Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Llewellyn Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 341 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

Llewellyn has strong parent involvement, which allows for a lot of great activities. Many of the teachers go to conferences and are always coming up with new ways to teach the children. The new principal is energetic and involved. My kids really enjoy this school, and I feel good about taking them there everyday
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2013

The first grade classes at Llewellyn have 29-31 students in them. The 2-5th grade classes are sitting at around 23-24 students per teacher. I don't know where this website gets it's numbers from but they are incorrect. I could only dream that my child would be in a class with only 19 other classmates. Her kindergarten class wasn't even that small. That being said, her teachers have for the most part been great. She loves the music teacher a lot. The new principal seems to have a plan for reducing class size though I'm not sure it will happen fast enough to affect the classes my child comes up in. He seems to care about music education and the arts as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

Over the last several years, Llewellyn has become an overcrowded school; the number of kids is about 550. (This website stated it was 374.)This has creating problems in many areas, such as large class sizes, short lunches (which can leave kids underfed), and too little space for the growing enrollment. Llewellyn even has temporary classrooms outside of the building to accommodate 3 or 4 classes of children. Most of the teachers are wonderful, but there are a couple of teachers with temperment problems who continue to stay. The parent involvement is absolutely wonderful. The biggest obstacle this school has will continue to be overcrowding in 2012/2013 and the years to come. Mr Powell has been a great principal, but is retiring at the end of this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

We have gone to this school for five years and have been pleased overall. There is great parent involvement and we've had pretty great teachers. I feel like my kids got to be great readers from this school. There are a couple of staff members who should probably retire as you can tell they are "burnt out." When you are pretty much grumpy all the time, it might be time to hang up the "teaching cleats." The principal is very nice and a good listener. Overcrowding is an issue now but they are working on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This is the school that my grandchildren go to and they love it and have leared a lot there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

As other reviewers have mentioned, the parents are fantastic. Many of the teachers are great. My kids love the school. It has a real great community feel and a great location. Close enough to Oaks Bottom to do field trips there. Tall trees bordering the playground where an occasional eagle will land. The only downside is the principal who seems to avoid conflict at all costs with the hope that it will just go away. If you want anything done, just don't expect results from him. Find another way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

The staff seems friendly and most educated. The children should feel safe, and parent should knowing the education level they are getting. The program to teach reading has been working quite well as far as I can tell. My only problem is the gym classes. Children are not playing sports much anymore, instead they are taking hikes and reading a textbook! The students should be getting more exercise then that, to prepare them for highschool.


Posted September 27, 2007

We enjoy our activities with the school. I am not very involved outside of the classroom and homework, so I cannot speak to the level I am involved in. Parents are generally friendly and busy. Our expereince with the current 3rd grade teacher is excellent. She is doing an Info Tech based curriculum that is very similar to my college coursework~pretty exciting. The staff do ask children to be respectful-thank you! There are plenty of opportunities and positive things at the school if you want to be involved in them. We really like the Cafeteria program to get students involved, and the Prinicipal is approachable and cordial, we like Llewellyn a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

We love this school! My daughters have not had large class sizes . So happy to have a professional music teacher at the school now, along with PE twice a week, a real librarian, computer class, art class, etc. We're so lucky to have so many things other portland schools no longer have! The teachers have been just excellent. And the families are a very comitted, erudite bunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

This school is extraordinary! My daughter (3rd grade) and my son (kindergarten) have been challenged, nurtured, inspired, and encouraged. The teachers are fantastic - a nice mix of experienced teachers who have been at the school for years and freshly minted, energetic young teachers. The parent involvement is truly amazing - every year in my daughter's class there has been a parent volunteer almost every day. Scores of moms and dads run many enrichment classes after school, and help in the classroom every day. This is a public school that truly has it all: music, art, P.E., a librarian, computer classes. We've been delighted with this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

I am so happy that my kids will be attending this school. I love the new schoolwide reading curriculum which includes spelling and writing assessments. The parents are dedicated and seem to put so much time in. I love the teachers. My third grader will be one of only 22! Fantastic! I really think this is one of the better PPS elementary schools. Low stress, high expectations and wonderful kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

Classes are too large..especially in the lower grades. Recess time is too limited. Boys, especially, need a physical outlet beyond 25 minutes and one day of PE. As a parent, I'd rather my child lose some academic time and gain some creative and physical time. Yes..as parents we all want our kids to succeed, but do we want them drained and sick of learning before they even reach middle school? We will be looking for an alternative school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

We are so happy with this school! Great teachers, a ton of parent involvement, a warm, caring environment, strong academics, and even a very good parent-led art and music program. My daughter is in first grade this year (2005-6)and has two wonderful, stimulating teachers, and only 22 students in her class! I'm impressed with the school-wide literacy block (75 minutes of small reading groups 4 days a week), and the new grant-financed greenhouse. A very strong school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

If you are considering this school for second grade 2005-6, be careful! The current 1st grade classes are HUGE...and will likely remain so into 2nd grade. The best thing about Llewllyn are the parents. Without the strong, dedicated parents there would be no art or music program whatsoever. The class size in 1st grade was huge (low 30s in each class) with no teaching assistant. Our daughter was pretty stressed out the first several months since she had come from a small kindergarten. If the class sizes were a bit smaller, we'd be a lot happier. There are plenty of parent volunteers, but there is no consistency with teaching reading or other subjects since most parents are not trained to do so. Strong, dedicated teachers...but typical portland public school: Large classes with too little art or music...even with the assistance of parents as mentioned above. Otherwise, very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation36%

Reading

All Students88%
Female>=95%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted93%
Special Education with Accomodation75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female84%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female77%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 65%
Hispanic 8% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6301 SE 14th Ave
Portland, OR 97202
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-6216

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Winterhaven School
Portland, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT