Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Markham Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Our son just finished his K year at Markham and we are beyond pleased by the quality and dedication of the teachers, the arts program, the fantastic on site after-care program, the diversity and a principle who is one of the finest in the PPS. It is still puzzling to us as to why the over all test scores are so low. All we have to say is do not be fooled by these test scores. This is a fantastic school.

Markham Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Markham Elementary for 2 years and have been very happy with our choice. We continue to be amazed by the full range of programs that are offered. We looked at other SW PPS thinking that we may lottery out but quickly found that this was not necessary. The teaching staff and principle have proven to be excellent and our student is thriving. We are proud of the diversity that our child is being exposed to and his experiences have all been positive.


Markham Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
We have two children at Markham. We love Markham because of the diverse culture and its passion for the arts. The parent involvement is incredible and the staff are some of the best in Portland. Oh, we also have both our kids in MCCA (before and after school program). It doesn't get any better for families with two working parents. Yes, the school is on the older side, but it was originally a middle school so Markham has a full size auditorium and gym. There are also four baseball fields behind the school. Do your family a favor and take a tour of the school before deciding where to send your children.

Markham Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
Diverse, happy and full of very dedicated teachers. Markham is a wonderful and balanced community that welcomes all!

Markham Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
Like many families we looked at all of our options in SW for our kindergartner. Many people, who have never attended Markham, are quick to pass critical judgement so we were worried. It has turned out to be a wonderful school for our now almost 2nd grader. The families are wonderful and involved, the principal works very hard for her kids and staff, and the teachers have all been great as well. I think there has been a movement in the past few years with more families attending their neighborhood school and its showing. We play on teams together, see each other at restaurants and the park -- its a great community and its growing and getting better every year. Markham also has a very active and involved PTA which you can see in the other reviews.


Markham Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Markham is a hidden gem in the SW PPS elementary schools. We started out like a lot of families looking at the rating and test scores, and looked at other public, private and charter schools in the area. However, being supporters of neighborhood schools in general, we decided to give Markham a try for kindergarten. It was a great decision! The school has a wonderful staff led by an amazing principal. The PTA is very active and involved to the point of fully funding the art teacher's salary and supply budget. (And she is worth every penny donated and more!) The kids are also offered music, PE, library, and technology. On top of that, there are actual TAG pull-out classes. (The only PPS elementary we have found to have that!) It has a diverse population both culturally and economically, and the kids learn so much about living with people different than themselves. We feel so lucky to have our son at such a neat school!

Markham Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
To the poster from 12/7/2012: I'm one of the parents that wrote a message using 'beyond pleased'. It remains an accurate way to describe our experience. We sent our child to a private school for the first two years, and we liked Markham A LOT better because of the economic, ethnic, educational, and intellectual diversity. We spent a great deal of time with people who were among the recipients of free and reduced lunch, and they also appreciated the diversity. I'm sure it's not the school for everyone, but it was certainly the school for us. I served on school committees and found many teachers and administrators intensely and deeply committed to the students. You're analysis is a fail.

Markham Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
As a parent, I am extremely happy with Markum. Our Kindergarten teacher is absolutely wonderful and engaged. We thought of sending our child to a private school but we are so glad we tried Markum first. The staff is excellent and I couldn't be happier with the leadership!


Markham Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2012
- a community member
I went to Markham a few years ago, and my younger siblings currently go there. I love the school, the teachers are wonderful and there are lots of programs to help people who need it. The school itself is very diverse, and it works very well that way

Markham Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
We have two children, very different in learning styles, one with a need for accommodations in school. We were afraid that the local public school would provide a poor education, fail to accommodate our one child's differences, & have a negative social environment. We started with a private school, then a nearby charter school for two years, and finally came to Markham. We are beyond pleased. The staff and administration have been amazing in working with our children, both kids have advanced steadily in academics, and the social environment has been FAR and AWAY the most positive and supportive that we have experienced. I only wish we had come here to start with !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Markham Elementary School
10531 SW Capitol Hwy, Portland, OR  97219
(503) 916-5681
Last modified Markham Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Markham Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top