Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
I have a current first grader, and will have an incoming Kindergartner in the fall. We have been extremely happy with Lewis over the last two years, the principal Tim L. is very involved and hands on, and our teacher experiences have been great. We have had 20 students or less both years, which is very important to me. Its a diverse community - and even more importantly, a friendly one. Parents chat in the halls and after school. I feel lucky to be here!

Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Lewis Elementary has a wonderful and caring community of teachers, support staff and families that combine to make it a great school. The family involvement is one of the best I have been apart of. The school's learning garden is excellent.


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
I am critical by nature and I am impressed with this school. Music and computers classes inspite of budget limitations.... Our daughter's teacher this year has a blog and uses multi media in a variety of creative ways. A tech savvy, forward thinking, idealistic teacher. How refreshing. A principal who is at every event and knows students by name and goes after grants to keep these extra perks available...wow... We are a politically conservative family and may not fit the Portland mold but I have not felt discriminated against inspite of our 'diversity'. Thank you for this. We are 3 years in and I would recommend it as an excellent public school option. We are very thankful they added more students so our daughter gets to attend this great school. I just wish it went through 8th grade...

Lewis Elementary School 4

Posted February 03, 2011
- a parent
It is a very good school. As others mentioned, while there are many great teachers, some aren't so hot. Also, it is bursting at its seams with students and teachers are feeling the strain of large class sizes (even converted the small teachers lounge to a classroom).

Lewis Elementary School 4

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Lewis is a school full of community! We have incredibly valuable programs in environmental education & the arts. Everyone pulls together for events. We are doing things like getting rid of anything we can to reduce our waste (no more straws, reusing milk cartons for seed starting, washable trays have replaced disposable as well as flatware... We have a fantastically personable principal, Tim Lauer, who truly listens to the community.


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2007
- a parent
My daughter's uncle went here when we were younger and I always said this was the school my children would attend. With no regrets we moved counties so my daughter could go to Lewis. This is our third year with Lewis and I am amazed more and more every year. The staff, teachers, Mr. Lauer, parent involvement. Yea there are a few bad apples, but they are far from commen here.

Lewis Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2007
- a parent
My child has been at Lewis for 4 years. Overall it has been a great school, largely because of the untiring efforts of Principal Lauer. Like any school, the teaching staff has a mixed bag. There is ALWAYS the good, bad and the ugly. We've found many fabulous things going on in the garden, camps, community art show, summerfest, talent show, chess club, bike safety class, cooking class, farm field trips... This is probably one of the better elementary PPS, despite it's unassuming exterior facade.

Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
This is wonderul school full of arts and music as well as the three 'r''s. Parental involement is awesome and teachers are top quality. My little girl loves school!


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2004
- a parent
Lewis Elementary offers all the marvelous qualities you would expect from a small school as well as an abundance of impressive extras: chess, garden club, band, drama, science, art, the Outdoor Center, the Kindergarten Co-op, and seasonal festivals, to name a few. Step inside Lewis and you'll get a hint as to the wonders of the classroom. The ever-changing artwork displayed in the hallways is inspirational for students as well as families. The teachers are a very dedicated group of professionals that provide leadership beyond the classroom. You couldn't find a more supportive and friendly staff. Volunteers are a vital part of the school's success. At Lewis, we appreciate each other's strengths. My two children are thriving in this environment.

Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2004
- a parent
I went to Lewis as a child when it was 1st - 6th grade and loved it. I have twin boys who have been at Lewis since kindergarten. They are in the fifth grade now and we are sad to leave this school. Lewis staff does a great job of teaching the whole child. The arts and music are amazing! Parents and the surrounding neighbors are a tremendous help in the 'extras' that make Lewis special. If you are looking for a school that is going to encourage your child to do their personal best; Lewis can, and will.

Nearby schools

Lewis Elementary School
4401 SE Evergreen St, Portland, OR  97206
(503) 916-6360
Last modified Lewis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top