Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ockley Green

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

my school is a 5 and why you ask because we are the only dual campus and we are doing everything as parents and staff to make all of every good thing work love this school, and the staff are wonderful at both campuses keep up all the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I like the school's focus on music. Love of the arts is something that should be taught from the very beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Ockley is a great and creative environment for young minds. The teaching staff is superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Ockley Green is a growing program with a great group of devoted teachers and parents. The administration and staff truly care, from the principal on down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

The teachers care so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

We love Ockley Green because of the fabulous community that is growing there. We have dedicated, enthusiastic teachers parents and students who celebrate diversity, education and each other in many special ways. We feel very fortunate to be a part of Ockley Green.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Ockley Green is a great school and keeps getting better every year. My child has a disability and I just received a report by someone who observed in the classroom that they have never seen such caring and cooperation among students to help my child be successful. The observer said it was so natural the way the kids intuitively and eagerly jumped in to assist my child when stuck. My family is very happy at Ockley Green.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Ockley Green is an up and coming school with a great team of committed teachers, staff and administrators. We have a wonderfully diverse student population and we are all coming together as a community to make this school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

Kindergarden at Ockley was a wonderful experience for our son, he thrived! Where other neighborhood schools in N. Portland eliminate recess time, Ockley Green has added. Music, dance and P.E. classes are offered at Ockley. Safety is my number one concern in the school selection process. Ockley Green is a safe school. I volunteered regularly last year and was extremely impressed with how well mannered the students were. I think this school is destined to be the jewel of North Portland because the staff and parents are involved and working to make it so. It is exciting to be a part of it. We offer a curriculum that admin, students, and parents crave. First grade will be fabulous, of this I am sure. I forgot to mention the teachers; wonderful, marvolous, kudos to the staff and teachers for their dedication to our Ockley Green!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

Ockley has issues. From a very incompetent principal to a very violent student population. I worry for all the students and staff at Ockley. This school continues to fail AYP and the behavior of the students continues to be incredibly violent and unsafe for all staff and general students. This school needs to be completely restructured with new administration considering the current administrator has been voted out of three other building by the staff. If you plan to attend Ockley-make other arrangements. This school is NOT in a good place for anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

Our daughter attended Kindergarten at Ockley Green Arts and Technology School last year and we were more than pleased. We were so happy to find engaging, innovative teachers, an open and involved principal, and great parent support. We loved the access to art, music (including an electronic music lab), dance, and PE for all students. We love that it is close enough to bike to school and we can connect with other families in the N/NE community. We are excited to grow with this new magnet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I have a child in K and 5th grade. It is our first year at Ockley Green. We love our school and yes as a parent I consider it my school too. The teachers are great as well as the support staff. My girls are happy at Ockley and have made some great friends. Anytime I have had any concerns it has been addressed and resolved in a timely manner. Good Job Ockley Green!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

We are a first year family at Ockley Green and want to share our positive experience there. The teachers care about their students, the administration has responded to individual needs my child has, and the community is pulling together. It is indeed a school in transition, not an established, well-oiled machine, and there is momentum for it to thrive. I look forward to being part of it over the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

An Arts and Technology School... what's the art teacher's name? Oh wait, there isn't one. Technology? Yes there appear to be projectors in the classrooms, what about green technology, this is 2010. Ockley Green is supposed to be a K-8 school, however, the sign in the main hallway next to the office states 'Ockley Green Middle School'. Also, check the bathrooms, there serious sanitation issues that need to be addressed.


Posted March 11, 2010

This school is trying to be a good school, but is failing in many ways. Some of the teachers are good, notably the current 2nd and 5th grade teachers. However, some of the teachers are terrible and the administration seems to not care. One teacher I know of yells at and criticizes her students daily. Additionally, TAG students are poorly served at this school. TAG plans are simply the same plan used for all other students, which is to give math and reading instruction at their assessed level. No other changes in the classroom are offered regardless of parent requests. Unfortunately, I don't think the current administration has the self-critical eye to see these problems and correct them. They seem more interested in maintaining the status quo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

Not to be rude or anything, but first of all everyone who wrote bad reviews don't know what their talking about. I'm currently a student at Ockley Green and I have had lots of opportunities that no other school gets to have, for example last year I got to go to Lewis and Clark Law school for a week to participate in a mock trial and it still sticks with me today. It has made me want to become a lawyer. SO unless you have gone to school there DON'T TALK ABOUT IT!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

This school has substandard nutrition and many of the teachers who are employed there also need a lesson in appropriate nutrition and fitness. They poorly communicate with parents and when confronted they fold up like cheap suits and run behind their administration. It is pretty sad. I hope this year this school gets its act together because they did not represent the community well last year despite, their so called magnent status.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This school has very unusual staffing,and poor consequences, nutrition, dress code and advertising. A recent funded paintjob and a little bit of landscaping didn't help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2006

I used to be a student there last year and I think that the school is the best school you could ever go to, a lot of once in a life time chances are in that school and they try to make the dreams happen for every student there I love Ockley Green!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female13%
Male33%
African American<=5%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female38%
Male44%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female27%
Male43%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female55%
Male29%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female50%
Male27%
African American<=5%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students32%
Female25%
Male36%
African American<=5%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students32%
Female38%
Male27%
African American<=5%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female40%
Male20%
African American<=5%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female64%
Male35%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female15%
Male40%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female54%
Male73%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female43%
Male16%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female54%
Male26%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students36%
Female39%
Male32%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 3%
White 29% 65%
Hispanic 16% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (503) 916-2661

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6031 North Montana
Portland, OR 97217
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 916-5660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trillium
Portland, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT