Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abernethy Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

Went there for 6 years and I loved every year. I'm sad to hear that the chef left because she would make the best food.


Posted February 22, 2014

Last week I took my first grade son out of school permanently from Abernathy Elementary. The school appears great from the outside but functions very poorly on the inside. My son was labeled ADHD at the beginning of the year by his teacher because he was messy, had bad handwriting and didn't want to listen to directions and didn't want to sit in his desk. We had him tested and it turns out he is highly gifted and not ADHD at all and the problem is boredom and an apathetic teacher. The principle early on told us that our son couldn't change classes and that we had to deal only with the teacher. The school counselor were fixated on his behavior and wanted to give him fidgets and other devises to "help." Not once were his potential abilities addressed or harnessed. This school has failed up completely from the principle to the teacher to the counselor to the district TAG department. I will never send my son to another Portland public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Please, don't send your kids here. It's too crowded and it will just get worse. Stay in YOUR OWN school district! Make YOUR school an excellent school like the parents here have done. ALL public schools should be desirable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

This safe haven takes it all in stride! 2013....YIKES. ..our Principal leaves...our belover chef goes next. Notice: there will be 500 +k-5 .attending this year ...Did someone say overcrowding?..no room for the library? ....is our music program on? What about the gardening program? Well friends.....Each and every challenge was met with sensible answers. The children are thriving...testing is strong. ..teachers dedication is high....they truly teach every child....and everyone in our community benifits. When you want the best for the children....you focus on the positive solutions !


Posted October 21, 2012

I have been at Abernethy for 12 years as a parent and have nothing but praise for our principal, who most assuredly does not have favorites but does what is best for the whole student body. The teachers that my 4 children have had have been excellent, the level of parental involvement is high, and with so much programming, there is a place for everyone. Working parents ( such as my husband and I) feel very involved in the school and yet are grateful for those parents who may be more involved because the are stay at home parents. Overall a great community in which to raise our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Abernethy is an excellent school overall, with very good teachers and a strong set of programs (Garden of Wonders and Scratch Kitchen) and a supportive parent community. I do not think the negative reviews reflect the academic quality of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This school hasmany problems, especially the administration. There are, and have been, a hand full of ok teachers. The TAG program is a joke and the parents are very clicky---working parents do not have a chance here if you are not 'in' with the quasi vegan-elitists. They are just trying to get through the day and excellence is not a priority. Do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

My son attended Abernethy from kindergarten to fourth grade, and I have to agree with the poor reviewers... As long as you fit the mold and keep your test scores high, you'll do great here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Progressive and creative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

My daughter has been in Abernethy over the last year. I think it's a very good school. Her curriculum is challenging, the school and classroom are organized, the PTA is heavily involved and supportive, and the princpal provides good, strong, leadership. I am also impressed with the music instruction. Great school, all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Wow, I have two children at Abernethy and have been really pleased. The parental support is amazing and the teachers and principal great to work with. The parent community raised over $150,000 last year and we will now fund full-time music instruction, our librarian and a wellness specialist for the school garden and scratch kitchen. A very find neighborhood school in the classic tradition: education for the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I believe the poor reviews below were based upon individual circumstances. I have had the opposite experience. Abernethy is a wonderful neighborhood school, with strong parental and community support! There are many extra curricular programs (spanish, music, art, winter weeks classes, et.). The principal is a strong leader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

My kids did very well at Abernethy. The school is well funded, with extra programs not available at other P.P.S. schools. Such as: music, track, art, the Garden of Wonders program. This school is pioneering the 'Farm-to-School' lunch program where they cook from scratch and the kids learn about nutrition and where the food comes from. Two schools in this area were closed by the district and blended into the Abernethy building and community. The principal has demonstrated impressive skills as administrator. The school is vibrant and busy and very well organized. My kids have had enjoyed their teachers and excelled in their studies. The school is a beautiful old brick building under giant elm trees. There is a fine play structure and plenty of covered outdoor play space for rainy days. Out back, is a huge green field and baseball backstop. This school has a lot to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

I agree completely with the other 2 reviews I read, the principal is difficult to work with and unwilling to meet individual student needs. It's all about the test scores and favoratism. If you have enough money and pull your child will be treated better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

I would not recommend this school to anyone who would like to feel included in their child's education. Conformity is the mission of this school. The Principal, in particular, treated our family with disdain because we raised some general school concerns at PTA meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

My son attended Abernethy for 1st & 2nd grade (2002-2004), his older sister also attended for 2 years before that (4th & 5th). With the exception of a few very wonderful teachers, I have nothing but very bad things to say about this school. The principal is the main problem & the little cliquish PTA crown who insist on kissing up to her at every turn! Unless you fit the mold at this school (well off, stay home mom, etc) be prepared to have a hard time here. And sadly, that will carry over to your child as well. This school is all about appearances. As long as everything looks good on the outside, nothing is wrong! My son's education suffered so badly that we finally left the state & now I am homeschooling him!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female85%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female93%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted94%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 65%
Hispanic 5% 21%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2421 SE Orange Ave
Portland, OR 97214
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-6190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Living School
Portland, OR


Winterhaven School
Portland, OR


Village Free School
Portland, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT