Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Portland Village School

Charter | K-8 | 250 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2013

My son transferred here from another PPS, and we have been very happy with our choice. His teacher is intelligent, creative, and endlessly patient. I love how art, nature, and storytelling are incorporated into all the subjects. The campus is not impressive, but the classrooms are decorated beautifully and feel extremely welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

We are in our second year here and are delighted to be a part of the Portland Village School! I am a mother to three young daughters (-2 of which are presently at the school-), a strong proponent of Waldorf, and an educator. For me personally, the Portland Village School is the perfect synthesis of Waldorf and public education: wonderfully rich and engaging. It is essentially a Waldorf-methods public charter school that offers a wholly arts-integrated curriculum, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese languages to all students, Handwork, Folkdancing, Verse work, real tasks and adventures together, service projects, beautiful seasonal celebrations in the community, a very dedicated staff, a no-media (on school days)-environment, and a looping policy that helps to establish a true sense of community and requires that we all work to be together. Parents have ample opportunity to become involved, as volunteers are constantly buzzing around with meaningful tasks for our children. I look forward to our unfolding here as the school expands and makes its mark on this great city of Portland!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

I greatly appreciate this approach to education, where the whole health of the children are considered. The intellectual, emotional and physical health are encouraged and supported. I have two children at Portland Village School, my oldest is in his third year at the school. Being with the same teacher from 1st-4th grade and then 5th-8th grade makes their life so much easier with less disruption than if they had a new teacher every year. I love that my children have art as well as Spanish and Mandarin Chinese language lessons. It's also nice to be in an environment where screen time and media exposure are minimized, the students are so creative themselves and it's amazing to see what they come up with when left with their own imaginations and the support of people who truly care for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

I have to admite that I am one of those parents that is most concerned about the overall happiness of my child at school. I happen to believe that children have an innate curiosity about the way the world works and parents need to foster a love of learning over rigid academics as the only path to knowledge. That said, academically one of my children is advanced, while the other struggles, and both LOVE school. My daughters teacher offered to stay after school several days a week to tutor students, and some students stayed as peer tutors because it was such a warm environment. I agree that ethnic diversity is lacking, and the school admin. are working to promote enrollment from other demographics. On one hand, I want to keep the school a secret so It can stay small a cozy, but I can't keep such a wealth of educational gold to myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

We LOVE this school. If you want your child to be an independent and creative thinker, value interaction with the natural world, learn to self regulate, focus, and care for others this is a wonderful educational option...along with rich academics as they move into the higher grades. Worldorf curriculum encompasses a broad historical base and classical education beginning with helpers of humanities, the ancient Hebrews, ancient Greece, the Rennaisance etc. It is well worth checking out. Also- in the years we have attended no one has ever tried to tell us where or where not we could attend a birthday party! My kids relate well to ALL types of children within and without of the Waldorf community....in the end kids are kids...and Waldorf certainly allows and encourages children to be children...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

The parent reviews sum up this school well. For those that value alternative Waldorf methods and community, no homework, do not mind the no media at school and home policy (no TV, Movies, computers and images on clothing/lunchboxes/backpacks), this is a great school. For those that value academics, discipline, learning about technology, and enabling your child to have things in common with and be comfortable relating to kids outside the small Waldorf community, this is not the school for you. For example of the latter, attending a friend's birthday party at Chuck'E'Cheezes is not in keeping with the School's Waldorf methods. Also, be sure to check the School's report card on the Oregon Department of Education Website. I found the School's performance claims to be inaccurate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

We are very happy at PVS. It's a new school, and there are still challenges to be expected at a new school (parking, space, discipline, creating policies, etc). What matters most is that my children are learning and thriving in a Waldorf inspired environment. My older son started at a more traditional school, but is so much more comfortable at PVS. My younger son has known nothing else. Classrooms are lovely, attention is paid to how kids treat each other. No commercial images or "movie talk" is allowed. No computers on site. Learning is thoughtful- not just endless piles of worksheets. They are on track with their grade levels. They are learning fractions though music, multiplication through stories and song. Their main lesson books are beautiful. Give PVS a chance if you are flexible, believe in Waldorf education, want a slower approach than is offered in a tradtional school, and can stand the growing pains of a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

I don't really understand where some of the previous negative reviews are coming from- and seem to me to be cases of individuals who did not fit well with their teacher or the school. I have been pleased with the organization of the school and have never before received such constant and consistent communication in any other school setting. In fact they have a committee which meets to specifically address communication. Look at the website for evidence of this- and read the monthly newsletter~ and in terms of diversity the school makes every effort to prioritize this. One only needs to look at the various celebrations within the school year to see evidence of this- starting with the lantern walk in late October for Diwali. My child is gifted and has done extremely well at PVS. She is curious about everything accross subjects. I would tell prospective parents who are interested in PVS and Waldorf to come and see the school themselves when there are classes in session- and kids engaged in learning- talk to teachers and administrators- and parents- then make your mind up. As I said- we've been thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Portland Village School is a still-young, but firmly established free public charter school which has adapted the Waldorf curriculum and teaching methods to the needs of a public school community. We are inspired by the demonstrated success of the Eugene Village School, the Alice Birney School, The Urban Waldorf School, and many other public Waldorf-methods programs serving diverse populations. Waitlists for most of our classes demonstrate the strong demand for this kind of program in Portland. Our core academic program engages children in all subjects using art, music, movement, and direct presentation of lesson materials. The effectiveness of our approach is evidenced by PVS students performing above district and state averages on the required standardized tests. In addition to a rich core curriculum, Children learn Chinese and Spanish from native speakers several times a week, learn folk dances from around the world, create handmade crafts of increasing complexity, and study both vocal and instrumental music. PVS fosters a love of learning in a nurturing environment which values the education of the class as a community equally with the individual. We welcome your visit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

The school is disorganized. Teaching methods do not allow for different learning styles. They give lip service to Gardner's Multiple Intelligences framework. Teachers halt all teaching of main lesson to practice for a play...for 3-4 weeks. Kids with learning disabilities are not well supported. Teachers are unwilling to change the Waldorf method in order to accomodate special needs. And the school does not celebrate diversity of thought, of cultures, etc. So, if you are of European descent (white) and have children without learning challenges/disabilities, you'll love this school. You can never question the teaching method, because it is always the student who is "behind in some developmental skill". They'll prescribe house chores, mid-line exercises, etc. to enhance the child's learning capabilites. The teacher has NOTHING to change. The onus is always on the child. The school is a great fit if you are from Portland, of European descent (white) and your children do not have learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

We love the education our child is receiving. Our child is reading 2-3 grades levels ahead and is excelling in all areas. Couldn't ask for a better school environment where art, music, foreign language, handwork, academics are valued and children love to learn. The teachers, administrators and parents truly care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Very slow track methods for learning and super old school in regards to their philosophy, of course, Waldorf. This school will be a challenge for the modern child and the gifted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

This school might work for you if 1) you don't care much whether your child learns anything, 2) you have a very high tolerance for discipline issues and a very disorganized and unprofessional discipline response, 3) you don't mind rampant flakiness such as the staff (even the administration!) not following written policies, 4) you don't mind whether your small child is properly supervised, 5) you can tolerate inconsistent and unprofessional communication styles from the staff. This school is a nightmare. Run!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I love PVS because it holds the whole of my child not JUST the academic piece. It regcognizes the importance of the integration of her body, spirit, and mind and includes activities in the curriculum that allows her to grow in different ways--dance, art, handwork, as well as math and reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school addresses both the academic and emotional development of the children. The teachers honestly care about each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

So many things: the teachers, the art, the dancing, the music, the community....I could go on forever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The Waldorf cirriculum provides and unique teaching method through connection to the earth and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It has been the best school for my daughter! Waldorph methods taught at a public charter school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Because Waldorf education is wonderful! and my granddaughter deserves the best.


Posted April 26, 2010

Portland Village school is where my niece attends. I have visited this school and am very amazed at the creative way they plug into the children. With caring teachers and active parents. It is a school that should be the model for others.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female16%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female60%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female46%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female86%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female48%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female78%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female39%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female31%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female73%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female46%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 65%
Hispanic 7% 21%
Black 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A51%
Female 53%N/A48%
Male 47%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7654 North Delaware St
Portland, OR 97217
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 445-0056

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ockley Green
Portland, OR



Trillium
Portland, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT