Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hayhurst Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
I feel this school gives an ordinary amount of homework. Then again, I feel that most public schools in this area don't give near enough homework.

Hayhurst Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Your child is either going to learn to hang in there in this program, or consistently feel like they are not cared about at all. If your child naturally has that tendency, it will definitely bring it out. But if not, it will not develop or foster it at all.


Hayhurst Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Respect is something that should be initially given, but not always continue to be given. An individuals actions and attitudes should go a long way in retaining that respect. They teach the initial respect, but it's expected to be continuously given, regardless of whether the recipient should continue to receive it or not.

Hayhurst Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
It's typical to see cliques form in all levels of education. While the small class sizes seem to create a closer environment among the students, it also allows a larger block of the student population to band together to hide undesirable behavior towards other students. Also, the program relies so heavily on parental involvement, that undesirable behavior among the adult volunteers is almost always overlooked or ignored. This does little to engender empathy among the students.

Hayhurst Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
I would say that it develops a form of integrity, but I have seen too many situations where honesty and fairness fall by the wayside, all in the name of the "team". If there are issues with the team captain or co-captain, some strides are taken to assist the situation, but the captains are rarely (if ever) removed from their positions if problems can't be resolved.


Hayhurst Elementary School 3

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
I have three children who have attended the Odyssey program with very mixed feelings. We kept them in the program because we saw their ability to digest written information grow by leaps and bounds. While they still lack spelling abilities that should be ingrained in them by this point, they can read material and write a very informed, highly intelligent discourse on practically any subject. Their math and science skills coming out of the program were less than satisfactory, in my opinion, but the two oldest are doing well in high school, when they apply themselves. We had several issues with the team concept and they were never really resolved, my children just managed to turn in enough work to pass the class, but were extraordinarily unhappy and frustrated for most of the year when those problems were occurring. The staff was not very open to any attempts at correcting the situations, other than placing my children on independent study. We also had some severe problems with the founder of the program, who is currently a volunteer, and as such, is not subject to any sort of discipline. I have such mixed feelings about the program that I can't say that I really recommend it, but seeing how accomplished my high schoolers are, I can't really not recommend it either. I guess I'll have to wait and see how my youngest does as we transfer to another school district.

Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
The Odyssey Program is THE BEST THANK YOU IT IS SO HECKING RAD I LOVE THIS PLACE and who writes those lame reviews are just middle schoolers who are mad at the world. 678 is the best middle school ever!!!! Highly recommend the Odyssey Program.

Hayhurst Elementary School 2

Posted November 29, 2014
- a community member
I go to the odyssey program and i am in 8th grade and lemme just say that the agendas are pointless. you do NOT get any say in your team and the captains do all the work and leave you to rot in the dust when test time comes. brings to much stress home with work and writing focuses and the constant essays


Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
What a great school! Especial the Odyssey Program. All my kids in Odyssey. They have great time learning, enjoying friendship with other kids, and participating all the activities. The parents' community and their supports are amazing. Also the teachers ans staffs are awesome.

Hayhurst Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a teacher
Hayhurst School is a great place....one school with two programs! The blend of support, structure, and relationship makes this a great school! It's a happy, family community!

Nearby schools

Hayhurst Elementary School
5037 SW Iowa St, Portland, OR  97221
(503) 916-6300
Last modified Hayhurst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top