Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
My child was being bullied at her old school no one had time to help her her grades suffered and she never wanted to go now she is straight A student and loves school can not say enough good about how teachers are will to work with her and she is blossoming into a very happy young lady

Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 4

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
I think it's a great school. And I am glad my kiddo goes there. She seems to really like it


Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a teacher
Their lunches are like ridiculous and sometimes they do not have enough food, so they have to go buy it from a store. The serving size is like kindergarten size, which might be ok for elementary but not middle school. During lunch time they try to stretch the food as far as it can go, like there was no food left in the world. If the kids were still hungry they said "sorry no food", suffocated going hungry. Sad part is this may be the only meal they get during the day. They do not have a janitorial service, so the trash will pile up in the classroom, wear food will be rotting. Garbages can sit there for a week or more unless teachers take them out. The middle school classroom walls are covered in old food that missed the garbage. The math room in middle school has wallpaper is peeling and falling off the wall. Bathrooms are not being cleaned. So if you have a boy who pees on the toilet seat, or the floor it never gets cleaned up. School is one big Petri dish for bacteria, no wonder the kids keep getting sick. They let a math teacher go in the middle of the year and now they are scrabbling to find sub's to cover math. Sometimes these students will have a new sub everyday.

Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 1

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
We enrolled our daughter at this school 3 years ago. At first it was fantastic, unfortunately, over the past years the school has gone down hill. They do not have enough desk and chairs for the students. Last year they did not have enough math books. The communication between the staff and parents is very poor. My daughter was involved in an incident with other students, and I was called to come get her because she was "sick". I was not told what happened over the phone or when I went in to pick her up. The principal, Mr. Cardona, doesn't seem to have any back bone what so ever. He refuses to address ongoing issues of bullying and sexual harassment among the students, even thought they have a zero tolerance policy that all of the parents and students are forced to sign at the beginning of every year. There is a very high rate of teacher turn over. The majority of the teachers are new every year, which makes me feel like my students are being treated as test dummies. The violence of the surrounding Rock Wood neighborhood is starting to seep into this school, and the staff is not willing to deal with the issue. Their "zero tolerance policy" is a joke.

Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 4

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Only negative is some concern in regards to how school is administered. Hopefully new principal and admin are changing things. When it comes to the important stuff - teaching our children, Knova gets an A+. Teachers are excellent, great education program. Although a long day in school, staff balance structured learning time with recess on the new playground, play, and creative activities. Appreciate 2 teachers per classroom and number of bilingual staff. Able to give kids small group and 1:1 attention so that kids thrive!


Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Not your typical school, but that's why we love it. Have had both my boys there. One started in Kindergarten (thank goodness) and the other in 7th grade. Wish I could've started my oldest out there; his educational experience would've been so different. The staff and teachers know each student and who they belong with so there is a familiarity that can't be matched in a public school. Communication is okay, but that also depends on the parent; it's as good as the parent makes it. Of course the building and location could be way better, but if that's all I have to complain about, I'll keep my mouth shut. The sense of community at this school far outweighs that. When my children's grades are lagging or behavior is troublesome, it's addressed immediately, not punished. The staff takes a team approach. I'm confused why the school has such a low rating when my boys are thriving. We had many experiences before this trying to find the right fit, now I can't imagine them going anywhere else.

Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
My son transferred from a kindergarten class in Spokane, WA to Knova in Portland, OR. My son is very bright and frequently got in trouble at his former school due to boredom. There was poor communication from his Spokane school in methods to rectify his behavior. Since he has been at Knova, they have pushed him academically to succeed, and he has not had ANY behavior problems. The one concern I had regarding his social skills in the new school was addressed that same day by staff and he is now thriving. I highly reccomend Knova to anyone who wants their child to succeed, both academically and socially.

Knova Reynolds Public Charter School 4

Posted December 20, 2013
- a parent
I have two students that attend here, one has been there for K-3rd grade, great curriculum however teachers are strait out of school with a lot of turn over, my oldest has been there 4-7th grades also has an iep school works well with this. My to complaints in the level of communication with parents and teachers with no experience both very frustrating to work with! location is not a safe part of town with no playground there playground is a blacktop!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Knova Reynolds Public Charter School
18201 SE Stark St, Portland, OR  97233
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (503) 206-8578
Last modified Knova Reynolds Public Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top