Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hosford Middle School 3

Posted April 07, 2016
- a student
I've been a student at Hosford for almost 3 years now. Unfortunately, a lot of bullying happens, and staff don't make it a priority to stop it. With that being said, the school does have its advantages. The school offers a decent amount of unique electives and after school classes. Hosford has a good, but not great education. I personally found that as you got into 7th and especially 8th grade, you got more experienced teachers that had better control of their students. The biggest issue about the school is how it deals with discipline. This is not really the school's fault, it's the district's, but it still reflects very negatively on the school. Apparently the district told Hosford to limit the amount of disciplinary referrals it gave, because, "it didn't look good on the records." Now, kids can get away with almost anything. They may get talked to, but chances are they won't get a referral. This issue happened mostly in 6th grade, but got better over time. This is because the students became more laid back, and teachers were more experienced as I mentioned earlier. I would personally not recommend the school to sensitive kids due to the bullying and disciplinary issues.

Hosford Middle School 1

Posted March 23, 2016
- a community member
I pulled my son out of Hosford after 4 months. I don't think it's completely the schools fault for being so beyond terrible, I believe a lot has to do with the massive growth of Portland and that the school hasn't been able to catch up. Overall I found the bulling and the complacency by the adults to be the most upsetting. If your child is empathetic or sensitive stay as far away from this school as possible. I will not be having my younger child go there and feel like a sucker for buying a house in this school district. Do yourself a favor and avoid the tears and frustration and find a different school or homeschool from the start. I wish I would have. We all can remember that moment someone told us we were not good enough or special but wouldn't it be nice to avoid that and have a self-esteem that wasn't messed with at 11? Also don't find comfort in all the anti bulling signs and stickers. I think they are required to put those up after every 500 cases. If it's so in your face someone or someplace is against something you have to think it maybe because its such a problem. Because bullying and Hosford go hand in hand.


Hosford Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 25, 2015
- a student
Many of the teachers try to be innovative, but because they don't explain it very well, many students simply don't do it. Also, many of them have a bad habit of assigning too much in a small time frame.

Hosford Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a student
They have a GSA and safe spots for POC, but no one puts effort into it, and people only use it as a way to be even more offensive. People here tend to lie and they're very segregated.

Hosford Middle School 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a student
If you don't want to be bullied at this school, make you're not black, hispanic, native, or asian. Cause it's pretty obvious many of the students hate our guts. Not only that, homophobia and transphobia run rampant. Students here are very violent, they're willing to get into fights with teachers and each other. Everyone here doesn't seem to care about education, and I wouldn't blame them, everything about this school is low budget. The only students who seem to have their grades together are the Mandarin Immersion, they tend to be nicer and well educated compared to everyone else.


Hosford Middle School 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a community member
I have never really felt like Ive belonged in the hosford community, (Im a student there) Because all the bad behavior. (Im asian and a christian) With all the racial slurs, Ive been bullied a lot at this school. The only reason I actually WANT to come to school is to get my education and see my friends. It seems the teachers dont really care and always are on the bullies side. (For example, when I was in my PE class, a 8th grader started pushing people and calling them names, and it seemed the pe teacher didnt do anything about it) It sucks this school has to be this way.

Hosford Middle School 4

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
Hosford is a very diverse school both racially and economically. There are a great variety of electives that students can take including computer tech, Spanish and Mandarin, ceramics, art and drama and there is an amazing after school program that allows kids to explore a variety of other activities including running, yoga, speech and debate, model UN, Jewelry making, and knitting, among others. I have two children who graduated from there and were well-prepared for the rigors of our neighborhood high school's International Baccalaureate program at Cleveland. I have a child there now. None of my children ever saw any bullying. Some teachers are better than others-I think our most recent principal has worked hard to hire good teachers and there is a young energy amongst the faculty. Downside is that the only class in which there is leveling is Math--they used to have leveling in language arts as well. Another downside is that since there is no longer school choice in Portland, some families feel that they are "stuck" at Hosford and may not be able to see the many positives it has to offer their children.

Hosford Middle School 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
Many kids there are very violent and we have had students punch teachers, and punch other students! Don't send your child here!


Hosford Middle School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
If you can avoid going to Hosford, do. Teachers are apathetic about student achievement. PPS sends students with discipline problems from all over the city there. My son was bullied horribly and the teachers and administration ignored it. You only have to visit once to see it's not working

Hosford Middle School 1

Posted February 18, 2014
- a community member
Hosford is a horrible school! Half the school is failing and will fail in life!!! From what I have seen the mandarin immersion student are the one only successful ones!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would not recommend coming if you are a person of color!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hosford Middle School
2303 SE 28th Place, Portland, OR  97214
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (503) 916-5640
Last modified Hosford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top