Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James John Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
Our community has really rallied around the schools. James John is great little neighborhood school full of exceptional teachers and staff.

James John Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
My school is James John. Our school has teachers that care and are constantly working together to not only help each other but also to work closely with the students. The school has art, music, pe and a full time librarian. We also have a wonderful after school sun program. I have had students attending this school for about 12 years. Yes they have moved on to high school and others have moved in. It just keeps getting better and better.


James John Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My son has been going to this school for three years and has had a wonderful experience. The programs they have are great for the kids and helps the parents. The teachers are great and want to help the kids learn a lot of things in a school year.

James John Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a teacher
Dear Parent who posted June 15th, Thank you for posting a very thought provoking question. I have taught at James John for the past 12 years. I was shocked when I saw that our school receives a 1 out of 10. I contacted Great Schools and their response was that these scores are solely based on all State Test Scores from all schools in the state of Oregon. Like you, I am still confused at the "1" score. It's very large and visible on the school page and serves as a searing brand that scares many of our great families away from their local school. I can tell you that (regardless what a company in Southern California thinks) our kids are not a 1 out of 10 and our teachers are not a 1 out of 10. Please visit our school anytime or our facebook page or myteachermrleach.blogspot.com and find out what's really happening at James John School. It's a great place to grow! -Sam Leach

James John Elementary School 4

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
This school has a high community rating yet the lowest score possible. Any idea why? I'm interested in sending my child to one of our local elementary schools, all of which have very low Great Schools Ratings. I'm a bit skeptical of the rating system because it seems fairly obvious that the schools in affluent Portland neighborhoods have the highest scores and neighborhoods with lower property tax values and a multilingual population score low. Could it be that some schools develop their curriculum specifically to score high on standardized tests? I'd love for a teacher to respond. I mean, how does an elementary school get a 1? Is this best explained by language barriers? Hoping this comment will start a conversation.


James John Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
We transferred into this school 1 1/2 years ago. It has been wonderful to watch my son go from a child with low self esteem regarding school to a boy who might soon admit he likes school.. the teachers have been supportive, caring and nurturing. Great teamwork!

James John Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
We've only been at James John one year so far, but my son adores his teacher and we plan to continue. The free breakfast program, after-school SUN classes, new astroturf soccer field, speech therapist on site... lots of great services here. It feels like it's getting better and better with more community involvement.

James John Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2012
- a parent
James John is a wonderful school and a huge asset to the community. The teachers are all extremely dedicated and their positive energy makes the school a great place for learning and growing. We chose James John for our children because it was our local public school and we wanted our children to have a diverse and local schooling experience. The sense of community around this school is awesome from gardening projects, bbqs, festivals, etc. The teachers and parents come together to make this an excellent choice for anyone in the neighborhood. If you are thinking about sending your child to school at James John, go meet Principal Shelby, go meet the teachers, go meet the PTA members, and walk the halls - you won't regret it!


James John Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
Very happy with this school! The teachers really care about all the kids, no matter the level. The principal is invested in the school and wants the best for everyone. Even the kids have a lot of respect for each other and there are no bullying issues that I have heard of. They have an established program for the older grades to help the younger ones learn to read. It helps both with reading and establishes strong caring bonds between the grades. I have seen evidence many times. It's a great environment!

James John Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. I went there and can tell you that this school has really grown and developed since i was a kid.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James John Elementary School
7439 North Charleston Ave, Portland, OR  97203
(503) 916-6266
Last modified James John Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James John Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top