Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chief Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
My first grader spent four years at Childpeace Montessori and then a couple months at Portland Village School before enrolling at Chief Joseph at the beginning of this calendar year. He is a kid with challenges and his experiences at school up to this point were of failure, punishment and administrative ineptitude. I just can't say enough good stuff about Chief Joseph. The principal is engaged, charismatic and successful in inspiring both kids and parents to their best. The teachers we've had experience with are experienced, skilled, compassionate and successful. Our child came in reading below grade level and he has advanced three reading levels in four months. More importantly, there is a cohesive team there that supports him and makes sure he has the opportunity for success and happiness there.

Chief Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
My child is excelling in the reading program there. The principal is engaged and the parent involvement is superb.


Chief Joseph Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Chief Joseph is a great school! We have a very involved PTA, principle, teachers, and staff.

Chief Joseph Elementary School 1

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chief Joseph Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
It really is a jewel of the north! A small school with dedicated, supportive teachers.


Chief Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chief Joseph Elementary School 3

Posted July 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chief Joseph Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 16, 2008
- a parent
This school a wonderful. My daughter has been at Chief Joseph for two years and is already reading chapter books- in kindergarten. The teachers care about each and every student and many volunteer their time for after school programs.


Chief Joseph Elementary School 3

Posted June 19, 2006
- a parent
Academic programs could be a lot stronger.

Chief Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chief Joseph Elementary School
2409 North Saratoga St, Portland, OR  97217
(503) 916-6255
Last modified Chief Joseph Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chief Joseph Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top