Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwest Charter School 1

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
My child was consistently bullied here. Several meetings with teachers and principal led to no changes. My child would come home in tears on a regular basis. I was consistently told by staff that my child needed to learn to "ignore" and walk away to get the unwanted behavior from others to stop. We tried to work through it and do what we could to avoid and walk away because my child loved the school and the teachers and really wanted to stay at the school. After several months of it though we had to pull our child out and place them in another school. It was the best choice and now my child is thriving and coming home with smiles. It seems the bullying policy here is to blame the victim.

Southwest Charter School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a community member
I am a current student at SWCS, writing this during class time because the teacher doesn't care enough to pay attention to any of the students who aren't special needs. The classroom experience is terrible, with special treatment given to a select few students, but the entire group being punished when a couple students get in trouble. The teachers are very low quality once you get above 1/2 grade, and the board is a group of inexperienced parents who want school funding so their special needs child can get a better education. A 50% teacher retention rate last year shows how little the students are taken into account, especially, once again, if they aren't special needs.


Southwest Charter School 1

Posted April 04, 2015
- a parent
Special needs kids abound here but they don't have the resources or funding to keep up with them. The Teaching is good and the curriculum is engaging but teacher turnover rate is high. Bullying is not dealt with properly leaving it to continue even after several reports. I know of two other families who left the school due to this. The schools outings are fun and educational but the playground is just a small fenced in concrete area with no room to run leaving kids with pent up energy.

Southwest Charter School 4

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
We really wanted our neighborhood school to work, but our kids were getting lost in the large class sizes and masses of worksheets. Once we switched to SWCS, they thrived. The classrooms are fun, engaging, and the community is very strong. Yes, it is charter which brings financial challenges that require fundraising (but isn't that the state of all schools?) but here we can definitely feel like our kids needs are being put first.

Southwest Charter School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Everything I'd like to say has already been said by the other 1 and 2 star reviews. In short, SWCS did not provide the alternative education we expected and wanted for our child. Philosophies boasted on the schools website fall short. Once you are in the focus is on raising money for the school. That and everything already stated in the other low reviews.


Southwest Charter School 4

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
My child is very happy at SWCS. She is excelling academically and much more engaged and challenged than at her previous school. While this school may not be a great fit for all children, an independent learner who benefits from full integration of creative and intellectual endeavors will do well here.

Southwest Charter School 1

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
After a few years at Southwest Charter, my kids were not where they needed to be academically to fit back in to the mainstream school system. They had fun at farms, rivers, plays and museums during their time at SWCS, but are missing chunks of learning that have left them struggling now. We are spending a lot of time and money getting them caught up to where they need to be in all subject areas.

Southwest Charter School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
My son has autism. We had two wonderful years with this school. School placement is always difficult with special need children especially when resources are limited. We love this school because teacher and staff have the right level of flexibility, open-mindedness, positive attitute, sense of humor, and willingness to try new things. We met the most wonderful teacher and children in this school and we learned a lot from them. Education is a shared-responsibility between school and parents. We feel grateful that this school gave us an opportunity to successfully intergrate my son into the neuro-typical world. It is actually quite creative to effectively use public facilities to save costs given that charter schools are receiving much less fundings compared to traditional public schools.


Southwest Charter School 1

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
Our child attended SW Charter School for three years. We chose SWCS as an alternative to PPS. We thought the 'Place-based Learning' approach and emphasis on natural science would be a good fit for our child who had struggled in a more traditional learning environment. Although there are a few individuals at the school dedicated to providing a supportive, engaging education following this model, we were mostly disappointed. SWCS is anti-academic (i.e. garbage collection = science!), has unaddressed bullying issues and very high teacher and student turnover (The 3 teachers we had have all left the school. The class rooster was @ 20% revolving door, with a significant drop by the end of the year). There is no library, computer lab, gym or grass play areas, and a general lack of the basics. Our experience (not unique to us) was that important educational decisions concerning a student were dictated by the administrator (with disregard for parental input) and non-negotiable. For our time there, SWCS did not deliver a quality alternative education option. Additionally, they were counter-productive in bringing child, family and school together for good educational outcomes.

Southwest Charter School 2

Posted June 30, 2012
- a parent
Southwest Charter School was working hard to change the education system the first two years they were open. Since then, the school has hit a downward spiral. They're prime concern is with survival and it does not leave them time to focus on the needs of the students. Over the past two years, I withdrew both my children from SWCS. If your child has special needs of any sort, that is not a priority at SWCS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Charter School
0640 SW Bancroft St., Portland, OR  97239
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (503) 244-1697
Last modified Southwest Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top