Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beach Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 562 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

I would not put this at the top of the list for good schools My daughter is constantly getting exposure to swear words fights in the hallways and she has been bullied several times but The teachers are good they care about the kids and they are concerned about the environment the principal of 2013-14 was not encouraging not concerned about the environment she doesn't let the kids have a creative outlet They didn't even have a music class a choir or a band or drama if there was a list of ten good schools I'd put beach on a completely different list (poor schools).


Posted September 27, 2013

My daughter is in kindergarten and I like the fact the the staffs are very nice with positive attitude. I don't like the fact that during my meeting with my daughters teacher she mention that the water at this school is dirty and prefer my daughter bring her own water bottle. Which is understandable but if there is something wrong with the water the should try to get that fix. (I think) so here is the other thing that is such a disturbance to me, I don't understand why daughter has to walk herself to class because where my daughters class is located its not gated or Secured. The are ppl out in the field walking and playing with their dog. I just think that if its school open hours no one should be there other than staff and students. And I understand my daughter is not in the Spanish immersion class but why do the non Spanish immersion kindergarten have to walk themselves to class and the Spanish immersion kindergarten students wait in the cafeteria until their teacher arrive to walk together as a group to their class room. I don't understand why the non Spanish immersion teachers do that as well. I'm a mother that looks looking out for her daughters safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I just would like to say that our relationship with Beach School has been a bitter sweet one. I am glad that next year 12/13 will be my son's last year at this school beacuse he will be in 9th grade. Mr. Breuckman had to have been the best principal for this school. I really miss having him around. He was in tuned with the school, staff, parents and most important the students. Not every child is made for the immersion program at this school and it seems that Rebecca Torres is pushing that this school to become completely bilingual. She is going away with teachers & teacher assistants that have been at Beach school for 15 plus years. My child as well as many others have grown with many of these assistants and they have proved theirselves to be an important part of the Beach community. Many beneficial programs are being canceled for absolutely no reason at all. The Suzuki program was canceled per Rebecca Torres- The parents were very unhappy with this desicion. The PTA has raised $9,000 dolalrs and Beach has purchased computers for the students and the computers are locked in the VP office, For what?? What good are the computers going to be if there not accessible to the kids?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

My son has been in this school since Kindergarten and has done wonderfully. The staff is great and the programs are wonderful. Wish they had more after school programs, larger library and more playground equipment but it is still a great school. I highly recommend this school for all students grades pre-K to 8th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

My son started this school as a kindergartener. This was one of the top schools to choose from in this area, but I now realize it is very poor in comparison to schools right across the river in Vancouver, or especially Camas. My son is gifted and my husband and I assumed this school, with all its ratings would be great. Unfortunately, this is not the case. With a very low soceoeconomic status, frusterated and underfunded teachers and a rough population of students, this school would be great if your child has grown up very street smart, but my son is constantly bullied and the teachers or staff has yet to resolve these issues. My son has gone from loving his day care learning program for years to "hating" school and struggling emotionally. We are transfering to the Vancouver or Camas areas as soon as possible so my son can be in a school that has funding, multiple language and arts opportunities, reimbursed teachers along with an educated student population. I am not impressed, as we had researched and had high expectations for this learning environment. Regretfully, Dr. Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

New and excellent principal - great immersion program and a suzuki violin program for the community school- dedicated teachers and very high community involvement and catchment rate- it's amazing


Posted April 19, 2010

A great immersion program and a very diverse student body


Posted April 4, 2009

What, i'm in the school at least once a week and i could not disagree more with the previous post. I have two kids in this school. The principal of this school is fantastic!! she has built the spanish program into something that is really great and is really easy to talk to. She really seems to understand kids. She has always been there when i had a question or any problems with what was going on for eithr of my kids. Also the teachers are really great. I am soo lucky to be able to send my kids to this school! keep up the great work beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

I think the principal is a very big part of the problem at Beach. If leadership is this poor, how are good teachers expected to do their jobs let alone stay at the the school for long. We love the diversity on all levels. But the principal makes it nearly impossible to fully embrace the school. She sets the tone and her lack of leadership shows in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

The teachers and staff are excellent, I can't say the same about the principal. I have only had an opportunity to speak to her once and it was not a good experience. Till then I have not even seen her at all around the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Our children are known by their name by all staff and teachers at Beach. They are receiving a strong education. Parent support and volunteer is high. Extra-curricular activities are offered. The dual-language program has equipped our children to be bilingual, further enhancing their future employment opportunities. We love this school and are incredibly thankful for the faculty that invest their lives and talent into the lives of the children entrusted to their care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Beach is rapidly improving, due to increased parent involvement. Staff is responding to efforts, and soon this school will be tops. The staff is engaged and caring, and assessment scores climb each year. My child loves the Dual Immersion program. Despite lack of decent immersion teaching materials on the market, the program stands on the strength of its teachers. Beach has a daily need for helpers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

Beach has a very good Spanish immersion program. You have to apply to get in & then there is a lottery. Community involvment has really improved over the last few years. I wish that more community parents & parents of color would attend PTA meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

True, Beach has a dual immersion program but it was never offered to my child when I enrolled her 4 years ago. There is a lack of community with the school in entirety at Beach School, the community only exists within the Dual Immersion program which pretty much has control and reign over the school. Now with the district taking away choices (by closing down schools) of where we can place our children without driving an unacceptable amount of miles we have no choice but to go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Beach is now a PreK-8th school with an excellent Spanish dual immersion program complementing the already strong neighborhood program. The school is strong academically along with having a diverse student body and a principal working hard to make sure all kids at Beach achieve academic excellence. The principal, teachers, staff and parents encourage you to come and check us out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

Beach Elementary has a dual Language program that is outstanding! There is a waiting list to get into the school. The teachers at this school truly love their students at least two members of the staff have either taken in students in need or adapted them. The principal has picked-up students from their home and driven them to school when they had no other way of getting to school. The building is old and in need of repair, but the school district likes this school so much that they are expanding its enrollment and closing other schools in the neighborhood. You would be blessed to have your children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female60%
Male69%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted89%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female60%
Male66%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male70%
African American22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners63%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male63%
African American22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners38%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female55%
Male73%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female60%
Male86%
African American>=95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted86%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female55%
Male77%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted93%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female46%
Male52%
African American15%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female56%
Male48%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female75%
Male64%
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female82%
Male68%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female58%
Male50%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female68%
Male50%
African American89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female42%
Male58%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 21%
White 35% 65%
Black 17% 3%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (503) 916-2315

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1710 North Humboldt St
Portland, OR 97217
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-6236

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trillium
Portland, OR


Ockley Green
Portland, OR





Trinity Academy
Portland, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT