Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Franklin High School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
My student has really blossomed at Franklin. He was a tag student at his middle school, and mostly into academics. At FHS he got a chance to run cross country, try the school paper, and get into lots of other extra-curricular activities. He also took AP classes nearly every year. FHS has a good, diverse student body and lots of chances to get involved.

Franklin High School 4

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
In a time of great financial shortfalls, the administration and staff of FHS are doing a tremendous job in creating opportunities for all students to excel and gear themselves toward a successful future. The AP program is a huge example of that dedication to excellence and opportunity. We could not be more pleased with the teaching and educational staff at Franklin. One caveat. If you have a student who desires an athletic experience like Volleyball at FHS, be forewarned. As of 2012, the program is an utter train wreck, run by a former student with severely limited teaching skills, combined with an incredibly immature personality. Kids with great skill and potential are constantly leaving the program in despair on how the women's Volleyball program is run. It is a blessing that the academic committment by the staff at FHS is so high, as the Volleball program is the antithesis of that, sadly. The track and cross country and several other programs are very good, but it is a shame that the volleyball program isn't held to the same high expectation of teaching and mentorship.


Franklin High School 5

Posted September 22, 2012
- a student
This is absolutely the best school ever! It is so easy to make friends here, teachers and students are so kind. I have learned so much at this school and I love it!

Franklin High School 2

Posted November 14, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Franklin High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a student
Everyone is super friendly, the teachers, the students.... everyone. We have a wide variety of classes and it is just awesome. The best school I've ever gone to- but we're really short on money.


Franklin High School 5

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Franklin High School 0
no rating

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
Franklin has a lot of advanced placement courses which means advanced students can be challenged and have the opportunity to earn college credit while still in high school. The Franklin administration is excellent; caring, smart, dynamic. Franklin was awarded a 2.5 million dollar grant (over 5 years) from the Gates Foundation in 2007 which allows funds for many activities not found in other Portland public high schools.

Franklin High School 2

Posted June 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Franklin High School 1

Posted November 01, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Franklin High School 5

Posted April 11, 2007
- a former student
I Graduated from Franklin a few years back and absolutly enjoyed it. The teachers I had we're wonderful and I never had any sort of encounters with fighting, the students stayed in their groups and the sports we're great...Highly recommended!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin High School
5405 SE Woodward St, Portland, OR  97206
(503) 916-5140
Last modified Franklin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top