Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
The Odyssey Program is THE BEST THANK YOU IT IS SO HECKING RAD I LOVE THIS PLACE and who writes those lame reviews are just middle schoolers who are mad at the world. 678 is the best middle school ever!!!! Highly recommend the Odyssey Program.

Hayhurst Elementary School 2

Posted November 29, 2014
- a community member
I go to the odyssey program and i am in 8th grade and lemme just say that the agendas are pointless. you do NOT get any say in your team and the captains do all the work and leave you to rot in the dust when test time comes. brings to much stress home with work and writing focuses and the constant essays


Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
What a great school! Especial the Odyssey Program. All my kids in Odyssey. They have great time learning, enjoying friendship with other kids, and participating all the activities. The parents' community and their supports are amazing. Also the teachers ans staffs are awesome.

Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a teacher
Hayhurst School is a great place....one school with two programs! The blend of support, structure, and relationship makes this a great school! It's a happy, family community!

Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
I have two children who currently attend Hayhurst. My older child has attended Hayhurst since he attended kindergarten, he has one final year and will be moving on to middle school. My younger child is starting 2nd grade this year. Both children have thoroughly enjoyed their teachers, and they are very good at what they do and focus on the kids as individuals. The Hayhurst community is very close knit. My younger child required a bit more attention to literacy and his teacher helped identify what help could be applied and what was/is available.


Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
2013-2014 school year will be my second year experience with Hayhurst elementary. My family and I live a few blocks away which makes for excellent start and finish to my sons school day since we get the opportunity to walk or bike. The Hayhurst neighborhood has been very warm and inviting and that spills over into the elementary school as well. The staff and parents pull together to make the best of what they have to offer, all done with a smile. The front entrance almost always has the principal greeting the children/ parents before school and after, which has been a nice touch. We have been very pleased with how our son is progressing academically and look forward to a new year of academic discoveries.

Hayhurst Elementary School 4

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
Hayhurst is Great Neighborhood School!! My Son was a Kindergartener last year in Mrs. LeRoy's classroom. He learned to read and write, he made many new friends throughout the school, and he had FUN!! Ms. Froelich is the best principal I have ever encountered - She meets and greets every child, by NAME, every morning, rain or shine as they enter the school. Even with a magnet program on site, every kid is respected and held to a high standard of respect for one another. I am very pleased to live in a large city and find such a wonderful community in my child's school. Hayhurst is Awesome, not unlike it's namesake.

Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
We have been so happy with Hayhurst. I have a spirited genius as a student and the teachers have worked to engage him and stimulate him without piling on the "busywork". The principal greets the students and parents everyday. The PTA and administration has done a wonderful job creating a state of the art computer lab, as well as a flagship PE program. This multi-faceted approach has been so beneficial to our student and our family, I am getting a little misty as I write this. Due to cuts in public funding and the massive overhead at the district level, my goal would be to create an environment to get more parents in the classrooms at Hayhurst and throughout the Portland Public School system.


Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
Staff is very good, Principal is great and the neighborhood families make this school a hidden gem. Can't wait for my second kid to start Hayhurst this year.

Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Hayhurst Neighborhood Program exceeded my expectations. The teachers in The Neighborhood program are talented. They are experienced and motivated to make a difference. My child entered kindergarten knowing his letters and some phonetics. He ended his kinder year reading at the second grade level!!!! He was so proud of himself ;) And so was I. Additionally, I am grateful to be part of such a sincere and fun parent community. The more I began to volunteer (in the classroom, field trips, or simple shifts for various all school events), the more I became connected with like minded parents. Our kids come first, but we also want to have a good time supporting them in the process. Hayhurst Neighborhood School is exactly that!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hayhurst Elementary School
5037 SW Iowa St, Portland, OR  97221
(503) 916-6300
Last modified Hayhurst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hayhurst Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top