Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shaver Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 368 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

Shaver leaves a lot to be desired. I have seen teachers in childrens faces yelling at them untill they cry. Teachers walk around the school with a scowl on their face. The turn over is high. This school does not meet up too a grade schools standards. Other th


Posted September 8, 2013

So far my child has been going to this school for the second year, and this is the third principal. What's going on with the stability?????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Shaver has a great, caring staff who somehow manage to make it work with classrooms of close to 40 students and a good many non-English speakers.


Posted July 13, 2010

Both of my children attended Shaver K-5 and overall I was very happy. So many of the teachers are wonderful, but Shaver gets a bad rap because it's low-income and multi-cultural. Despite the class sizes, ELL, special needs, and highly mobile students, children can and do excel at Shaver. Even when we had the opportunity to transfer to another elementary school in the district, we chose to stay. The staff and teachers there made that an easy decision to make. Every school can use improvement, and if more parents would get involved at Shaver it would definitely benefit the kids and teachers alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

My child has been going to Shaver for five years now. For the most part, I've been pleased with this school, the Principal, and all of the teachers and staff. I've found Ms. Bartman to be highly qualified, professional, fair, and very patient. All of the teachers my child had have been very good, if not a little harried due to their class size. For many years I believed that a charter school would offer a better education. When the opportunity came up, I transferred my child to one. It was not a good fit. I realized that Shaver was just as good a school, if not better, despite the large class sizes. After 3 months at the charter school, I transferred my child back to Shaver. Shaver is a good school, even with large class sizes and budget cuts. They are doing the best they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

Caring staff with good teachers - however, the school and district are negligent in their responsibilities to special needs children: closed minded; interpret laws and their responsibilites in the narrowest of terms; and unwilling to spend money to provide a safety net for seriously at risk children. If my daughter has a successful education it will be in spite of, not because of this school/district and its smug attitudes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

I have been a Shaver parent for almost four years and have experienced changes. I have not always been happy with what I have observed in the school or heard through word-of-mouth. However, my son loves Shaver and it is our job as parents to make school an environment to be proud of. If you are not part of the solution, you are part of the problem. Change is never easy for anyone, but we as parents need to model for our children flexibility and show we are people who effect change positively. We have wonderful resources at Shaver, from our staff to SPFA to the Schools United Neighborhoods program (SUN). I have not agreed with all aspects of administrative decisions, but pulling our children out of Shaver and effectively 'brain-draining' our community is not the answer - getting involved is the answer. I challenge more parents to participate in SPFA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

I was dissapointed with my last year at shaver. The lack of dissapline was big. There were some students who were good and some were trying but for the kids who were trying there was no chance. The princapal assumed they were always going to be the bad apples because of things in the past. So even if they did the right thing, they were the ones who were in trouble in the end. Not that they did anything to get in to trouble, but they were missed juged.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 29, 2004

My children started at Shaver 5 years ago. Up until last year we had a great experience. Do to a new Principle and some newly placed teachers, we struggled last year with violence and lack of respect to the students and they're parents. As a result, I removed my children from Shaver and placed them at Sacramento. Had I known now what I didn't no then, along with the concerns I witnessed and reported, I would have removed my children sooner. Something has to be done! Since the School and District wont take a stand and make changes nessasary to improve the safety and welfare of our young children, this school will only continue to go in a downward spiral. Zero tollerance to violence and profanity must be inforced. Teachers must have standards placed on them and followed up and reinforced by the district. Parents must be informed at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female20%
Male16%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female48%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female20%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Reading

All Students52%
Female64%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation14%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female17%
Male54%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation25%

Reading

All Students57%
Female55%
Male58%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners27%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students48%
Female39%
Male58%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 21%
White 15% 65%
Black 12% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 NE 131st Place
Portland, OR 97230
Phone: (503) 408-2850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Russell Academy
Portland, OR




St Therese School
Portland, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT