Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Duniway Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
We're new to this school this year and we couldn't be happier. It's a great mix of academics, creativity and community support. We've been to three different schools and this school is definitely the best of the best. I would highly recommend it!

Duniway Elementary School 3

Posted January 29, 2013
- a community member
Meh. Not bad and not good. I am a graduate, and I was there from kindergarten through fifth grade. It was often to easy, and academics were to focused. Although there is a band and art, the programs are not good. Although the principal I had from kindergarten through fourth grade was out of touch, the one I had for fifth grade seemed to mess the school up. Not many kids or parents loved that principal.


Duniway Elementary School 3

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
Overall Duniway is a good school. Both my kids seem to like Duniway a lot and are happy going to school there. Strengths: solid community support and involvement, spacious school learning environment (doesn't feel overcrowded), great parent led art program, environmental awareness and green principles being put into action (especially in the cafeteria). Weaknesses: Out of touch principal (due to retire this year), a few burned out teachers (who really should consider retiring), too much focus put on academics and test scores, slightly entitled parents (with means) who seem power hungry and at times overly opinionated (a small minority). All and all a good school who has not yet come into it's own. With strong, supportive management Duniway just may have the right ingredients to make it great.

Duniway Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Duniway Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Duniway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
Duniway has many things going for it - chiefly among them are the parental involvement, excellent teachers, and highly cohesive community. The weak link at Duniway is the principal who does not advocate for teachers or parents and does not even seem to understand their concerns, quite honestly.

Duniway Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2008
- a parent
A major reason we moved to the Eastmoreland neighborhood was so our kids could attend Duniway, and we have no regrets. Our kids have a positive impression of school as a place where they will learn, be creative, have fun, be challenged, be respected, and be recognized and cared for by the school community. I have spent time in numerous schools throughout PPS and the neighboring David Douglas District as a part of my job, and although Duniway may have some equals among them, I can think of none that supercede it. The teachers we have had welcome parent participation, are interested in knowing about my child and family beyond the walls of the classroom, and have approached me procatively when they noticed learning issues in my child that needed evaluation and accomodation. The parent community is amazingly involved, and really makes the school exceptional.

Duniway Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
We've found the teachers and parent involvement to be great. Overall we've been very happy with Duniway. However, in my experience the principal isn't very interested in listening to comments and suggestions from parents.


Duniway Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
I have a first grader at Duniway and have been pleasantly surprised by the attention/nurturing he has received. The communication from his teacher has been stellar and I feel that he is developing a real love of learning. While there have been a lot of asks for fundraisers that we have been unable to participate in, I have never felt pressured to do more than we are able. Overall, I am very happy with the school.

Duniway Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
We have had 2 kids at Duniway, one still there. We've had highs and lows during those 8 years, but on the whole the school has offered our kids an excellent and often inspired experience. Many of the teachers would stand out in any school, public or private. It is a welcoming and accessible parent community. The school foundation funds some teaching positions, which is a parent-funded luxury in a public school. But it is fundamental academic achievement and parent involvement that drives the school's reputation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Duniway Elementary School
7700 SE Reed College Place, Portland, OR  97202
(503) 916-6343
Last modified Duniway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Duniway Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.