Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 416

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rieke Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Our kids came to Rieke mid-year and easily assimilated into their kindergarten and first grade classes. I've been blown away by the teachers, staff and fellow parents at this school. It feels like a big family with amazing support and communication. We are very happy here!

Rieke Elementary School 2

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Disappointing experience. We are leaving the school after moving here a year ago. The teacher seemed overwhelmed by very large class size and not in control. My son is adopted (and not white) and had trouble making friends, which was never a problem in other communities prior to moving here. The teacher told me that the other kids found him "annoying" and he had no friends. But he did little to help him fit in socially. My son spent over a month very ill in the hospital during the school year and we never received a single card, balloon, call, visit etc... from the class, school, community or teacher. Unfortunately his grades plummeted at this school. I met with the teacher and principal but did not feel we received much support or encouragement . My emails often went unanswered. Communication poor. The teacher would actually send home school work which was completely empty/incomplete (unacceptable).


Rieke Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Rieke is a great school. Academically, socially and civic minded team of leaders, educators and parents working collaboratively to grow like minded kids. So pleased to be a part of the Rieke community. This schools energy expands past it's boarders. Kids are great citizens and friends. We switched from private schools and now we are are a part of the neighborhood. We have even become great friends with other parents and it makes weekends, and summer days a blast for all!

Rieke Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
Rieke is really a great little school. The Principal Andrea Porter is a good leader, approachable, and has been on the ball. The teachers are also wonderful! There are many student teachers who rotate into the school year, so though the class size can be high (around 26-30), often there is the established teacher, and a student teacher present, so the kids benefit. The English and math taught is really wonderful, above grade. Though, this may be a negative, the kids do have a lot of homework. The parent support is fabulous. What this means is that a lot of money is brought into the school from the community, they have an extra teacher who "floats" into the classes to support core subjects like Math and English. There is lots of parent support at school trips etc. Rieke is a hidden gem, not too many folks know about it in general, though every year the class size seems to be getting bigger. Again, for a public school, with the resources they currently have, they are thriving!

Rieke Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
A wonderful public school- my kids love it here. Safe, great emphasis on education, and super teachers. The grounds could use some work.


Rieke Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
Though the Rieke grounds are small and in need of updates, the community and staff at Rieke manages year after year to provide a supportive environment and a great education to their kids.

Rieke Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Rieke has an amazing staff, PTA and the best parent involvment I've ever seen! Everyone looks happy to be on campus everyday! Our kids love school!

Rieke Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The high level of parent support and volunteering.


Rieke Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love the sense of community from all the families and teachers. Challenging curriculum, fund raising events and green school initiatives and great kids!

Rieke Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Mary Reike has an incredible staff, wonderful kids and amazing PTA. They go above and beyond being a school, it's a community unto itself that we are all proud of.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rieke Elementary School
1405 SW Vermont, Portland, OR  97219
(503) 916-5768
Last modified Rieke Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rieke Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top