Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Astor Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
I can not say enough nice things about Astor School. The educators are all friendly, the office staff and leadership are always willing to help with even the smallest issues, and there is a great group of involved parents. People are smiling here. I like that. I feel as a parent that we really lucked out getting such a well adjusted group of people coming together to help our young ones grow. I would recommend Astor to any of my friends, and to you too!

Astor Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
The kids at Astor are not safe! My kids are bullied there and the principal does nothing to keep them safe! The principles name and is Karl Newsome he will not protect your children. There's not any rules for the anti bullying I'm pulling my children out of the school and reporting the principle for child endangerment. This is not OK!!!


Astor Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Your children are not safe at this school! There's a violence and bullying problem here and the principle does not protect the children!!!

Astor Elementary School 3

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
I am pulling my child out of Astor because of a bullying problem. It has gone on for two and a half years now, and I can't wait any longer for it to get better. My child dreads going to school each day. Please note that we have a different principal now in the 2011-12 school year. He is very nice and has a lot of experience, but the bullying among kids continues. I don't think the school has a strong program of anti-bullying education in the elementary grades. My other child is in the middle school and is having a better experience.

Astor Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
My daughter was attending one of Portland's charter schools and it was a total nightmare. I felt better about the two days of shadowing and communication prior to my daughter even beginning at Astor than I did in the two years she spent at the other school. These people are responsive, proactive, compassionate and they really love the kids and the school. I couldn't be more excited and my daughter is the happiest she's been in two years.


Astor Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
My children grades 4 & 5 just transferred into Astor from a low scoring out of state school. I was concerned about one of my children who was previously in Sped Math at her last school. When registering my kids at Astor, I voiced my concern to the principal about her slipping further behind. I was not prepared for his response. He stated 'no child in Astor gets left behind'... how great is that???!! I left feeling like every child, especially my child's education was important. So far, I love Astor!

Astor Elementary School 3

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
Astor is an amazing school. The principal is outstanding; he's attentive, involved and intelligent. The teachers seem equally committed. Where the school seems to fall short is in preparing its 5th graders for 6th grade. Astor has a system where the 4th graders keep the same teacher through 5th; this is to provide continuity as they prepare for junior high. That's great, but we're in the 2nd semester and my child has brought home several assignments she already did in the 4th grade. There doesn't seem to have been any bump in the coursework. Her class seems to be coasting along, doing work at the same level they did last year. My daughter has several friends in 6th grade, and these friends and their parents have had real struggles with the demands of 6th grade. 6th grade curriculum isn't too hard; 5th is just not challenging enough.

Astor Elementary School 3

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
Astor is an amazing school. The principal is attentive, involved and intelligent. The teachers seem equally committed. Where the school seems to fall short is in preparing its 5th graders for 6th grade. Astor has a system where the 4th graders keep the same teacher through 5th; this is to provide continuity as they prepare for junior high. That's great, but we're in the 2nd semester and my child has brought home several assignments she already did in the 4th grade. There doesn't seem to have been any bump in the coursework. Her class seems to be coasting along, doing work at the same level they did last year. My daughter has several friends in 6th grade, and these friends and their parents have had real struggles with the demands of 6th grade. 6th grade isn't too hard; 5th is just not challenging enough. They need to give this area some attention.


Astor Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2010
- a parent
We sadly moved away from the area and my son no longer attended Astor. However, due to Astor being so amazing, we are moving back so he can attend again. The staff is amazing, the Principal is awesome and the teachers are exceptional!

Astor Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
My kids attended Bridger for two years before coming to Astor. This school has made a tremendous difference in their reading, math and behavior. Our kids have become active learners and I credit the good and talented staff at this school for this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Astor Elementary School
5601 North Yale St, Portland, OR  97203
(503) 916-6244
Last modified Astor Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Astor Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews.