Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Our son goes to the kindergarten class in Capitol Hill. We are very happy about the school. He is enjoying it!

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
I love the diversity in this school, both in students and the type of curriculum. There's a great balance of typical reading, writing, math, along with art, active times, and extracurricular options. My daughter gets daily exposure to music, arts and the computer lab, and she just started weekly yoga and Spanish sessions. In addition, the teachers are very qualified and compassionate, always available to talk. I feel great about our choice to send her to Capitol Hill.


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Capitol Hill is an excellent grade school. Our son is in kindergarten and the teacher is super fabulous. The the kids are motivated and the community is very supportive.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Capitol Hill has an amazing level of parent involvement. The PTA accomplishes a lot that the district's budget cuts have left undone. Last year their fundraising upgraded the computer lab and provided tablets for each kid in the upper grades to take advantage of the new bumper crop of tablet-based learning programs that can be purchased for pennies. The PTA had the vision to see what resources kids in the future will need to succeed. However, the administration and especially the teachers have been really impressive! My daughter is on her 3rd year here and has loved each teacher she has, especially her latest who plans in movement and yoga breaks during class to stimulate blood flow and focus in the kids. She has really thrived in this calm and drama-free learning environment where she is able to work directly with her teacher and in small groups, and has always felt like her questions have been answered. She's been to 3 different schools in PPS since starting in Kindergarten, and I can finally say we've hit upon a winner with Capitol Hill.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
Really a marveous environment for little learners. My three children have starkly different needs, and the school met those needs. Principal was responsive the few times I had a 'crisis' during our ten years there, always took a kid-first approach. Staff is fantastic. Also, kids were well prepared. Oldest is cleaning up in high school, in all advanced courses, littlest has taken to middle school and is a very strong student now as well (school was 'not going to be her thing', she told me). Great prep for an academic career.


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
My daught attends the Capital Hill School. I think its success is mostly due to the partcipation and involvment of the parents in school. The parents volunteer in various activities which in turn makes thier involvement an even more positive element in the success of the school. It offers great activities for the students. This is no brainer and has been found by various educators who know that the more parents are involved in thier childrens' education, the more the education is successful. The school in its part has done a good job of getting parents to participate

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
I have two daughters at the this school. Teachers are great, principal is great, and most of all the parents are so involved. I can't say enough good things about Capitol Hill.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
Capitol Hill is one of the most amazing places. Huge parent involvement and a bunch of nice, eager to learn kids. I can't say enough about the awesome teachers. My kids come home loving school.


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2010
- a community member
It has provided a challenging atmosphere for my gifted granddaughter.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2010
- a parent
This school is outstanding at meeting the needs of all kids--we have especially loved how they can meet the needs of both special ed and TAG.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capitol Hill Elementary School
8401 SW 17th Ave, Portland, OR  97219
(503) 916-6303
Last modified Capitol Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Capitol Hill Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top