Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 377

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
We just started at Kindergarten this year (2013-2014) and are really thrilled with the school. We love that the principal greets the students each day - encouraging them to be safe, respectful and responsible. The kids in our class are flourishing - making friends, learning and embracing the IB way. My son loves to go to school every day - and for this, I am magnificently happy. The parent community is fun and involved - we're really excited to attend our first auction. Excited to spend the next 10 years at Sabin!

Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
We moved house this year just to be able to attend this school. It has not disappointed. Favorite thing. Every morning, the principal is on the playground from 8.10am talking with kids and generally supervising. And then the entire lower school gathers with their teachers under the outdoor basketball court to hear the principal welcome the "Sabin stars" to another day of school. He is always available, 100% committed to every student and his leadership style permeates Sabin's fantastic team.


Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
A great neighborhood school -- International Baccalaureate certified, wonderful teachers, involved parent community. We have been there 2 years now, and are very happy with Sabin.

Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
The Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers are exceptionally caring with the ability to capture the students' attention - perfect for the introduction to school for many children. We could not be happier with our neighborhood school. The teachers truly have the students' best interest at heart, challenging in an appropriate way. Our principal also has the community's success in mind and is very involved and accessible. You will see him every day at the school assembly where students, teachers, and parents meet as a community. He also offers a monthly coffee meeting for parents to listen to concerns and communicate news.

Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
We are starting our second year at Sabin and are thrilled with the school, the teachers, the principal, the curriculum and the community. All the teachers we have interacted with have been fabulous, they truly care about the students and even know the names of kids that aren't in their classes. The art teachers (Mr. Lamp) is a treasure. He not only inspires the kids, he gives them projects that stretch them and he is so proud of their work he regularly displays it in the local Starbucks. And the art is great. As others have mentioned the principal leads by example, from leading the kids in the morning meetup, to making sure the morning routine runs smoothly by unlocking doors, watching over the kids, etc. We asked for more communication from him and the school and he responded with monthly email updates. Most of all we love our community. So many students and parents walk to school year round, or participate in the bike train. So you meet up with other families every day and get to know them. We pick each others kids up after school when we're busy, or we hang out after school and talk. Sabin truly is a community. The PTA is strong and grows stronger every year.


Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
We love Sabin!! The principal, staff, parents and students are truly committed to this school's success, and together have created a community that I am so proud to be a part of. Our kids are thriving and learning in an IB curriculum that lends a global perspect to academic inquiry and growth. We feel so fortunate to be at Sabin!

Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
We started at Sabin in September of 2009 along with a new charismatic a focused principal and a goal to become an IB school. Since then, the principal retains his celebrity status and we have become a fully accredited IB school. We have added a vice principal, new staff and more programs. Sabin's social scene is striking. We have a terrific set up for socialization amonst our families. When school lets out, a majority of the younger kids stay and play at the centrally located playground while the parents talk. This particular aspect of Sabin's community is ideal for fostering relationships that last, following the families up through the grades year after year. It is a great feeling to know the other parents in your child's class. My overall view of Sabin is that it is consistantly striving to be better, It is never stagnant. All our teacher experiences have been positive and progressive. The office team is sharp and on it. Our library is solid and the librarian effervesent. Our art teacher is one of the coolest guys I think I have ever seen. Our new music teacher is gregarious and inspires the kids. I would like to see more of the new parents getting involved.

Sabin Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
Sabin is a fantastic school - with dedicated teachers, a great principal and a supportive parent community. We have two daughters - a 5th grader and a 2nd grader - at the school, with a third who will start there next year. Although no school is perfect, Sabin's standing as an International Baccalaureate school (that integrates subjects and places focus on qualities of thoughtful, involved world citizens), along with its incredible array of special classes make it a fantastic learning environment for our children. The school includes a renowned art program, music, PE, library, technology, gardening and Spanish. Sabin has many quality teachers and has recently hired several more after some retirements. The positive learning environment has only been enriched as a result. In addition, Sabin remains a diverse community that is seeking to bridge the achievement gap and make a school home where all students can thrive.


Sabin Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
We have two children at Sabin who are about to start kindergarten and 3rd grade. I see a real disconnect in the GreatSchool "score" which is a common problem with rating systems. It just doesn't reflect the experience we have had at this school. Fall of 2012 will begin our third year at Sabin and we have had such a wonderful experience with the teachers, staff and the amazingly energetic community of Sabin Families. I think Sabin now has one of the hardest working principals out there. We most definitely have work to do on our achievement gap and large class sizes but Sabin has more specials than most public schools out there. On top of an AMAZING art program and thriving IB program, Sabin is now adding music to the curriculum. Spanish? PE? Library? We've got em. We love this school and are looking forward to another great year!

Sabin Elementary School 3

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sabin Elementary School
4013 NE 18th Ave, Portland, OR  97212
(503) 916-6482
Last modified Sabin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sabin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top