Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Capitol Hill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Merrill inspires the kids to want to learn and makes school a positive place

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Parents are involved, teachers care, and the kids are having fun while learning about a variety of topics. Very much a community.


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a 4th generation Capitol Hill student and the school was, and still is as amazing as it was when I was a student. Wonderful staff, PTA, students, and community.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 3

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at Capitol Hill. We read great reviews prior to attending. Our daughter is in first great and unfortunately this has not been the best experience. The class size is 32 per 1 very overwhelmed teacher who seems quite tight and agitated. The curriculum is less than engaging, has little spark that would instill a sense of passion for learning.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Our son goes to the kindergarten class in Capitol Hill. We are very happy about the school. He is enjoying it!


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Capitol Hill is an excellent grade school. Our son is in kindergarten and the teacher is super fabulous. The the kids are motivated and the community is very supportive.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Capitol Hill has an amazing level of parent involvement. The PTA accomplishes a lot that the district's budget cuts have left undone. Last year their fundraising upgraded the computer lab and provided tablets for each kid in the upper grades to take advantage of the new bumper crop of tablet-based learning programs that can be purchased for pennies. The PTA had the vision to see what resources kids in the future will need to succeed. However, the administration and especially the teachers have been really impressive! My daughter is on her 3rd year here and has loved each teacher she has, especially her latest who plans in movement and yoga breaks during class to stimulate blood flow and focus in the kids. She has really thrived in this calm and drama-free learning environment where she is able to work directly with her teacher and in small groups, and has always felt like her questions have been answered. She's been to 3 different schools in PPS since starting in Kindergarten, and I can finally say we've hit upon a winner with Capitol Hill.

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
Really a marveous environment for little learners. My three children have starkly different needs, and the school met those needs. Principal was responsive the few times I had a 'crisis' during our ten years there, always took a kid-first approach. Staff is fantastic. Also, kids were well prepared. Oldest is cleaning up in high school, in all advanced courses, littlest has taken to middle school and is a very strong student now as well (school was 'not going to be her thing', she told me). Great prep for an academic career.


Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2012
- a community member
I just finished 5th grade and it was a great experience the teachers are so kind and understanding most of the kids are really nice. I love Capitol Hill i wish i didn't have to leave!

Capitol Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
My daught attends the Capital Hill School. I think its success is mostly due to the partcipation and involvment of the parents in school. The parents volunteer in various activities which in turn makes thier involvement an even more positive element in the success of the school. It offers great activities for the students. This is no brainer and has been found by various educators who know that the more parents are involved in thier childrens' education, the more the education is successful. The school in its part has done a good job of getting parents to participate

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capitol Hill Elementary School
8401 SW 17th Ave, Portland, OR  97219
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (503) 916-6303
Last modified Capitol Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top