Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 1,520

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cleveland High School 2

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Cleveland High school has been a really awesome experience until this last year of my daughters education. The drama department, voice and science departments have been particularly amazing. Voice, led by Diane R. has won stste championships year after year and has been a great encouragement for the students. The science teachers and classes have given my daughter a great head start to her college career and have prepared her very well. The drama department, once dominated by Jane Ferguson (exceptional teacher of the milenium) is now occupied by a "teacher" from another school. If your child is into drama, I would suggest another school but if voice or science is their thing, GO TO CLEVELAND!

Cleveland High School 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a student
This is probably one of the best school in the state. There is plenty of selections in classes, and everything else. Students are VERY NICE HERE AND THERE ARE NO GANGS. The drug and alcohol lovers steer clear of campus most of the time, and fighting is strictly prohibited. I came from one of PPS's worst schools, Grant, and found that Cleveland is so different and so much better. Many of the problems of being cussed at by upper class men, being called out in front of the class, and the administration doing nothing do not happen here. Unless you love shop or art (as we have few art classes and no vocational classes) you will be at home here. If your student is bright, this is the school-it has a full IB program!


Cleveland High School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
ever since my son has enrolled here i feel that all these opportunities have opened up for him. he seems so much more enthusiastic about going to school now than ever before. the school is so culturally diverse and the teachers are amazing an inspiring which create a great learning environment. there are no problems with gangs and drugs at this school which make it wonderful. its a shame that it is a 9 out of 10 because it should BE A 10 out of 10.

Cleveland High School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
My son is a freshman here and after going to Back to school night I wished that I had gone to school here! The teachers are amazing and they care about their students. They have so many activities and sports to get involved in. My son has not ever been a big fan of school and he still (of course) complains about homework... but he loves this school. I am so thankful for everything Cleveland has and is doing for my son.

Cleveland High School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Cleveland is a gem. We have been amazed at the quality and dedication of the teachers and staff. Cleveland has teachers who care about their students and want them to succeed. With an IB program Cleveland shines for motivated students. It is also friendly and accepting of a wide range of students. There is leadership on acceptance and openness.


Cleveland High School 5

Posted November 12, 2010
- a teacher
Cleveland has great staff, is welcoming to everyone, offers rigorous courses, thinks on deep levels, is involved in the community, graduates a high percentage of students, and so much more.

Cleveland High School 0
no rating

Posted November 10, 2010
- a teacher
The students are motivated to both learn and teach. The staff and faculty work so hard to create a safe and nurturing environment not only the students but for the community members as well! CHS is great and getting better everyday!

Cleveland High School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a teacher
The students and community are energetic, passionate about others and get involved to help other people.


Cleveland High School 1

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cleveland High School 5

Posted January 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cleveland High School
3400 SE 26th Ave, Portland, OR  97202
(503) 916-5120
Last modified Cleveland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cleveland High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top