Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Capitol Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

Our son goes to the kindergarten class in Capitol Hill. We are very happy about the school. He is enjoying it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

I love the diversity in this school, both in students and the type of curriculum. There's a great balance of typical reading, writing, math, along with art, active times, and extracurricular options. My daughter gets daily exposure to music, arts and the computer lab, and she just started weekly yoga and Spanish sessions. In addition, the teachers are very qualified and compassionate, always available to talk. I feel great about our choice to send her to Capitol Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Capitol Hill is an excellent grade school. Our son is in kindergarten and the teacher is super fabulous. The the kids are motivated and the community is very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Capitol Hill has an amazing level of parent involvement. The PTA accomplishes a lot that the district's budget cuts have left undone. Last year their fundraising upgraded the computer lab and provided tablets for each kid in the upper grades to take advantage of the new bumper crop of tablet-based learning programs that can be purchased for pennies. The PTA had the vision to see what resources kids in the future will need to succeed. However, the administration and especially the teachers have been really impressive! My daughter is on her 3rd year here and has loved each teacher she has, especially her latest who plans in movement and yoga breaks during class to stimulate blood flow and focus in the kids. She has really thrived in this calm and drama-free learning environment where she is able to work directly with her teacher and in small groups, and has always felt like her questions have been answered. She's been to 3 different schools in PPS since starting in Kindergarten, and I can finally say we've hit upon a winner with Capitol Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

Really a marveous environment for little learners. My three children have starkly different needs, and the school met those needs. Principal was responsive the few times I had a 'crisis' during our ten years there, always took a kid-first approach. Staff is fantastic. Also, kids were well prepared. Oldest is cleaning up in high school, in all advanced courses, littlest has taken to middle school and is a very strong student now as well (school was 'not going to be her thing', she told me). Great prep for an academic career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

My daught attends the Capital Hill School. I think its success is mostly due to the partcipation and involvment of the parents in school. The parents volunteer in various activities which in turn makes thier involvement an even more positive element in the success of the school. It offers great activities for the students. This is no brainer and has been found by various educators who know that the more parents are involved in thier childrens' education, the more the education is successful. The school in its part has done a good job of getting parents to participate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

I have two daughters at the this school. Teachers are great, principal is great, and most of all the parents are so involved. I can't say enough good things about Capitol Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

Capitol Hill is one of the most amazing places. Huge parent involvement and a bunch of nice, eager to learn kids. I can't say enough about the awesome teachers. My kids come home loving school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

It has provided a challenging atmosphere for my gifted granddaughter.


Posted October 3, 2010

This school is outstanding at meeting the needs of all kids--we have especially loved how they can meet the needs of both special ed and TAG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

Our school is terrific- 5 starts
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2010

Parent and teacher support, and a great Principal, make Capitol Hill a "great place to grow"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Great teachers, supportive & helpful administrative staff, caring parent classroom helpers, and fantastic community involvement in the school. I am so pleased that my children attend Capitol Hill Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Great community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

The teachers and staff are so dedicated to the students and their education. They instill in our children a desire to learn and to give back to the community. They identify the skills and needs of the children and tailor the assignments appropriately. It is an amazing place and my daughter has thrived at the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

My son attends the school and I also attended it as a child. The school is very supportive of the students and all his teachers have been great. The Principle is the best Principle that I have worked with as she is very involved with the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

The community here is very involved in providing a full and enriched curriculum to all students. They are committed to providing support to help insure all students meet achievement potentials. We enable our students to learn in a safe and nurturing environment where every student is told they matter. We rally to provide a broad array of fundraisers to pay for the programs that our culture believes support our goals. Without the huge amount of volunteerism, our incredible,experienced, flexible and highly qualified staff could not perform at their peak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Both my children attend this great community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Great school with great parental involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Capitol Hill ES is wonderful because of the quality of its teachers & staff and the involvement of the parents. Everyone is always striving to improve the school and the principal is open to listening to new ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female93%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Reading

All Students84%
Female93%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female80%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female87%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female82%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted93%
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 65%
Hispanic 8% 21%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Black 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8401 SW 17th Ave
Portland, OR 97219
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-6303

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Clare School
Portland, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT