our students the opportunity to meet their potential!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools
Montessori Schools
Private Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private Schools
Charter Schools
Public Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2730 Northwest Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 223-9099

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Cathedral School
Portland, OR


Emerson School
Portland, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT