Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ainsworth Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
The parents are cliquish and elitist snobs don t bother socializing unless you can bring your trust fund. The school is filled with instructors and administrators who also act elitist and entitled. The school psychologist admitted to "letting down" our child and allowed him to be bullied. My child's teacher once told his class that he (who has a learning disability) had a "different brain" and from that moment forward no one would socialize with him even though he is extremely social and sweet. Disgusting lack of empathy and confidentiality. *RUN* don't walk away from this school unless your sweetie is perfect in every single way (and I when I say "perfect" I mean a drone of the system who is already well learned and non-unique). Scary, institutionalized education with closed-minded educators and administrators.

Ainsworth Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
This school has allowed us as parents, to be harassed for being disabled, parking in a space that was " allegedly" purchased. I find this interesting, as all of the spaces are owned by the City of Portland. Not only were we berated in front of the school, there were children present. Then our complaint was presented to the parents, whom are continually harassing us. This school is great if your're one of the elite, which we are not.


Ainsworth Elementary School 2

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Meh. Very mixed bag with teachers... some are good, some are really awful. Lots of worksheets. Rigid old-school, top-down desks-in-a-row style and rules. The culture is friendly enough, but there is a distinct divide between neighborhood and non-neighborhood families. No sense that this is intentional, just reality. If you aren't a member of the MAC nor have the ability to hire tutors to supplement what your kids aren't getting in class, then this may not be the place for you. Despite our child going there for a couple of years, we never felt this was "our" school. If we could do a do-over, we would have never enrolled our kid here. Spanish program is a plus, but unfortunately over-rated too.

Ainsworth Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
Ainsworth has provided my child with a phenomenal education. The teachers have provided projects can be modified for children of different aptitudes so that everyone is challenged. The amount of tailored teaching has been impressive, although it does depend on the teacher and we have been very lucky. The kids adore their teachers, including the "specials" teachers in art, music, PE, and the school counselor who works on responsibility and relationship skills with the lower grades. A highly involved parent community makes many wonderful extras possible, like the science fair, the art fair, the talent show, the 3rd grade musical, etc. This is a community with high expectations and a love for learning, just the atmosphere you would want your child to be in.

Ainsworth Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2010
- a community member
How many public schools will prepare their students for the globalizing world by offering bilingual education. I graduated from Ainsworth's Spanish Immersion program and have not yet heard of anything similar. My friends and graduated with a truly unique, invaluable experience. I remember parent involvement being great and the unusually diverse spanish speaking and international staff of teachers cannot be overlooked.


Ainsworth Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ainsworth Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
Ainsworth did what any Elementary school should do, it made our kids love learning and love going to school. Art, music and PE are valued to create a well rounded curriculum and the Spanish Immersion program is wonderful if you can get in. It is a K-12 program that really challenges the students.

Ainsworth Elementary School 3

Posted January 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ainsworth Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2006
- a student
My child, Alix, learned more than she would've in any other school in Portland at Ainsworth. Parents are involved, teachers go with what's best for the students, and the students' behavior is excellent. Things that Ainsworth is notable for include its Spanish Immersion Program, the fifth grade Samba band, the spectacular writing curriculum, and the responsibility of all students.

Ainsworth Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2006
- a parent
Ainsworth is one of the wealthiest schools in Portland. The parents can be 'clique-ish', but they are very involved. The Buckaroo Carnival is a great event each year. The Spanish Immersion program is awesome, but it is by lottery. The school is located in an old historic school house with added 'portables' - we've been very happy with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ainsworth Elementary School
2425 SW Vista Ave, Portland, OR  97201
(503) 916-6288
Last modified Ainsworth Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ainsworth Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top