Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Russell Academy

Public | K-5 | 389 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

My son is in 1st grade at Russell. When we started there in kindergarten I realized just how great of a school it really is. The teachers are attentive and very caring! And they have a great reading program! My son was reading at a second grade level by the end of kindergarten. He couldn't wait for summer break to be over so he could go back to school! We love Russell Academy! Love that they require uniforms! And love the the overall atmosfer in the school, all the kids always seem happy! I can't wait till my daughter starts kindergarten there next year! Oh, and they are in process of building a new music/ multi purpose room! And they even have a full time music teacher now!! This school is the best of the best! I am so greatful it is my neighborhood school! We are very fortunate to be a part of this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

I have a daughter with high functioning Autism and transferred her from another school. We are pleased with her progress. Everyone from the school secretary, teachers assistants, and the lunch lady are extrememly nurturing and kind. My daughter loves going to school and can't wait to share what she's learned. Leaving a child with special needs in the care of strangers is difficult and we may worry more than most. When I drop off my daughter at Russell, I know she's in wonderful hands and she's receiving a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Smart and caring teachers,staffs and volunteers help make this school one of the best in my community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

We are a school full of smart students and smart teachers. We are committed to growing and getting better every day. Teachers and students collaborate to more effectively improve ourselves and our school. We work to have a peaceful and successful environment where everyone is cared for and safe to take risks.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2007

My children are transfers from another school, my kids were not very happy at their past school. Since they started at Russell they are happy and enjoy learning again, they have lots of new friends, and they are enjoying reading and math a lot. I have not heard one complaint from them about the school and that just makes me so happy, they come home with smiles on their faces and are excited to tell me about what they learned and did at school that day. Out of a 1 -10 and 10 being the best Russell Academy scores a 10 in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

Russell Academy has terrific leadership with Mr. Rose as the principal. He brings out the best in each staff and student. The staff is incredible, as are the parents who volunteer. The code of dress, school pledge, and other disciplines that are implemented make it a safe and fun learning environment. We are thankful to have our son at this fine school. I would highly recommend other schools, including middle and high school grades following this protocol as this will help all students to do their best especially as they get into higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

This is a elementary school that is personable, caring, compasionate and has carried the abilitiy to see all positives in each individual child and their learning capabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female50%
Male67%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female63%
Male69%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learners60%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female46%
Male47%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners18%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female71%
Male47%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female32%
Male41%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial14%
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female48%
Male41%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial43%
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students36%
Female39%
Male33%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic21%
Multiracial29%
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 66%
Hispanic 21% 21%
Asian 16% 4%
Black 10% 3%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 NE 127th Ave
Portland, OR 97230
Phone: (503) 408-2750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Therese School
Portland, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT