Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kelly Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

My kids currently go to school at Kelly. I have read some of the reviews. I have seen a few different schools and I feel this is a really great school. If we ever have issue's with our children it is taken care of right away. The principle has always been very helpful. The teachers are awesome and push our children to do better. I feel my kids get a wonderful education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

It seems to be a decent school to attend until one come across an issue that needs to be resolved. Then, you face ineffectiveness principal who gets caught in her own inconsistency and who is incapable to give a definite answer on anything. It was a waste of time and efforts. Lesson learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Not impressed with the school leadership and school curriculum. Inefficient principal who can not resolve any issues. Hope the school will get somebody more knowledgeable and consistent in decision making to lead the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This school may work for you if: *you don't care much whether your child learns anything *you don't mind rampant flakiness of the administration that suppose to help with concerns and questions * you have a very high tolerance for discipline issues and a very disorganized and unprofessional discipline response not following written policies *you can tolerate inconsistent and unprofessional communication styles Don't recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

School is great . Great programs for our kids ,Great evening , Great principal and teacher s !!! you have to try to appreciate and like this school .I have 2 kids for 5 years and I am happy for my kids !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

we like Kelly school ,. ,Great evening , Nice and qualified principal , teacher s !!! and we like this school .i got my kids going for 5 years and its great !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

we like Kelly school ,. ,Great evening , Nice and qualified principal , teacher s !!! and we like this school .i got my kids going for 5 years and its great !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I believe its great opportunity for kids to get great education !!!! I believe teachers is great!!


Posted September 23, 2012

Best school. Best programs best principal best teacher and office stuff , have there one kid for 4 years and one in first grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

Horrible school!!! Ineffective principal and asst principal!!! I would give this school 0 stars if I could, but it's not allowed. Have raised several concerns and nothing has been addressed. Have been trying to get student transferred to a different school, but all the district sees is dollars signs and won't release him.


Posted June 7, 2012

The Sun program is offered at this school during the school year and summer. My son has attended the last two years and will again this year. It is a great opportunity to learn and be around other children. My son's teacher 1st grade teacher is very attentive, patient, and great with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Kelly has a great group of learners and families that always try their hardest!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2009

Great staff and principal. Positive atmosphere that encourages learning. The school is asked to do a lot to make up for deficits in the community and it does so with respect and dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

I've had a positive experience with Kelly. My son is in TAG and they have really tried to accommodate him by offering higher level curriculum in addition to fun and interesting classes and field trips that he has really enjoyed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I have been a Kelly parent for years now and have seen many changes. Kelly Elementary has grown so much. Our principal is very engaged and willing to jump in wherever she is needed. We have a wonderful after school program for all students. I see many parents involved in the SUN program and with their childs classrooms. I am pleased my children and myself are part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My son has been at kelly for 3 years and we are so happy. The teachers are so helpful and everyone seems to work so well together and it runs well. I think Kelly is a good school and the principal is going in a good direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

This will be my 12th year as a parent, volunteer at Kelly Elementary. This school has a staff that know's how to engage parents as well as children. Parents participate in many ways throught the school day. This is a school who understands the importance of parent, teacher, and community relationships to nuture and educate the future leaders of our world. This school has been a blessing to my children,my family and to the lents community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

I am not a parent, but have been a volunteer at this school for seven years. In addition, I was an elementary teacher for 13 years. This school has a very positive 'feel'. Almost every teacher is kind and supportive of every child. One can tell from walking down the hall, that this is a place that welcomes not only the children, but the families as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female70%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female54%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners32%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female74%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female72%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female53%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female61%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners27%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female59%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners27%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 65%
Hispanic 24% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Black 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (503) 916-2644

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9030 SE Cooper St
Portland, OR 97266
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-6350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT