Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David Douglas High School

Public | 9-12 | 3219 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

David Douglas High School is one of the best schools in Portland, Oregon. Moving from one school to another I found that DDHS has the best teachers, who care's about their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2013

My school is fantastic! The teacher's are one of a kind and do everything in their power to help students. Our student body is one of the most diverse and supportive in the state, by far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2013

David Douglas High School is so impressive , the office staff is very friendly and helpful . The counselors extremely caring of their students and preparation for college, while making sure the student is having the best possible experience at David Douglas while attending . My daughter loves all her instructors. David Douglas High School is the only school to have an amazing after school program that works with the Jane Goodall Institute . With it's own arts building for theater and music , a swimming pool , tennis courts and overall enthusiasm of attending students, this gives the campus a terrific feel of community and diversity . There is something for everyone at this school and very welcoming . I feel no matter what school you attend , it is up to the individual . David Douglas High School helps with both creative individuality and working as a community . It is more like a college then a High School .With David Douglas working with Mt Hood Community College in receiving college credits it only helps prepare your child even more . What can improve is having the ideology that because the school is in a low income neighborhood you can't possibly succeed .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

I went to this school back in 2008 i believe. I was only there for a short time and it was heck. The security and principals had no respect for the students, they played by their own rules and had no concern for any students. I had a sister that is mentally disabled and had a worse time than me involving the management staff (security and principals). I am a student that gets in virtually no trouble and yet i was treated like i murdered someone. The counselors, principal, and the security unlawfully taken my cell phone (i didn't have it out nor was i even in the same room as my phone) and read my text messages (there was nothing bad i am weird with a weird sense of humor) and they continually laughed and made fun of me for at least two hours. And they take part in scare tactics and threats against their students. they are enablers of bullying and they take part in it themselves so that is why i have nothing good to say about this school.


Posted March 25, 2011

The teachers seem helpful & friendly, the office staff is not so friendly. The school is huge and my student felt lost in the crowds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I graduated from David Douglas in 2007 and had a wonderful experience there. With such a large school (over 3,000 students) and being able to have a voice and be able to do well is great. The fact that Douglas recommended and believed in music education while other schools were cutting it was only one reason why I liked it so much. With one nephew who graduated from there recently, and a niece currently attending, I don't have to worry about what kind of education they are receiving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

I have lived in the same house in the same neighborhood and school district because I love it. The teachers are great- the parents are great- the school board cares. They didn't have to chop days off the calendar due to budget constraints- and- they are constantly getting government grants for having special programs. I have 7 kids and I wouldn't have raised them in any other district or sent them to any other shcool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I am a substitute in several area districts and this is one of my favorite schools to work at. The staff seems to be doing creative projects; the school has a variety of electives and enrichment options; and the students are engaged, polite, and focused on learning. I'm always impressed by DDHS.


Posted November 26, 2008

I think that this school is amazing. With over 3,000 students the teachers are doing great jobs. David Douglas is very diverse, this makes it a great experience for teenagers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I am a parent of a graduating student and one who graduated already. My children had an excellent experience, as did I. Even when there were rough times the teachers kept in touch, worked with my children to help them make up tests, or directed them to sources of assistence. I enjoyed parent teacher conferences, the music program, and the philosophy I saw in teachers towards their students. LOVED it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2005

Great school, all three of my children went here and loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I have 3 children in this school, overall I would rate this a good school. Although Teacher-Parent communication could use a lot of work. During the combined 7 years that my children have attended,we have only received phone calls from one teacher when one of our children has fallen behind. Usually we don't find out until progress report time, by then it's too late. We are both working parents and do not have time to play phone tag with staff. Just a quick note or message on the answering machine would be nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

[I think] The instructors and staff are the best in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Science

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

723 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

726 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

721 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

716 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female60%
Male62%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial65%
Native American67%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial81%
Native American>=95%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students53%
Female47%
Male57%
African American26%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial43%
Native American50%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students51%
Female60%
Male43%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial54%
Native American50%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 65%
Hispanic 22% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 4%
Black 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 SE 135th Ave
Portland, OR 97233
Phone: (503) 261-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Four Corners School
Portland, OR


Serendipity Center
Portland, OR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT