Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwest Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My son's teachers went way out of the way to provide quality instruction for him. One teacher took a group of students to Salem and Washington DC, much of it on her own time to ensure the highest quality experience for the students.

Southwest Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Homework was manageable, it of course varies with teachers as in any school. I think the reality of modern learning is there has to be some homework to keep up with the higher expectations of the common core requirements.


Southwest Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
SWCS is not just a testing school. It's students spend a large amount of time on experiences outside the classroom interacting with the community in a variety of ways to shape their learning experience.

Southwest Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The teachers use the positive discipline model which is based on respect for the students and their peers. The students spend time weekly working on learning this model.

Southwest Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The SWCS mission of connecting to the community goes along way in teaching students about the importance of quality, connected relationships, both in and out of the classroom.


Southwest Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
SWCS does a great job teaching place based learning and creating caring and compassionate students.

Southwest Charter School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My child attended SWCS for six years and is now in High School I cannot say enough great things about the school. He thrived there. The Teachers and Staff are great. Everyone who works there care so much about providing a quality education and it shows. My son is a smart, caring and compassionate learner and I know that SWCS had a big part in fanning his natural desire to learn. He is now finishing up his Freshman year in H.S. with solid A's. Thanks so much to our SWCS family, a great place for your child.

Southwest Charter School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Awesome caring teachers who are incredibly skilled at bringing place-based learning into a curriculum still beholden to state mandated common core guidelines. My children developed compassion for others who are different from them in many ways. They developed critical thinking and engagement in their community and the world. Their experience here truly shaped them into individuals I not only love but respect.


Southwest Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Has to choose one person, but I will say I am grateful to Sarah Anderson because of her knowledge and skill with place- based learning. She leads the school in developing meaningful partnerships that not only serve the community but truly involve learning and developing critical thinking, language, and other traditional learning necessary to be an informed citizen of the world.

Southwest Charter School 1

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
My child was consistently bullied here. Several meetings with teachers and principal led to no changes. My child would come home in tears on a regular basis. I was consistently told by staff that my child needed to learn to "ignore" and walk away to get the unwanted behavior from others to stop. We tried to work through it and do what we could to avoid and walk away because my child loved the school and the teachers and really wanted to stay at the school. After several months of it though we had to pull our child out and place them in another school. It was the best choice and now my child is thriving and coming home with smiles. It seems the bullying policy here is to blame the victim.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Charter School
0640 SW Bancroft St., Portland, OR  97239
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (503) 244-1697
Last modified Southwest Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top