Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 491

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodstock Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a community member
A successful school requires involved parents, teachers, principal, faculty, students, and supporting organizations - Woodstock meets these criteria! However, incoming parents and students must understand that unlike other schools, success at Woodstock requires additional academic, social, and extracurricular activities. For example, many Woodstock parents actively participate in their child's homework and provide additional academic involvement via computerized mathematical practice, Mandarin worksheets, Mandarin aftercare, reading programs like the award winning Multnomah County library Summer Reading Program, etc. Parents also encourage cultural competency be enrolling their child in weekend or after school Chinese dance classes, additional language training, martial arts, and tutoring. Parents embrace, attend, volunteer, and participate in Chinese holidays, Shu Ren, and cultural experiences. Learning Mandarin is a difficult and time consuming activity, but for the student there are or will be tremendous rewards! , [d sh x y ng y y z zh qi n j n] In study, concentration is required, for every character understood is worth a thousand pieces of gold.

Woodstock Elementary School 4

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
I had one child in the much-lauded Mandarin immersion program and one child who started Mandarin but switched to the English-only neighborhood program in 3rd grade. I have to say that it was like they were in different schools. The staff do all they can to keep a "one school" experience, and with limited resources and space, they are doing a superb job. But there are many challenges with the English-only program. My 3rd grader is in a class with 32 kids. That's not teaching, that's chaos control. Parents with kids on the Mandarin side tend to be much more invested and involved with PTA as well as Shu Ren, the nonprofit support community for immersion families.


Woodstock Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Every school tends to have one or two bad teachers. This school is the same but overall the teachers are great. The current principal is way better and more understanding than the previous one (thank god she is gone, hooray). I am sure under the new leadership this school is going to be an outstanding school

Woodstock Elementary School 3

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
I know this school and the fourth and fifth graders are not getting the help they need for the non maderin classes. Kids are falling threw the cracks. A consider parnet

Woodstock Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Woodstock is a cute, friendly, neighborhood elementary school with a really supportive parent community. The Mandarin program is solid, but at the expense of the neighborhood program, that seems underserved. The Mandarin program ir rigorous and demanding (as any immersion program would be), but we found both the Chinese and English teachers too overwhelmed by burgeoning class sizes and 1/2 days with students made for kids falling through the cracks, including our own. While I deeply miss the parents there, I do not miss the scowling, scolding lower elementary Chinese teacher (who I am amazed has remained employed there) the extremely thick homework packets (including the last week of school) or the exhausted staff that lacks the energy/ability to serve those clearly presenting behaviors consistent with learning challenges. Woodstock is a great school, but it has its strengths and weaknesses like any other, and it is definitely not the right fit for us.


Woodstock Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
I've been in woodsock from 4th to 5th grade. most kids in 5th grade said they can't wait to leave but on the last day of school, everyone cried. i love woodstock, especially 5th grade. i love my teacher, mrs. cerney, she's really fun. I'm really, really sad to leave woodstock. :(

Woodstock Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2010
- a parent
This is our family's 3rd year at Woodstock. I have a 2nd grader & a kindergartener. It is not 2 schools under one roof - it is one school. The principal really is dedicated to an inclusive environment. The staff are great - one example being the librarian who runs a year-round chess team that meets after school, which is entirely free. This program starts with an intro to chess course, for kids as young as k. The PTA is very active and inclusive, as well. I've really seen the school grow and develop over the past 3 years. It's a nice community.

Woodstock Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2010
- a parent
I love my daughter's school and I hope our youngest also gets in. There are a limited number of spots but it is a public school. It doesn't cost any more than any other public school. There is a cost extra for full day Kindergarten which you have to do if you are in immersion but many of the full day Kindergartens have a cost for the full day. The other years have no extra cost associated. The Principal really does go out of her way to help everyone feel included. I would recommend this school without a moments hesitation.


Woodstock Elementary School 4

Posted June 28, 2010
- a parent
It is not true that the immersion and nonimmersion students do not interact. The school has tons of events, an active PTA and in-school activities (chess club, student council, spirit week, writer's teas, Monday morning meeting for all students, fund raisers, parades--I could go on and on). The principal has made a huge personal commitment to trying to be inclusive and not divisive. There are always people who will feel left out if some people are doing something different. I say get over it and commit to working and helping the program your kid is part of: English or Mandarin, Spanish, sign language, or ____.

Woodstock Elementary School 4

Posted June 27, 2010
- a parent
Woodstock is a good school. No doubt. However, you have to understand that it is actually two different schools under one building. The Chinese Immersion program is, de facto, it's own school. The half of the school is the conventional English-speaking program. The Immersion program parents pay to have their children go here and much more involved. Their children are responsible for the high test scores this school gets. Great Schools gives Woodstock a 9/10 based on test scores. But keep in mind that if your child is not part of the Immersion program, s/he's not really going into a 9/10 school. It's still a good school, but probably not really a 9/10 school. And, contrarily, if you're child is going into the Immersion side of things, you're getting a superior education. Lastly, keep in mind that the Immersion kids and the regular kids do not really interact. So . .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodstock Elementary School
5601 SE 50th Ave, Portland, OR  97206
(503) 916-6380
Last modified Woodstock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodstock Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top