Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
272 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 1

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Please spare your children from this school. While there were some competent and kind staff, a significant number were neither. The Christian values espoused in Chapels were not demonstrated by long-time teachers nor administrators in big ways. It was depressing. Many classmates sought counseling for anxiety and depression during my time there. Much of it is attributable to the high levels of homework that made it difficult to participate in family life, church, and extracurricular activities. They kicked out pregnant females in my time there, as well. The love of Christ was not something I saw well-lived-out here. I hope it has gotten better since the 2000s when I went to PC. I have to add that PC was was cliquey as well. Many of the students at the JR/SR High went to the elementary school as well. It's great for them that they got this consistency is school relationships. My only wish would be that they show the love of God and be inclusive of the new students.

Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Portland Christian High School helps students prepare for life and make a difference in life.


Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Portland Christian has a great combination of academics and extra-curricular activities that surpass even larger and publicly funded schools. They have outstanding arts programs (art, drama and music classes, art club, fall play, spring musical, choir and band) and a wide range of sports (track, football, basketball, volleyball, soccer). They have a great Christian environment that makes it stand out from the rest. Families drive from all over Oregon and Washington because they believe in the difference that PCS makes in overall development of mind, body and spirit.

Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a teacher
My two children have attended Portland Christian since early elementary school. What I love most about PC is the people. It also has great college-prep academics, lots of opportunities for kids to get involved in activities, and a solid faith foundation. But it is the smart, caring Christians -- students, families, and staff -- who populate the school that make it really special. What a great place for my kids!

Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a community member
The teachers are fantastic and enhanced my desire to learn simply by caring for me as an individual. The class sizes were perfect. In addition, the academics prepared me for college! Among my peers in higher education, I would consider myself more prepared to meet the expectations of professors.


Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted November 18, 2012
- a community member
PART FOUR: As a whole, Portland Christian is an amazing place to be a student. The ability to learn and the positive social interactions make this school a cut above all others. If knowledge, a positive environment and social involvement are things that are important to a parent, Portland Christian is an excellent place to consider for a child's education. The foundation for knowledge and self sufficiency must be instilled in our youth at an early age; when they are still impressionable; still trying to 'find themselves.' It is something they will carry with them their entire lives and PC is an excellent place to encourage those traits.

Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 1

Posted November 05, 2012
- a community member
This school is a horrible school. Do not go there, you will regret it. The teachers are extremely lazy and uneducated and are not willing to help students get the extra help they need. Another big issue with the school is the kids and the administration. The kids there in my experience have been very clicky in the social groups and are very egotistical and self centered. The administration is probably the worst you will ever find, if you wanna talk about dysfunctional and unorganized they are the living example. So if you think you kid would fit in at this school and enjoy the clicky social groups thing then send them here, otherwise you should send your kid somewhere else.

Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted January 14, 2011
- a community member
I graduated in 2005 and thoroughly enjoyed my experience attending this school. It changed my life academically and spiritually.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School
12425 NE San Rafael St, Portland, OR  97230
(503) 256-3960
Last modified Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Portland Christian Jr/Sr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top