Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lynch Wood Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2013

Not an ideal school for my kids But they love this school even if they are struggling to learn. I know teachers and staff are trying their best to give their students the best education . But my kids academic performance went down . No extra help for kids who struggle for math reading and writting. So how could this school meet the state standard performance?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

As a former substitute teacher I am fully aware of the challenges that teachers are facing in todays economy and large class sizes. However, Lynch Wood has an amazing staff that has been fantastic with my daughter. I have seen my daughter learn so much there in the last two years. She is a very bright little girl who needs a challenge and Lynch Wood has certainly stepped up to make sure she is challenged. They are also great at keeping the parents involved and I love their Literacy nights and Math nights as well as all of the other family fun nights they have. It is a great school to be a part of, and I'm so thankful that our kids have the privilege of going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Both of my kids would rate this school about a 4 because they really liked it, but I rate it a 2. I'm glad they liked it, but this is the school they started going down hill at. They were both doing really great in school until they got to this school and their grades started dropping. They both do say they really liked this school, but from my point of view... this is the school the dropped the ball. This is the school they started failing at and it's been downhill since (thanks also to Ron Russell.... that school is even worse). I would not take my kids back to this school and would not recommend this school to any other parent/child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My daughter is finishing up the 6th grade. She had been at lynchwood since 1st grade. I have volunteered for field trips and in classroom. I really love this school and will miss all the teachers and staff when my daughter moves into middle school. My daughter is getting straight A's . So, someone is doing something right. Keep up the great work lynchwood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Although I was a little apprehensive placing my child in a public school district, I am very impressed with Lynchwood elementry. I feel that this school has a variety of activities for the children,and the staff is wonderful. Lynchwood has exceeded my expectations the acedemic side of things as well. I am very pleased with this school. Thank you to all the staff at Lynchwood Elementry for making a wonderful enviorment to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

I have taught at Lynch wood as well as several other schools and while Lynch Wood is faced with several challenges such as very large class sizes the overall feel of the school is excellent. It is rare to find a staff of teachers who work so well together and who are genuinely passionate about their jobs. The kids are great and the parents are fantastic.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 10, 2007

I don't care for this school. I like my child's teacher, however the response from the rest of the staff that I get for a question or concern is most of the time a rude on condescending attitude. If I could my child would not go to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

I had wonderful experiences and not so good experiences with all three children going through the school. It really did depend greatly on the principal employed at the time. Not only did the principal have a great impact on parent morale, but also noticed a difference in teacher attitude and morale depending on the leadership. The best of the best was Mr. Donovan. He was always present in the halls and playground and the children not only loved him but also respected him along with a long list of parents. Overall it was above average with teachers but below average with location and economic demographics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

The staff pushed my child through with a low reading level. Now he/she struggles in middle school to do assingments. I felt they were worried more about their first run ratio then the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female41%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander33%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female53%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female43%
Male46%
African American<=5%
Asian/Pacific Islander17%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners35%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female46%
Male55%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islander17%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners40%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female43%
Male36%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female43%
Male41%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students31%
Female27%
Male34%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female44%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female56%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 65%
Hispanic 26% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Black 8% 3%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3615 SE 174th St
Portland, OR 97236
Phone: (503) 762-3204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT