Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James John Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 400 students

Our school is known for being inclusive, collaborative and dedicated to wellness

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

Our community has really rallied around the schools. James John is great little neighborhood school full of exceptional teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My school is James John. Our school has teachers that care and are constantly working together to not only help each other but also to work closely with the students. The school has art, music, pe and a full time librarian. We also have a wonderful after school sun program. I have had students attending this school for about 12 years. Yes they have moved on to high school and others have moved in. It just keeps getting better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My son has been going to this school for three years and has had a wonderful experience. The programs they have are great for the kids and helps the parents. The teachers are great and want to help the kids learn a lot of things in a school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

Dear Parent who posted June 15th, Thank you for posting a very thought provoking question. I have taught at James John for the past 12 years. I was shocked when I saw that our school receives a 1 out of 10. I contacted Great Schools and their response was that these scores are solely based on all State Test Scores from all schools in the state of Oregon. Like you, I am still confused at the "1" score. It's very large and visible on the school page and serves as a searing brand that scares many of our great families away from their local school. I can tell you that (regardless what a company in Southern California thinks) our kids are not a 1 out of 10 and our teachers are not a 1 out of 10. Please visit our school anytime or our facebook page or myteachermrleach.blogspot.com and find out what's really happening at James John School. It's a great place to grow! -Sam Leach
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2013

This school has a high community rating yet the lowest score possible. Any idea why? I'm interested in sending my child to one of our local elementary schools, all of which have very low Great Schools Ratings. I'm a bit skeptical of the rating system because it seems fairly obvious that the schools in affluent Portland neighborhoods have the highest scores and neighborhoods with lower property tax values and a multilingual population score low. Could it be that some schools develop their curriculum specifically to score high on standardized tests? I'd love for a teacher to respond. I mean, how does an elementary school get a 1? Is this best explained by language barriers? Hoping this comment will start a conversation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

We transferred into this school 1 1/2 years ago. It has been wonderful to watch my son go from a child with low self esteem regarding school to a boy who might soon admit he likes school.. the teachers have been supportive, caring and nurturing. Great teamwork!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

We've only been at James John one year so far, but my son adores his teacher and we plan to continue. The free breakfast program, after-school SUN classes, new astroturf soccer field, speech therapist on site... lots of great services here. It feels like it's getting better and better with more community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

James John is a wonderful school and a huge asset to the community. The teachers are all extremely dedicated and their positive energy makes the school a great place for learning and growing. We chose James John for our children because it was our local public school and we wanted our children to have a diverse and local schooling experience. The sense of community around this school is awesome from gardening projects, bbqs, festivals, etc. The teachers and parents come together to make this an excellent choice for anyone in the neighborhood. If you are thinking about sending your child to school at James John, go meet Principal Shelby, go meet the teachers, go meet the PTA members, and walk the halls - you won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Very happy with this school! The teachers really care about all the kids, no matter the level. The principal is invested in the school and wants the best for everyone. Even the kids have a lot of respect for each other and there are no bullying issues that I have heard of. They have an established program for the older grades to help the younger ones learn to read. It helps both with reading and establishes strong caring bonds between the grades. I have seen evidence many times. It's a great environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

I love this school. I went there and can tell you that this school has really grown and developed since i was a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

My daughter began her attendance at James John half way through her 2009-2010 school year when we moved from a fairly affluent neighborhood in neighboring Vancouver, WA to the St. Johns neighborhood of North Portland. While she disliked school in WA she loves attending James John. The community is welcoming, the teachers are innovative (they have blogs!!), and the diversity is refreshing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I'm an alumnus of James John Elementary. I attended there from my kindergarten year in 1947 until my family moved to California in 1955-56. When I arrived at my new school in Anaheim, CA I was placed in a junior high school (7th, 8th, and 9th grades). Scholastically, I was well ahead of the students in my class, thanks to the great teachers at James John. I was a shy little girl and the big hurdle for me was getting used to having much older students on campus. They realized that I was quite naive, and they tried to take advantage of that. Fortunately, I was a great runner and I managed to keep away from my pursuers. I graduated from the California school system, with offers from several colleges. I think James John did their job just right.


Posted May 27, 2010

I have two kids in this school and I have been very impressed with the quality of the teaching and with the involvement of the support staff. One of my kids has some minor learning and cognitive disabilities and this school has been great about helping her out in positive ways. I am surprised to see only two stars as I am writing this. This school's diversity and the varied curriculum has served both of my children well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Because it's a neighborhood school kids can walk to. They don't have to be driven. Eco friendly--also the building is from 1930 eco friendly again
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

I am a parent of a kindergertener and first grader that attend James John Elementary and we love it! The teachers care and do a great job of teaching, my kids are living proof.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

James John Elementary is filled with fantastic students and teachers who love to read, think, and play at our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I am a parent of a 4th grader and love my childs 4th grade teacher. I am also on the PTA and we have been trying to get more parent involved with the PTA but it has been a struggle the 5 years my child has been at the school. I am not happy with the new principal and hope in time she will improve. My child loves James John and has not had any issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

After the 2nd time our son was bullied by older kids on the playground we changed schools and have been happy ever since. I look forward to the day our public schools are funded well enough to actually teach and challenge our kids. At that point we will return to the public school system in North Portland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

James John has a lack of leadership and a flailing PTA. There are no enrichment classes like music, PE, science, TAG or band. The teachers are not united and some seem bored or not using their resources in the community. A poor school with potential to improve with right leadership and buy-in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

I wasn't too happy with this school when the old Principle was in charge. The new Principle, Mr. Ferraro, has really turned this school into a contender! He takes a real interest in the students, as well as parents concerns. The teachers that my 2 children have had over the last five years have been the best! The lest-than-perfect teachers seem to be doing a better job since Mr. Ferraro took over. I would recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female33%
Male35%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islander25%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation18%

Reading

All Students39%
Female47%
Male27%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islander25%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female53%
Male48%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation20%

Reading

All Students62%
Female57%
Male71%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female23%
Male59%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation14%

Reading

All Students56%
Female50%
Male64%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students48%
Female39%
Male59%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation14%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 21%
White 32% 65%
Black 12% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Oregon Wellness Award (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Green School Award (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School Leader's name
  • Beth Shelby
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (503) 916-2641

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • SUN School
  • SOL
  • America Scores Soccer
  • PAST E (Tennis)
  • Right Brain Initiative
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
George Middle School
Astor K-8
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7439 North Charleston Ave
Portland, OR 97203
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-6266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT