Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Scott Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 495 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

This school is poorly managed. The principal has serious issues. A few teachers are exceptional, but many need training.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

my daughter has gone to mount scott for the last 3 years and heading into her 4th year. she absolutely loves it there. the teachers are so great with the kids on an overall level and a personal level. and the principal is very involved throughout the year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I love Mt. Scott Elementary. My son who is 1st grader loves school. This is our first year. My son's first grade teacher (Ms. Pitzl) is super nice.. cares kids so much and also passionate.. great teacher. great community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

Our experience with Mt. Scott Elementary has been very, very negative. It has been so bad, we have transferred our child out. I do not recommend this school.


Posted April 17, 2009

This school is amazing. My son has attended Mt. Scott since kindergarten (he is in 2nd grade now) and my daughter will start there this fall. The entire community is wonderful, from the teachers to the parents. I will be sure to do anything I possibly can to keep both of my children here throughout their elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

This is our first year at Mt Scott. We are currently looking to buy a home and we are being very selective to stay within Mt. Scott's boundaries. My sons 1st grade teacher is AMAZING! She has aloud me to come into the classroom and teach a nutrition program. The PTO is going to allow me to introduce some nutrition curriculum at the next PTO meeting in an effort to implement nutrition education in the classroom. I have also noticed a lot of other parents helping out and getting involved. The school has also received great state scores. We love this school, its great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

My youngest grandson is attending this school, and my oldest grandson attended. They both started out in kindergarden and will finish here. This is a great school with wonderful teachers and wonderful programs. The principal currently is not as hands-on as the last principal, but the teachers and the spirit make up for this one little negative. My grandkids love it.


Posted August 25, 2008

I love our school. I have volunteered and gone on a ton of field trips. I couldn't believe what some people wrote about our school. I wonder if they ever helped out. I have always felt welcome by parents and teachers. Our state test scores are extremely high. The principal and staff are very accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Great leadership and caring from the Principal to all the staff. They really stress great education and safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I have to say I'm completely at a loss by the reviews I just read regarding Mt.Scott Elementary. I've been at Mt. Scott for two years now and absolutely love our school, as well as our principal. She is busy some days, yes, but what principal isn't? She has always been available for me when I have needed her, even when I haven't had an appointment. She might only have a minute or two to spare on certain days, but she has always made me feel that my concerns, thoughts, and my children are extremely important to her! I am proud to have her as my children's principal, as well as extremely proud of the teachers/staff we have at our school. We have wonderful parental involvement and a feeling of family at our school with parents/teachers/staff. Keep up the good work Mt. Scott Elementary! - School volunteer & very involved parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

It almost feels prejudice. Terrible leadership from the principal. We moved out of this area because of this terrible community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

My child has been at this school for a year. Although her teacher and the office staff are friendly, the principal is very detached from the goings on at the school. It's been my experience that one can seldom reach the principal when need be. As far as academics, this school seems to be slow and a bit behind. I've found that the parents aren't friendly when I've attended school functions. I wouldn't recommend this school, in fact, we've decided to either transfer out of this school or try homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

My child has been here for one year. The teacher is great. However the principal does not handle matters equally and if given a choice I would not recommend this school (academically, or socially) The parents are not friendly or welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

My son has been attending your school for 2 years. He's gone to two other elementary schools before. This is a wonderful school. The location is safe and beautiful. The bus system is great. The teachers are devoted. Lots of parental involvement. Kids learn here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners67%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female74%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners56%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female64%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners47%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners47%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners31%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female70%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female67%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners39%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 66%
Asian 20% 4%
Hispanic 13% 21%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11201 SE Stevens Rd
Portland, OR 97266
Phone: (503) 353-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sisters Web Academy
Clackamas, OR


Clackamas Web Academy
Clackamas, OR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT