Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkrose High School

Public | 9-12 | 1034 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2012

I graduated from Parkrose High School and I cannot imagine graduating from anywhere else. I have not only learned how to excel academically but also socially. Being exposed to so many different backgrounds and cultures, I am able to communicate and build relationships at a much deeper level. Do not be fooled by the school's inaccurate reputation of being "ghetto," and "dangerous." I never felt more safe and at home than I did when I attended PHS.


Posted December 13, 2009

There's nothing that comes to mind that I don't like abour Parkrose. It really is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

It is the most intercultural school I have ever been exposed to. In addition to academics, my kids are learning key skills for tolerance, understanding and communication with people who come from diverse backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

It is a great school with great kids and hard working teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Parkrose offers a great array of electives that kids enjoy. The staff and students exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Parkrose High School rocks! We have great kids, staff,parents and administration. We all work together to make it the best school. Our sports are growing and getting noticed for their talent. Our academics is growing and improving every day....so exciting. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Parkrose High School has a great administration and staff that is working together for the improvements of the education of our students. We have great booster groups to raise money for music, Athletics. We have very talented students who work hard on their academics and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love the size of Parkrose. It is a pretty small school for Portland but it is a close knit group of teachers, students and parents. The student/athletes are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Our kids are treated great. They have the academic help they need along with other support. They are a part of a great team and are turning out to be fine young men due to the teachers and staff at Parkrose High School. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

We are small but mighty! We have great turn out by students and parents and it 'feels like home'. Best school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Parkrose high school is a great place to educate students. It is filled with smart, caring teachers and administrators. Because of it's size it offers students more opportunities and personalized attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Parkrose really cares about our kids. They take the time to understand,listen, and teach our kids. My son has a learning disapility and Parkrose found this out at a early age to help my son achieve, overcome and succeed in his learning.Parkrose Pride is throught out all of our schools, community,and buisness partners. I'm very proud to be apart of all three of these catagories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Most of the public schools just complain about lack of funds and that they are doing the best they can. Parkrose High School teachers care and give their all no matter what and the school board and superintendent are constantly striving to make it more challenging to the kids because they know that life is not going to be easy when they get out of school. There are Booster groups made up of very dedicated parents to help support the athletics and music programs and those coaches and teachers are extremely dedicated at making the best bands and teams possible. It is an all around community effort and even though it is considered a poorer district, the PRIDE at the school couldn't be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Parkrose High School is an outstanding school. The overall diversity of the student body creates a sense of excitement. Extra-Curricular activities allow students to demonstrate their full potential. Student Government, Choir, Band and Drama are just a few of the areas that Parkrose students excel in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

This school is amazing, I went there and my grades were always A's. I think the teachers help out really well compared to others schools I have been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2008

Parkrose HS is making all the right decisions to better our community. As a parent of a Parkrose HS student, I am very pleased with the progress made by the current administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

I am very pleased with the education and experience my two children are receiving. We have never had any experience with violence or bullying. Parkrose HS is a small school and our students get a lot of one on one attention. They are being challenged academically and encouraged to love learning. The school leadership is caring and it is obvious that they want the best for our students. Parents are encouraged to work partners is their students education. Our Football team is rebuilding and we have a wonderful new Coach, that has made a lot of difference in our boy's lives. This year our Girls Volleyball team and our Boys and Girls Water Polo teams are all competing in the State Championship. Our new Superintendent is outstanding and she is making a real difference in our school and community. Parkrose HS is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Parkrose High School rocks!! There is cultural diversity topped with a great education in this school. We have some of the best teachers out there and terrific administration. Our Superintendent has made so many changes for the better in the last year that she has been here and there is more to follow. My children love the school for its academics and sports. They are very active in sports because we have winning teams in our school. Water Polo and Volleyball are both heading to State!!! A new coaching staff was hired this year for the football team, reinforcing the administrations dedication to change, and already the positive improvements are immense. We were competetive this year winning 2 games. Our parent group is very involved. Our children feel very safe and love their school and would never think of leaving it. Go Broncos!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Parkrose High School has provided an excellent education for my children. Rigorous courses, dedicated teachers and extra activities such as Model UN and dance team combined in a small school setting equal a top notch education. I am proud to say 'Go Broncos'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Parkrose is a thriving high school with wonderful teachers who care about the students. My child is being challenged on a daily basis in her classes and the teachers offer after school help if needed. This school district is changing for the better and district spirit is high. If you attended any of the athletic events this year you would see how much support the athletic programs are receiving. Parent involvement is on the rise and our new superintendent is just what the school district needed. Her leadership is superior and she is making great changes which are benefiting our students. I am proud my students attend Parkrose and I am proud to be a part of a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Science

2010

 
 
43%
Writing

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female68%
Male60%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial61%
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male81%
African American37%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students52%
Female47%
Male56%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial48%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female59%
Male47%
African American26%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial55%
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 65%
Hispanic 20% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Black 13% 3%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12003 NE Shaver St
Portland, OR 97220
Phone: (503) 408-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Madison High School
Portland, OR


Ace Academy
Portland, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT