Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 964 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

My son has on just transferred to this school in the last 2 weeks . But he says it's great, kids are nice and teachers are good & helpful. We both enjoyed how easy the office made his transfer. Great school Sincerely caring parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

This is bad I don't like it they make the food bad there also kid hit me a lot and some of them even smoke I hate this school


Posted August 28, 2011

I am appalled that there are so many great reviews of this school. Have we let our standards drop that low? I have a step child that is going into 8th grade this year at CMS. This year, they made wellness an elective! They choose between wellness, choir, or band. Since when did learning about how to take care of one's body become an option?! They have no classes for theatre or foreign languages and PE is taken every other month at best! Last year, my step-daughter was asked to give a presentation on a career, particularly one she would like to pursue. She reported that some of the other teachers, not her's, limited the children's options because they didn't feel those careers were attainable (singer, actress, astronaut, etc.). How dare a teacher tell students to lower there standards! I think as parents we need to set the standard higher, even if the teaches won't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

As a parent in the district, I couldn't be happier, and my child has been happy with her experience. Although the teachers have a large amount of students per team to manage, they seem to know all about them. I also have seen, from previously working in Centennial, that the teachers and administrators in general work very hard to teach students coming from different backgrounds, academic abilities, and budget issues. They don't complain, they make it work. Centennial stands out, from my experience, in highly qualified teachers, and people who love their job. My husband and I had the choice of placing our children in a private school years ago and chose public instead after doing a walkthrough. We have been highly satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

I have nothing but good to say about CMS. The teachers have done way more than what we pay them for..My child has built self esteem, confidence and intelligence from her years of attending schools in this district. To comment on the negative posts, I feel that you get what you give. I have volunteered every field trip my daughter went on, in class and kept in touch with teachers. I don't think we give the people who teach are children enough credit. THANKS SO MUCH FOR DOING WHAT YOU TEACHERS DO! CENTENNIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT IS WONDERFUL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Fun school, Teacher cares about us and remind us to turn in our work. Very Helpful. GO CENTENIALL!!! :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

The staff were on top of their game during my 7th and 8th grade years. However I was lucky, and managed to move onto high school right before the overcrowding started to happen. The school building is ages old, and is due for a hefty remodeling.


Posted November 3, 2008

this school is awesome i have not had any complaints from my child its a wondorful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

From the Superintendent down to the Vice Principal the attitude and behavior consist of lies, non-uniform application of the student handbook and policies, discrimination and enforcing laws that don't exist. You will be forced to keep records to keep up with the lies. Find a good researcher to find the facts for you, their version is not the truth
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Centennial Middle School teachers don't do a quality job of making sure your child does their own work. Which in turns makes the children slide by in school. Their standards need to come up if we want our children to do well in High School or College. The principal needs to vist the teachers rooms and keep them accountable to do a quality job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

I have had a daughter go through the experience at CMS and appreciated the effort both the Faculty and Administration gave her while there. I currently have a son at CMS and again find he is sharing in a positive growth and development he will need when he goes into high school and beyond. I have seen him develop teamwork, a better work ethic and a sense of loyalty for CMS. These are all qualities I appreciate seeing in my child. I clearly understand that I need to be involved and my son(as my daughter had found out)needs to learn, you only get from something when you contribute. I would like to thank the staff for the very high standards set and have no reservations stating that Doug Cook and his staff have done an excellent job preparing my children for what they need to know at this stage of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

As the parent of a disabled teen, my access as guaranteed by NClb has been restricted to the entire process. Parents are not welcome in the building except by invitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

i love this place it is very edectional i've learned so much thank you
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2006

I am a student here and so far I dont like it. The food is horriable. And I dont learn much because classes are over crowed. Being at cms is a nigth mare. We get new kids at least 3 times a month
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2005

I have to agree with the other poster on this board, at least about the middle school. It was one of the most difficult assignments in my long career. Teaching there seemed more about personalities and who you knew or didn't know, who you pleased or didn't, and God help you if you were too popular or not popular enough. It was tough for me to see good people, new young teachers, submitted to this kind of treatment. I never knew what hit me, and in the end, was glad I moved on. Collegiality and mutual support are essential for creating a learning evironment for kids. I hope the school's changed for the better today.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2005

I am a former student of this school and was not a very happy child here. The teachers hardly payed attention to their students, most classes were crowded. This school is all about the popularity and contests between teams. A lot of people i knew weren't very pleased either, I was told by a few teachers ' I don't care if you learn as long as I get payed'. To me these teachers can make a positive difference in a child's life but yet they are ruining them! I hope most parents get involved with their children's education and help them because they are going to need it!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female47%
Male49%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial31%
Native American20%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female69%
Male65%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial75%
Native American50%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female71%
Male56%
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial77%
Native American80%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female71%
Male60%
African American47%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial77%
Native American80%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female69%
Male68%
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial85%
Native American90%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 66%
Hispanic 23% 21%
Asian 11% 4%
Black 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17650 SE Brooklyn St
Portland, OR 97236
Phone: (503) 762-3206

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT