Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laurelhurst Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
Poor administrative oversight. Some great teachers but so many unqualified or without updated training. Class sizes are 35+! Recess is often skipped because they have no covered play area. So crowded classes with teachers unable to teach, keeping students inside a crowded school for recesses. Yikes!

Laurelhurst Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Laurelhurst Elementary is an absolutely wonderful school. This is my daughter's first year at Laurelhurst (4th grade), and everyone has been friendly and supportive. During the first week of school, the principal even made the extra effort (in a non-invasive way) to go check in and see how she was acclimating. My daughter's teacher is amazing - she's a strong class leader who covers a vast amount of information, while being kind, enthusiastic, creative and engaging. She's great at keeping the parents informed on the class activities and also on how our children are doing. My daughter is thrilled to be in her class and has the utmost respect for her, as do I. We feel so incredibly fortunate to be a part of this wonderful school and it's community.


Laurelhurst Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
The school has been great. We enrolled our son in kindergarten here, and we have had a great experience. The staff is experienced and skilled, and our son's only complaint is that the school day is too short, even though he is there from before 9 a.m. until 3 p.m. The facilities are excellent, and the classroom is not at all crowded. Our boy has learned a lot during his first year here, and we look forward to many more years in this environment.

Laurelhurst Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
I am thrilled with the school. We have moved from out of state and both my children have transitioned well into the school. The staff is outstanding and the academics are high. Laurelhurst truly is a nurturing environment and the parent participation is huge. My children are thriving and that is a testament to the school.

Laurelhurst Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
The academic standards are very high. Yet, the teachers are warm, caring, and nurturing.


Laurelhurst Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2010
- a community member
Creative and friendly - full of innovative ideas and dedicated parents

Laurelhurst Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The staff is outstanding and the involvement of the parents raises the level of education.

Laurelhurst Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a community member
My grandchildren are getting a terrific education. Teachers are excellent, curiculum is outstanding, and it's a fine school


Laurelhurst Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
LH is a community of staff and parent helpers,families who connect in and out of school..all for one purpose. We care so much about our school and our kids. Most of the teachers have taught here for many years. I love LH because we communicate well to each other for one common goal. We care about the community that surrounds Portland and we want everyone to succeed. Dawn Corliss makes it happen.

Laurelhurst Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Laurelhurst has a warm, nurturing environment of teachers, staff, and parents. We moved into the neighborhood when my older son was a 3rd grader and were warmly embraced by families and staff. The teachers our children have had are professional, caring, and go over and above to give the kids relevant and meaningful lessons and don't teach to the test. Laurelhurst has a high level of parent support and high academic expectations. It's a wonderful school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurelhurst Elementary School
840 NE 41st Ave, Portland, OR  97232
(503) 916-6210
Last modified Laurelhurst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Laurelhurst Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top